Social ExplorerThis link opens in a new windowMaps and reports based on U.S. Census and other data sources, 1790 to present.
This link opens in a new window
U.S. National Data
US CensusThe US Census Bureau's website, where you will find access to decennial census data via American Factfinder, as well as less detailed but more up-to-date census data via the American Community Survey.
American Community Survey (ACS)"The American Community Survey helps local officials, community leaders and businesses understand the changes taking place in their communities. It is the premier source for detailed information about the American people and workforce."
US Census LibraryClick on Publications to see data from the Census dating back to 1801. The Library also includes infographics, audio, video, and more.
CQ ResearcherThis link opens in a new windowThese well researched reports, dating back to 1923, include useful charts and graphs. The reports can help you to find leading sources for stats in particular areas of research.
ProQuest Statistical InsightThis link opens in a new windowDatabase of statistical publications (U.S. & international). Allows users to search abstracts and full-text tables within statistical publications of federal, state, and international agencies/organizations.
This link opens in a new window
UNdata ExplorerCompiles over 30 databases produced by United Nations Statistics and Population Divisions and other UN agencies under one interface. While time period and geographic coverage vary for each dataset, data are generally current and far-reaching—covering a broad range of international measures related to the UN’s mission to maintain international peace and security, develop friendly relations among nations and promote social progress, better living standards and human rights.
World Development IndicatorsInternational statistics with some data back to 1960. Includes more than 900 development indicators for over 200 countries covering economic policy and debt, education, environment, financial sector, health, infrastructure, labor and social protection, poverty, private sector and trade, and public sector.
World Health Organization"The Global Health Observatory (GHO) is WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation. It provides critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database. The GHO presents data from all WHO programmes and provides links to supporting information."
Department of Licensing: Business and professional license query systemCovers dozens of professions regulated by the Licensing Department, including architects, bail bondsmen, cemeteries, collection agencies, court reporters, engineers, firearms, funeral directors, geologists, martial arts, notaries, private investigators, security guards, travel agents, and others.
Neighborhood Economic DataThe Federal Financial Institution Examination Council (FFIEC) provides economic census data dating back to 1997. Know your Census Tract number before using the Census Report System.
Washington Courts: search for casesIndexes cases filed in the district, municipal, superior, and appellate courts. Contact the specific court that handled a case to order a copy or get information on how to inspect the record.
crime statistics for college and university campuses.
Federal Criminal Case Processing Statistics (Bureau of Justice Statistics)The Bureau of Justice Statistics, through its Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center (FJSRC), compiles comprehensive information describing suspects and defendants processed in the federal criminal justice system. The Federal Criminal Case Processing Statistics (FCCPS) tool is an interface that can be used to analyze federal case processing data
Uniform Crime ReportsCompiled by the FBI, includes volume and rate of crime offenses for the nation, the states, and individual agencies. Also includes arrest, clearance, and law enforcement employee data.
Hall of Justice"Hall of Justice, a project of the Sunlight Foundation, is a robust, searchable inventory of publicly available criminal justice datasets and research.
While not comprehensive, Hall of Justice contains nearly 10,000 datasets and research documents from all 50 states, the District of Columbia, U.S. territories and the federal government. The data was collected between September 2014 and October 2015."
National Health Statistics ReportsThese reports provide annual data summaries, present analyses of health topics, or present new information on methods or measurement issues. Reports published by the National Center for Health Statistics, Center for Disease Control and Prevention.
State Health FactsData, news, and reports about health issues including Costs & Budgets, Coverage & Uninsured, Health Reform, HIV/AIDS, Medicaid & CHIP, Medicare, Minority Health, and Women's Health from the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation.
King County Recorder's Office Records SearchIndexed documents include land records, marriage records, surveys, real estate excise tax affidavits and general documents recorded with the King County Recorder's Office. In general, the indexes on this site begin in 1976. Pre-1976 indexes are on microfilm and are available for research at the King County Archives.
HUD / US Census / USPS Home Vacancy DataThe US Census Bureau, Department of Housing and Urban Development and the United States Postal Service are working together to bring you census-tract level data on home vacancies that is updated every 3 months. This is raw data that you download as a DBF file and open with Excel or Access or SAS.
globalbarometerGlobalbarometer project combines a common module of questions from the African, Arab, Asian, and Latino barometer surveys. While representing only a selection of the questions asked in the regional barometer surveys, these data are available for online analysis allowing for significant cross-national comparisons (see http://www.jdsurvey.net/gbs/gbs.jsp).
Roper iPollThis link opens in a new windowUS national opinion surveys, 1935 - present. Includes data from academic, commercial, and media survey organizations such as Gallup, Harris Interactive, Pew Research, and more. From the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research. UW is a member of the Roper Center.
Create a personalized account using the "sign in" link. This will allow you to download data sets through RoperExpress.
This link opens in a new window
Pew Global Attitudes Project"Interactive database allows users to explore public opinion trends in 55 countries on topics ranging from attitudes toward the U.S. to people's assessments of their own lives to views about globalization, democratization, extremism and other important issues."
World Values SurveyAdministered to nationally representative samples covering values and perceptions of life, the environment, work, family, politics and society, religion and morale, and national identity, as well as demographic characteristics. Download data files or analyze online.
TRIDContains references to books, technical reports, conference proceedings, journal articles and on-going research in the field of transportation. Transportation topics include: Highways, Transit, Railroads, Maritime, Aviation, Planning, Finance, Design and Construction, Materials, Environmental Issues, Safety and Human Factors, and Operations.