Skip to Main Content
Select Libraries are open. Online resources and support are available 24/7! Please see our COVID-Update page for reopening dates and hours starting in September. UW Libraries COVID-19 Updates
There are many websites that provide access to primary and secondary resources pertaining to Medieval Studies. Some are listed below. If searching for additional sites on Google, be sure to note the author/sponsor of the site and see if it is a credible source.
- The Camelot Project- Arthurian Texts, Images, Bibliographies, and Basic Information. "THE CAMELOT PROJECT is designed to make available in electronic format a database of Arthurian texts, images, bibliographies, and basic information. The project is sponsored by the University of Rochester and prepared in The Robbins Library, a branch of Rush Rhees Library."
- Digital Librarian - "A librarian's choice of the best of the web : Medieval & Renaissance Studies"
- Anthology of Middle English Literature - Geoffrey Chaucer; John Gower; Sir Gawain and the Green Knight; William Langland and Piers Plowman; Julian of Norwich; Margery Kempe; Thomas Malory; John Lydgate; Thomas Hoccleve; Medieval Plays; Middle English Lyrics
- Internet Medieval Sourcebook
- TEAMS: The Consortium for the Teaching of the Middle Ages, Inc. - TEAMS was originally founded as a committee of the Medieval Academy of America to develop new ways to support the teaching activities of its members. It was later re-organized as an independent nonprofit educational corporation whose mission continues to be the support of teaching in medieval studies at the undergraduate, secondary, and elementary school level through the provision of resources and the sharing of techniques.
- NetSerf - "The internet connection for Medieval Studies."
- The Labyrinth - World Wide Web Server for Medieval Studies Sponsored by Georgetown University
- The Lollard Society - Bibliographies of primary and secondary sources on Religion, Language, Literature
- ORB Lectures on Medieval Literature - "Contains links to primary texts online and to lectures, written by experienced medievalists, on those texts; all lectures have been reviewed by the ORB editorial board and were specially chosen for this site. Each section contains introductions to the material."
- ORB OnLine Reference Book for Medieval Studies - "The Online Resource Book for Medieval Studies (ORB) is a cooperative effort on the part of scholars across the internet to establish an online textbook source for medieval studies on the World-Wide Web. In principle, authors of the various articles that make up ORB maintain their own articles at their own locations. Each article is connected to ORB's Title Index, which can be accessed at any time by clicking on the ORB icon (see the top left corner above) anywhere it appears. In addition, each article will be linked directly to related articles and other information available on the Web. Some authors welcome your questions, comments and observations about their articles."
- Piers Plowman Electronic Archive
- Online Medieval & Classical Library, Berkeley
- Middle English Compendium -Easy access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, as well as links to an associated network of electronic resources.
- Voice of the Shuttle: English Literature
- Medieval & Renaissance Sites - Sites relevant to mediaeval logic and philosophy
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries & bibliographies are valuable for providing background information that can help you narrow your research topic. The bibliographies provide lists of additional resources, ranging from key scholarship on a particular author or literary period, to finding poems or reviews in older journals and magazines.
- The Cambridge History of Medieval English literature
- The Cambridge History of Medieval English Literature - PR255 .C35 1999
- The Oxford History of English Literature:
- Middle English Literature - PR83 .O93 v.1 pt.2
- English Literature at the Close of the Middle Ages - PR83 .O93 v.2 pt.2
- Old and Middle English Literature - PN41 .D484 1978 v.146
- A Dictionary of Medieval Terms and Phrases - DA 129 .C67 2004
- Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature - PN669 .E53 2000
- Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends, Tales, Beliefs, and Customs - GR35 .M43 2000 v.1-2
Medieval Studies Journals
- Speculum -- Published quarterly since 1926, was the first scholarly journal in North America devoted exclusively to the Middle Ages
- Essays in Medieval Studies Proceedings of the Illinois Medieval Association -- An interdisciplinary journal of medieval studies
- Journal of medieval and early modern studies -- Publishes articles informed by historical inquiry and alert to issues raised by contemporary theoretical debate
- Medieval Review -- Publishes reviews of current work in all areas of Medieval Studies
- Comitatus -- Articles by graduate students and new scholars working in any field of the Middle Ages or the Renaissance
-- The quarterly for the International Arthurian Society - North American Branch. It is dedicated to all aspects of the Arthurian story from its inception in the Middle Ages to its enactments in the present moment.
General Guides and Resources
- A Companion to Medieval Literature and Culture, c. 1350-c. 1500 -- PR255 .C653 2007
- Medieval Writers and their Work: Middle English LIterature 1100-1500 -- PR255 .B8 2008
- Companion to the Middle English Lyric -- PR311 .C64 2005
- Companion to Middle English Prose -- PR255 .C655 2004
- Cambridge Companion to Old English Literature -- PR173 .C36 1991