Research Guides
Civil and Environmental Engineering: Home
Image: Millaut Viaduct
Starting Points / Top Resources
- ASCE Civil Engineering Research LibraryThe ASCE Research Library includes ASCE conference proceedings beginning in 1998, and all ASCE journal and periodical volumes published since 1995. It contains articles from ASCE journals, papers from conference proceedings, and e-books and standards. Selected e-books from 1998 to the present are included, including all in-print ASCE Manuals of Practice and ASCE Press titles.
Brought to you by the UW Libraries! For full access, be sure to connect via a UW Libraries webpage!
- Compendex This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Compendex provides comprehensive and interdisciplinary coverage of the world's literature in every field of engineering. Indexes over 4500 journals, as well as conferences, government reports, and books. Covers 1884 to the present.
Brought to you by the UW Libraries! For full access, be sure to connect via a UW Libraries webpage! - JSTOR Sustainability This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Discover a wide range of journals, ebooks, and research reports in the field of sustainability. The subjects of resilience and sustainability are explored broadly, covering research on environmental stresses and their impact on society. - TRID This link opens in a new windowTRID is an integrated database combining TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide.
- ROSA P: Research and Open Access PortalFounded as an all-digital library program, NTL’s collections in ROSA P are full-text electronic publications, datasets, and other resources.
The repository is also designated as the full-text repository for USDOT-funded research under the USDOT Public Access Plan. NTL provides its collections freely to transportation researchers, statistical organizations, the media, and the general public.
IRF World Road Statistics Data Warehouse
IRF World Road Statistics Data Warehouse
The IRF Data Warehouse is a web-based global road data platform and warehouse that can complement and support national and regional efforts to collect and manage data. The IRF Data Warehouse also contributes to capacity-building and advocacy activities on a number of topics and in particular, road safety. The entire time series of the IRF World Road Statistics enables immediate and effective data analysis and is complemented by a series of dashboards and interactive data visualisation tools. The most recent six years of data (2016-2021 for the 2023 edition) are AVAILABLE FOR FREE through our existing IRF WRS Data Warehouse platform thanks to the generous support of the TotalEnergies Foundation and Michelin Corporate Foundation.
The latest IRF World Road Statistics (WRS) edition of 2023 (covering data for the years 2016 to 2021) includes up-to-date information for more than 200 countries and 200+ indicators. Learn more...
Engineering Librarian
Related Links & Guides
Welcome to the ASCE 7 Hazard Tool, the quick, reliable, and free way to look up key design parameters specified in Standard ASCE 7. Now updated with data from ASCE/SEI 7-22!
- IRENA ReSourceThe International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA) is an intergovernmental organisation that supports countries in their transition to a sustainable energy future, and serves as the principal platform for international co-operation, a centre of excellence, and a repository of policy, technology, resource and financial knowledge on renewable energy
- Environmental Impact Statement Research GuideFinding guide for EIS information maintained by the UW Government Publications department.
- Department of Civil & Environmental Engineeringat the University of Washington.