Skip to main content
Research Guides

Conor Casey: Publications & Presentations

Head, Labor Archives of Washington

Publications & Professional Contributions

Selected Publications

Scholarly Publications

Chapter in an Edited Book 

(Forthcoming) Casey, Conor “Corrective Collecting and Democratizing Documentation: Preserving, Interpreting, and Promoting Workers’ History at the Labor Archives of Washington” in Trasciatti, Mary Anne A. and Robert Forrant, (Ed.) Interpreting Labor History at Museums and Historic Sites, Working Class in American History Series

Articles

April 2019. (Summer 2018 Issue). Casey, Conor “Justice on the Jobsite: Collections on Labor Organizing of Minority Men and Tradeswomen at the University of Washington Libraries' Labor Archives of Washington and Special Collections"  Pacific Northwest Quarterly. Volume 109, Number 3, Summer 2018. 

May 2018. Casey, Conor “Envisioning Labor and Social Justice: The Richard V. Correll Prints and Papers.” Pacific Northwest Quarterly. Volume 109, Number 1, Winter 2017/2018.

September 2017. Casey, Conor “Putting History to Work: The Labor Archives of Washington, University of Washington Libraries Special Collections” Pacific Northwest Quarterly, Volume 108, Number 1, Winter 2016/2017.

Fall 2016. Casey, Conor. Sound Archivist, Seattle Area Archivists, "Community Connections: Inreach and Outreach as Archival Advocacy Activities. A Case Study of the Labor Archives of Washington, University of Washington Libraries Special Collections.

Spring 2010. Casey, Conor. “Book Review of Harvey Schwartz’s Solidarity Stories: An Oral History of the ILWU” in The Public Historian, University of California, Santa Barbara (Spring 2010)

Spring 2010. Casey, Conor. “Western Legal History through Labor’s Prism: Collection Highlights of the Labor Archives & Research Center, San Francisco State University” in Western Legal History, (Spring 2010)

Spring 2008. Contributed, co-edited, researched, and indexed The San Francisco Labor Landmarks Guide Book: A Register of Sites and Walking Tours, 2008

Spring 2007. Casey, Conor. “San Francisco’s Butchertown in the 1920s and 1930s: A Neighborhood Social History” The Argonaut: Journal of the San Francisco Historical Society, Vol. 18, No. 1, Spring, 2007. 

Winter 2005. Casey, Conor. “Book Review of Richard Steven Street’s Beasts of the Field” in California Historian, Winter 2005 (Vol 52, No. 2)

Fall 2004. Casey, Conor. “San Francisco’s Butchertown” in Ex Post Facto: Journal of the History Students at San Francisco State University, Fall 2004

Fall 2004. Casey, Conor. “Book Review of Lizbeth Cohen’s Making a New Deal” in Ex Post Facto: Journal of the History Students at San Francisco State University, Fall 2004.          

Popular Publications, Websites, Radio, Television

Casey, Conor. “Interactive Map of Labor Archives in the United States and Canada: A Directory, Google Maps” (https://mapsengine.google.com/ : accessed 2 Sep 2019).

Casey, Conor. "Butchertown's Beginnings" FoundSF.org,, January 2010. http://www.foundsf.org/index.php?title=Butchertown%27s_Beginnings.

Labor Archives Radio Regular episodes of LAW’s collections on radio stations including KEXP (Seattle), KUOW (Seattle), KSVR (Mount Vernon), KSER (Everett), and KBCS (Bellevue).  In September of 2015, LAW began a regular radio segment on KSVR FM’s We Do the Work Radio Program called “Learn Yourself”, which looks at a labor related event and highlights LAW’s collections as well as secondary and primary source collections on the event. The segment is meant to inspire researchers to pursue additional research into the topic on their own. The pieces become part of Public Radio Exchange’s list of shows for redistribution, and the episodes have proven very popular, ranking as the most-listened-to segments on the radio show.  Each “Learn Yourself” installment earns more affiliate stations in different markets with each airing, including stations in Mount Vernon, WA;  Florence, MA; Grand Rapids, MI; Olympia, WA; Ithaca, NY; Hoopa, CA; The Evergreen College, Olympia, WA; Portland, OR; Fayette, MO; Garberville/Eureka/Laytonville/Shelter Cove, CA; Redding, CA; Alamosa, CO; Bellingham, WA.

Labor Archives TV LAW created a 10-episode segment on UW360 highlighting the Labor Archives. These stories aired on KOMO (each story airs at least twice) and  streams on various platforms including YouTube, Roku, and Amazon Fire TV. LAW’s annual events in 2015 and 2016 have also been broadcast on The Seattle Channel and a Labor Day segment was on King 5 News in 2011.

As Editor

C´╗┐asey, Conor (Editor, Reformatting, Platform migration, and URL verification). "Labor Archives in the United States and Canada: A Directory Prepared by the Labor Archives Roundtable of the Society of American Archivists, Updated 2020" 

As Transcriber/Researcher

Farris, George W. 2014. George W. Farris diaries: a daily diary of a union carpenter in San Francisco from January 1902-1910.  (San Francisco : Carpenters Local 22, Berkeley, California : Inkworks Press] (Transcribed and researched volumes of Farris’ diaries, which were then published in book form, edited by Robert Mattacola).

Selected Professional Articles

June 2017. Casey, Conor. LaborOnline, Labor and Working Class History Association, “Community Connections: Inreach and Outreach as Archival Advocacy Activities

May 2017. Casey, Conor. Labor: Studies in the Working Class History of the Americas, Volume 14, Number 2, May 2017.  Labor and Working Class History Association, “Putting History to Work: The Labor Archives of Washington as a Model for Forging Stronger Connections between Labor and the Academy”

March 2017. Casey, Conor. Archival Outlook, Society of American Archivists, “Walk Your Way Through Portland’s History”

February 1, 2017. Casey, Conor. In the Loop, Society of American Archivists. Article on We Do the Work Radio Segment on Richard Correll.

Winter 2017. Rodgers, Crystal and Conor Casey. Easy Access, Northwest Archivists, "The Labor Archives of Washington’s Latest Exhibit: 'An Injury to One is an Injury to All'"

January 5, 2017. Casey, Conor and Crystal Rodgers. The Stand, Washington State Labor Council. "‘Injury to One is an Injury to All’ Everett Massacre exhibit at UW"

September 2, 2016. LaborOnline, Labor and Working Class History Association, "We Do the Work: An Interview with Conor Casey"

August 31, 2016. LaborOnline, Labor and Working Class History Association "National History Day Students Win 2016 Regional Video Contest Employing Labor Archives of Washington Collections and Staff Interviews"

Fall 2014.  Sound Archivist, Seattle Area Archivists, "Upcoming Exhibit at the Labor Archives 'Author, Poet, and Worker: The World of Carlos Bulosan' November 7, 2014-March 13, 2015 UW Special Collections Lobby and Reference Room", Sound Archivist, Volume I, Number 7, Fall 2014, p. 4.

 

Fall 2014. Sound Archivist, Seattle Area Archivists, "Labor Archives of Washington, University of Washington Offers New Online Primary Sources in Labor History, Ethnic Studies, Economic History!", Sound Archivist, Volume I, Number 7, Fall 2014, p.

Winter 2014. Sound Archivist, Seattle Area Archivists, "Crowdsourcing at the Labor Archives", p. 1

Winter 2014. Easy Access, Northwest Archivists, "Labor Archives of Washington Celebrates Archives Month, Cannery Worker History, and Its 3rd Anniversary"

Spring 2013. Sound Archivist, Seattle Area Archivists, “Human Rights and Social Justice Collections in Area Archives: Labor Archives of Washington”, p. 17.

February 6, 2013. The Stand, Washington State Labor Council, "Local: At UW’s PNW blog –  Images of labor and social justice: The art of Richard Correll"

 

Exhibits

Exhibits

 

At University of Washington Libraries Special Collections, 2010-2017

  • November 2015-Ongoing- Online Exhibit: “Author, Poet, Worker: The World of Carlos Bulosan”, UW Special Collections [As Co-Curator with Andrew Hedden]

  • November 2014-March 2015-Exhibit: “Author, Poet, Worker: The World of Carlos Bulosan”, UW Special Collections [As Co-Curator with Andrew Hedden]

  • November 2012-April 2013- “Images of Labor and Social Justice: The Art of Richard V. Correll”, UW Special Collections [As Curator]

  • April-June 2011 - “UW Activists and the Farmworkers' Movement” (with Theresa Mudrock)

  • August 2012.  Casey, Conor, ed. and Senteara Orwig. "Industrial Workers of the World Photograph Collection." http://guides.lib.uw.edu/research/IWWPhotos [As editor; Senteara Orwig did all of the research and exhibit design under my guidance and I selected content, assisted in research, and edited content]

 

At University of Washington Libraries, 2010-2017

  • February 2017-June 2017. Casey, Conor. “Partners in Discovery”, University of Washington Libraries Research Commons. [As Curator]

  • February 1, 2017 – March 31, 2017- “Images of Labor and Social Justice: The Art of Richard V. Correll”, UW Special Collections [As Curator], Odegaard Undergraduate Library, Second Floor Gallery Display Wall

  • December 2016-January 2017. "An Injury to One is an Injury to All: The Legacy of the 1916 Everett Massacre and the Industrial Workers of the World in the Pacific Northwest" UW Allen Library Lobby. [As Co-Curator with Crystal Rodgers].

  • April 2012 - “Taking it to the Street: Protests, Strikes, and Activism in Washington State” (Collaboration with Theresa Mudrock, Glenda Pearson, Jessica Albano, Cass Hartnett)

Offsite Labor Archives of Washington Exhibits at Community Venues

  • May 6, 2017. "An Injury to One is an Injury to All: The Legacy of the 1916 Everett Massacre and the Industrial Workers of the World in the Pacific Northwest" Pierce County Central Labor Council Hootenanny. [As Co-Curator with Crystal Rodgers].

  • April 30, 2017. "An Injury to One is an Injury to All: The Legacy of the 1916 Everett Massacre and the Industrial Workers of the World in the Pacific Northwest" Washington State Labor Council Mural Dedication Event. [As Co-Curator with Crystal Rodgers].

  • April 2017. “SeaTac Seattle Minimum Wage History Project” at Riverton Park Baptist Church-Jonathan Rosenblum Book Launch Event. [As Curator]

  • March 2017. “SeaTac Seattle Minimum Wage History Project” at Seattle Town Hall—Jonathan Rosenblum Book Launch Event. [As Curator]

  • March 2017. “SeaTac Seattle Minimum Wage History Project” at Washington State Labor Council Jonathan Rosenblum Book Launch Event. [As Curator]

  • November 2016. Casey, Conor. “The Everett Massacre: Selections from the Industrial Workers of the World Photograph Collection, Labor Archives of Washington, University of Washington Libraries Special Collections." Everett Massacre Centennial Commemoration, Everett, Washington. [As Curator]

  • May 2016. Casey, Conor. "The Everett Massacre: Selections from the Industrial Workers of the World Photograph Collection, Labor Archives of Washington, University of Washington Libraries Special Collections." Pacific Northwest Labor History Association Annual Conference. Portland, Oregon. May 2016. [As Curator]

  • December 2014-Ongoing-Exhibit: “The Washington State Labor Council: More than a Century of Progress” at Washington State Labor Council. [As Curator]

  • May 2013- Exhibit: “Images of Labor and Social Justice: The Art of Richard V. Correll” at Northwest Folklife Festival, May 23-May 27 [As Curator]

  • May 2013- Exhibit: “Images of Labor and Social Justice: The Art of Richard V. Correll” at Pacific Northwest Labor History Association Conference [As Curator]

Collaborative Exhibit Programs

  • 2014-2017 Collaborative exhibit program between South Seattle College Labor Education and Research Center, the Harry Bridges Center for Labor Studies, and the Labor Archives.

At San Francisco State University Labor Archives & Research Center, 2001-2009

  • 2007: Casey, Conor. “On Our Own Time: Working Class Culture in the Bay Area," Labor Archives, September 2006-March 2007 [As Curator]

  • 2007: Casey, Conor. “Uncommon Thread: San Francisco Chinatown Workers and the National Dollar Stores Strike of 1938” October 2007-Present.  [As Curator]

  • 2005: Rosen, Jeff and Casey, Conor. Online Exhibit: “Cultivating Creativity: The Arts and the Farm Workers’ Movement in the 1960s and 1970s” Labor Archives and Research Center, SFSU, Summer 2005. [As Co-Curator]  https://web.archive.org/web/20151101123949*/http://www.library.sfsu.edu/exhibits/cultivating/

  • 2005: Casey, Conor.  “Cultivating Creativity: The Arts and the Farm Workers’ Movement During the 1960s and ‘70s: Symbolism and History of the Movement” Labor Archives and Research Center, SFSU [As Co-Curator]

 

Profile

Conor Casey's picture
Conor Casey
Contact:
Conor M. Casey, MA, MLIS, CA
Head, Labor Archives of Washington


Libraries Special Collections

Labor Archives of Washington

Mail: Box 352900, Seattle, WA 98133-2900

Allen Library South, Basement/B81D

206.685.3976 fax 206.543.1931
206.685.3976
Website