Skip to main content
Image: Sketch of Camp Harmony by Eddie Sato, 1942
Some of the images in these collections have been digitized and are linked from the collection guide. Other digitized images relating to the Nikkei community can be found in the UW Digital Collections.
Other Material Available in the UW Libraries
The UW Libraries has an extensive collection of secondary sources and published primary sources dealing with the incarceration of Japanese Americans during World War II including camp newspapers, digitized, printed and microfilmed collections of WRA (War Relocation Authority) documents, and memoirs. For additional material see the Japanese Americans During World War II quick guide.
Selected Archival Collections: Personal Papers
These collections of personal papers contain substanial material on the incarceration of Japanese Americans during World War II. Additional collections can be found by searching the online collection guides database.
Emery E. Andrews Papers 1925-1969
Acc. 1908. Papers of the Seattle Japanese Baptist Church pastor who followed his congregation to Idaho during the war
Arthur G. Barnett Papers 1920-1997
Acc. 1598. Papers (including correspondence, interviews, and clippings) documenting the lawyer's support of Japanese Americans including Gordon Hirabayashi
Ella Evanson Scrapbooks 1941-1974
Acc. 2402. Scrapbooks contain letters and essays written by Nikkei junior high students following Pearl Harbor. These letters form the basis of the book, Wherever I Go, I Will Always Be a Loyal American: Schooling Seattle's Japanese Americans during World War II
Mary Farquharson Papers Relating to the Incarceration of Japanese Americans during World War II 1942-1945
Acc. 0397-005. Papers of the civil rights activist, includes correspondence and material on Gordon Hirabayashi
Yoshito Fujii Papers 1942-1945
Acc. 1582-002. Papers of the Minidoka Relocation Center's Community Council chairman include minutes, memos, reports and correspondence dealing with everyday working of the camp
Betty Fukuyama Papers 1940-1992
Acc. 4411. Papers of the writer and minister's wife includes correspondence between Betty and her future husband Tom Fukuyama while he served as a minister in Minidoka
Higano Family Papers 1934-1963
Acc. 2870. Collection includes family correspondence in Japanese and in English while some members were incarcerated in Minidoka
Gordon K. Hirabayashi Papers, 1934-2012
Acc. 3159. Papers include oral history interviews, correspondence and other material dealing with his incarceration during WWII, the US Supreme Court case, Hirabayashi v. United States, postwar life and the Coram Nobis case.
Hiroyuki Ichihara Papers 1942
Acc. 4761. Microfilmed collection of papers dealing with the day to day management of the Puyallup Assembly Center
Iwao Matsushita papers, 1895-1979
Acc. 2718. Papers include correspondence between Matsushita and his wife during WWII; selected correspondence translated and published in the book, Imprisoned apart: the World War II correspondence of an Issei couple
Minoru Masuda papers, 1935-1984
Acc. 2925-004. Papers including correspondence of a Nikkei medic who served in the 442nd Combat Unit; selected letters published in the book, Letters from the 442nd: the World War II correspondence of a Japanese American medic. Postwar papers cover activities in the JACL and more.
Ring Family Papers ca. 1941-1985
Acc. 4241. Papers of the civil rights activists include correspondence with many Nikkei including Gordon Hirabayashi
James Y. Sakamoto Papers 1928-1955
Acc. 1609. Papers of the publisher of the Japanese American Courier, JACL president and "Chief Supervisor" of the Puyallup Assembly Center
Floyd Wilfred Schmoe Papers 1911-1999
Acc. 0496-008. Papers of the park ranger, UW forestry instructor and humanitarian; during WWII Schmoe worked with the American Friends Committee to aid Nikkei to leave the camps and find jobs or transfer to colleges
Charles Theodore Takahashi Papers 1903-1959
Acc. 3542. Papers document the local Nikkei businessman's attempt to maintain is businesses while incarcerated
Selected Archival Collections: Organizational Records
These collections of organizational records contain substanial material on the incarceration of Japanese Americans during World War II. Additional collections can be found by searching the online collection guides.