Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- Journalism
- Images, News, Sound, & Video
Journalism: Images, News, Sound, & Video
This guide supports students in COM 360, COM 361, and anyone trying to locate information available through the Deep/Invisible Web.
Copyright
- Fair Use ChecklistGuide to help show how any use of copyright materials may have a strong (or weak) argument for fair use. Created by the University of Louisville.
- US Copyright OfficeOfficial source of copyright law information, including forms and procedures for registering musical works for copyright protection.
- BMIBroadcast Music Inc.
Provides a searchable database of who owns 7.5 million song titles. - Public Domain MusicSearchable list of music in the public domain as well as information about intellectual property with respect to musical works. There are many more sites you might want to explore using public domain music as your search term.
Image & Photo Resources
Here are a few resources for photos. Remember to check for Copyright Clearance and permission to use:
- Google Images Advanced SearchFind images that are free and legal to use by setting the usage rights to not filtered by license.
- LIFE Photo ArchiveProvides access to about one million digital images within the collection of the Library of Congress' Prints and Photographs Division. Includes architectural and historical images, 1860s-1970s.
- Redux Pictures - NYT ArchiveSearch and view the Redux Pictures photo archive which includes photos from the New York Times.
Video Resources
Here are a few resources for footage. Remember to check for Copyright Clearance and permission to post:
- ARTEA Franco-German and European public service TV channel that supports creativity and culture through programs that are broadcast 24/7 throughout Europe and beyond. The founders of ARTE believed that a joint television channel should bring French and German citizens closer on a cultural level and promote cultural integration throughout Europe.
- C-SPANDaily coverage of Washington and more than 200000 hours of extensively indexed and archived C-SPAN video.
- footage.netFootage.net is the world’s largest online aggregator of stock footage databases, providing serious footage researchers with free access to the most comprehensive roster of stock, archival and news footage indexes online.
- Internet Archive: Moving Images Archive"This library contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download."
- Internet Archive: FedFlix"Welcome to FedFlix, Joint Venture NTIS-1832 between the National Technical Information Service and Public.Resource.Org. Here we feature the best movies of the United States Government, from training films to history, from our national parks to the U.S. Fire Academy and the Postal Inspectors, all of these fine flix are available for reuse without any restrictions whatsoever."
- Internet Archive: News & Public AffairsGrowing collection of historical and current local, national, and international media.
- Meet the Press This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Streaming video archive of the weekly American television news/interview program, 1947-2003.
- Seattle ChannelNews, analysis, and stories about Seattle's civic and cultural landscape.
- Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archive of national television news broadcasts, 1968 to present. Includes streaming of some CNN and NBC broadcasts.
- TVWOffers unedited coverage of Washington state government and reporting on government, politics, and public policy. Archival programming back to 1995.
- World Newsreels Online, 1929-66
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of streaming videos that features full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the first half of the twentieth century. The collection is semantically indexed, allowing users to search by subject, year, historical era, historical event, people, and places.
Contemporary News Including Today
Specific E-Newspapers available through UW Libraries:
- News Tribune (Tacoma) [NewsBank]
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1889 to today, including the newsprint, web, and blog editions. - ProQuest New York Times, Late Edition (East Coast)
- This link opens in a new window
For quick browsing and searching of the New York Times print edition from June 1, 1980 to the present. Includes the full text of today's paper. - Olympian [Access World News]
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 2001 to today, including newsprint and Web editions. - Seattle Times [Access World News]
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1891 to today, including the newsprint, web, and blog editions. - Tri-City Herald [Access World News]
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 2006 to today including newsprint and Web editions.
Searchable News Databases:
- Access World News [NewsBank]Newspapers, transcripts, wire services, broadcasts, 1980s - present.
- Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current international, national & regional newspapers, 1980 - present. - US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Washington State, national & regional newspapers, 1980 - present
Historical News Resources
- Guardian & Observer
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images through 2003. Includes the two British newspapers, Guardian 1821-2003 and Observer 1791-2003.
Library also has the Guardian from 1962 to present on Microfilm A4616. - Washington Post
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images, 1887-2001. For 2002 to present, use LexisNexis Academic.
Sound Resources
Here are a few resources for sounds. Remember to check for Copyright Clearance and permission to use:
- Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
DRAM contains 3,000 albums from 26 independent labels, representing folk to opera, Native American to jazz, 19th century classical to early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic, art, jazz and world musics.
- Index of Sound Effects (UW Drama Library)Search the UW Drama Library's sound effects collection. Some sound effects can be checked out while others are library use only. This collection is currently unavailable due to COVID-19 restrictions.
- Puget SoundsWith Puget Sounds the UW aims to document music in the Puget Sound region. Everything from rock & hip hop to classical & jazz is represented in the collection.
- Broadcast Music, Inc. (BMI)Broadcast Music Inc.
Provides a searchable database of who owns 7.5 million song titles. - Public Domain MusicSearchable list of music in the public domain as well as information about intellectual property with respect to musical works. There are many more sites you might want to explore using public domain music as your search term.