Research Guides
HSTAS 244 Imperialism and Anti-Colonialism in Asia: Primary: Other
Government Documents as Primary Sources
Governments produce a wide array of documents ranging from Parliamentary reports, Congressional hearings, debates and reports, census data, agency or departmental papers to brochures, maps and posters. As primary sources these official governmental publications provide insight into all aspects of history from social issues to politics, from cultural mores to scientific endeavor.
Specialized Databases
The following three databases are digitized collections of primary source material and include letters, newsclippings, images and more. For listings of freely available digitized collections on the web see the subject guides for Southeast Asian Studies, South Asian Studies, Asian History, Chinese Studies, Korean Studies and Japan Studies.
- Empire Online
This link opens in a new window
Documents and other primary sources dealing primarily with the British Empire
- India, Raj & Empire This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
18th and 19th century colonial papers & records - Policing the Shanghai International Settlement, 1894-1945 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Records of the British-run municipal police force from 1894 to 1945
Finding Government Documents
- Digital National Security Archive
- This link opens in a new window
Includes sets of declassified documents on various areas of the world.
Most government material is housed in the Government Publications section on the ground floor of Suzzallo Library. Librarians there can help you find material you need. In addition to searching the UW Libraries Catalog for government documents you can also use these specialized sources.
- Freedom of Information Act Electronic Reading RoomDeclassified CIA documents
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
19th and 20th century UK Parliamentary Papers
- LLMC-Digital
- This link opens in a new window
Mostly American legal sources but does include some foreign coverage especially of India - National Archives and Records AdministrationSearchable database of US agency records. Some digitized.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Congressional publications, including hearings (available fulltext for 1824-1979), prints, and reports. Legislative histories, member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, and financial data. Full text of key regulatory and statutory resources. - U.S. Congressional Serial Set This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Major database: Full-text Senate and House reports, documents, and journals for the period 1817-1980
Microfilm
The material listed here is available on microfilm and housed in the Microform and Newspaper Collections, located on the ground floor of Suzzallo Library. Much of it is unpublished material taken from internal goverment or manuscript collections -- some material may be handwritten. Printers and scanners are available to make copies.
- China through western eyes: manuscript records of traders, travellers, missionaries and diplomats, 1792-1942MIcrofilm collection; A9723
- Church Missionary Society archive - Missions to womenMicrofilm collection; 58 reels; A9924
- Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records: JapanMicrofilm collection; A10250
- Confidential U.S. State Department central files, Indochina internal affairs, 1950-1954Microfilm collection; 44 reels; A8454
- Confidential U.S. State Department central files. India : internal affairs, 1945-1949Microfilm collection; 23 reels; A8182
- Despatches from United States consuls in Shanghai, 1847-1906Microfilm collection; A969
- Despatches from United States ministers to China, 1843-1906Microfilm collection; A950
- Despatches from United States ministers to JapanMicrofilm collection; A951
- Despatches from United States ministers to Korea, 1883-1905Microfilm collection; A966
- Indian political intelligence filesMicrofiche collection; 324 fiche; M-3276
- Papers of the American Board of Commissioners for Foreign MissionsMicrofilm collection; Unit 4, Missions to Asia, 1812-1919 covers China, Japan and India; 113 reels; A7028
- Political pamphlets from the Indian subcontinentMicrofiche collection; 1606 fiche; M-2280
- Publications proscribed by the government of IndiaMicrofilm collection; 35 reels; A7820
- Records of the Department of State relating to internal affairs of China, 1910-1929Microfilm collection; A1241