Skip to Main Content
All Libraries are open with limited hours. Masks required, no eating allowed. Online resources and support are available 24/7 UW Libraries Operations Updates
Starting Points for Finding Articles and Conference Papers
ASCE Civil Engineering Research Library
A comprehensive online tool for locating articles of interest across all disciplines of civil engineering.
The ASCE Research Library includes ASCE conference proceedings beginning in 1998, and all ASCE journal and periodical volumes published since 1995. It contains articles from ASCE journals, papers from conference proceedings, and e-books and standards. Selected e-books from 1998 to the present are included, including all in-print ASCE Manuals of Practice and ASCE Press titles.
Brought to you by the UW Libraries! For full access, be sure to connect via a UW Libraries webpage and log in with your UWNetID.
Search Compendex to find information about your topic in all fields of engineering, including civil and environmental engineering topics. This is a great place to start for information when you are beginning to investigate your research topic.
Brought to you by the UW Libraries! For full access, be sure to connect via a UW Libraries webpage!
ASCE Civil Engineering Database
The Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) is designed to provide easy bibliographic access to all ASCE publications. The database covers all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newspapers. There are more than 170,000 bibliographic and abstracted records. Journal papers with abstracts go back to 1970. Non-abstract journal records go back to 1958. The book records are complete dating back to the early 1900s.
Discover a wide range of journals, ebooks, and research reports in the field of sustainability. The subjects of resilience and sustainability are explored broadly, covering research on environmental stresses and their impact on society.
TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database.
Use the Transportation Research Thesaurus (TRT)
to search more efficiently and successfully when using TRID.
Full-text of IEEE and IET journals and conference proceedings, and current IEEE standards all in full-text.
Market, industry, and country statistics, studies and infographics.
Contains abstracts, articles and full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
Earthquake Engineering Online Archive- NISEE
The Earthquake Engineering Online Archive is a database of significant, publicly-funded research and development literature, photographs, data, and software in earthquake, structural, and geotechnical engineering. It includes full text for EERC, SEMM, and PEER reports published at UC Berkeley, the NISEE software library, and images from EQIIS.
Full-text access requires a membership.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
Scholarly articles and other material covering environmental sciences.
Search GeoRef for information about all fields of geology, including engineering geology and environmental geology, both in North America and worldwide. Resources include information from journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
Specialized market research reports covering high-tech, energy, and healthcare sectors.
To locate the full text of an article in a database, use the purple button:
Google Scholar can be easily configured to tell you which of your search results can be accessed for free via the UW Libraries, and will even provide a direct link to the resource in the catalog.