Skip to Main Content
Find scholarly, news, or magazine articles using the following databases.
If you are searching from off campus, you'll be prompted to login with your UWNetID before entering the database.
Finding Multiple Viewpoints
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Reports, summaries, and pro/con views on a range of current issues,1923-present.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Overview of contemporary social issues with relevant articles, videos, opposing views, and more
New York Times digital edition
Register through the UW for a free personal account to NYTimes.com (basic digital access), including visualizations, podcasts, and teaching & learning content for faculty.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Regional, national, and international newspapers, 1980's-present.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Washington State, national & regional newspapers, 1980 - present
Articles by Research Area
Depending on your topic, you may need to search for articles in discipline-specific databases. Try starting in one of the databases below. For more databases by discipline, check out our Research Guides.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from worldwide periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing of articles and documents in education and related fields.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Quick Search Tips
Search tip: AND between keywords narrows your search: students AND Facebook
OR between keywords broadens your search: Facebook OR MySpace.
Downloading PDFs of Scholarly Articles
How to Access Articles Remotely