Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- Journalism
- Reporting: The Elderly
Journalism: Reporting: The Elderly
This guide supports students in COM 360, COM 361, and anyone trying to locate information available through the Deep/Invisible Web.
E-Books about the Elderly and Aging
This is a brief list of e-books available through the UW Libraries. Use UW Libraries Search to find more books about your topic.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Senior Health by 
This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2015-07-16
Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences by
The Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences, Sixth Edition provides a comprehensive summary and evaluation of recent research on the social aspects of aging. The 25 chapters are divided into four sections discussing Aging and Time, Aging and Social Structure, Social Factors and Social Institutions, and Aging and Society. Within this context, aging is examined from the perspectives of many disciplines and professions including anthropology, bioethics, demography, economics, epidemiology, law, political science, psychology, and sociology. The Sixth Edition of the Handbook is virtually 100% new material. Seventeen chapters are on subjects not carried in the previous edition. Seven topics were carried over from the previous edition but written by new authors with fresh perspectives and brought up to date. Some of the exciting new topics include social relationships in late life, technological change and aging, religion and aging, lifestyle and aging, perceived quality of life, economic security in retirement, and aging and the law. There is also a greater emphasis on international perspectives, particularly in chapters on aging and politics, diversity and aging, and immigration. The Handbook will be of use to researchers and professional practitioners working with the aged. It is also suitable for use as a course text for graduate and advanced undergraduate courses on aging and the social sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Aging in America by
Aging is a preoccupation shared by beauty bloggers, serious journalists, scientists, doctors, celebrities--arguably all of adult America, given the pervasiveness of the crusade against it in popular culture and the media. We take our youth-oriented culture as a given but, as Lawrence R. Samuel argues, this was not always the case. Old age was revered in early America, in part because it was so rare. Indeed, it was not until the 1960s, according to Samuel, that the story of aging in America became the one we are most familiar with today: aging is a disease that science will one day cure, and in the meantime, signs of aging should be prevented, masked, and treated as a source of shame. By tracing the story of aging in the United States over the course of the last half century, Samuel vividly demonstrates the ways in which getting older tangibly contradicts the prevailing social values and attitudes of our youth-obsessed culture. As a result, tens of millions of adults approaching their sixties and seventies in this decade do not know how to age, as they were never prepared to do so. Despite recent trends that suggest a more positive outlook, getting old is still viewed in terms of physical and cognitive decline, resulting in discrimination in the workplace and marginalization in social life. Samuels concludes Aging in America by exhorting his fellow baby boomers to use their economic clout and sheer numbers to change the narrative of aging in America.
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2017-01-31
The Age of Dignity by
One of Newsweek's 150 Fearless Women,' the activist who spearheaded New York's successful Bill of Rights for Domestic Workers shows how we can better care for our growing elderly population and provide millions of good jobs at the same time.'
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2015-02-03
Creating Aging-Friendly Communities by
Creating Aging-Friendly Communities (CAFC) examines the need to redesign America's communities to respond to the realities of our rapidly aging society. The text focuses on the interface between individuals and their environments, and the ways in which communities can enhance individual and community well-being. What differentiates CAFC from other books is its breadth of focus, its comprehensive and evidence-based consideration of key concepts, its inclusion of social as well as physical infrastructure characteristics, and its intensive examination of models of community change for fostering aging-friendliness. It presents a conceptually and empirically-based model of aging-friendliness, identifies environmental modifications that could enhance individual and community well-being, outlines a typology of community change approaches, and considers the potential efficacy of those approaches. This book identifies practical implications for policies, programs, and knowledge development designed to help communities become more aging-friendly.
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2015-12-14
Lifespan Human Development by
Lifespan human development is the study of all aspects of biological, physical, cognitive, socioemotional, and contextual development from conception to the end of life. In approximately 800 signed articles by experts from a wide diversity of fields, this volume explores all individual and situational factors related to human development across the lifespan. The Encyclopedia promises to be an authoritative, discipline-defining work for students and researchers seeking to become familiar with various theories and empirical findings about human development broadly construed.
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2018-04-12
Salem Health Community & Family Health Issues by
Written by experts from the healthcare and social services fields, articles provide helpful guidance on conditions, treatments, trends and issues facing children, families, and economically, physically or mentally disadvantaged members of the community.
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2017-05-31
The Upside of Aging by
The Upside of Aging: How Long Life Is Changing the World of Health, Work, Innovation, Policy and Purpose explores a titanic shift that will alter every aspect of human existence, from the jobs we hold to the products we buy to the medical care we receive - an aging revolution underway across America and the world. Moving beyond the stereotypes of dependency and decline that have defined older age, The Upside of Aging reveals the vast opportunity and potential of this aging phenomenon, despite significant policy and societal challenges that must be addressed. The book's chapter authors, all prominent thought-leaders, point to a reinvention and reimagination of our older years that have critical implications for people of all ages. With a positive call to action, the book illuminates the upside for health and wellness, work and volunteerism, economic growth, innovation and education. nbsp;The authors, like the baby boom generation itself, posit new ways of thinking about aging, as longevity and declining birthrates put the world on track for a mature population of unprecedented size and significance. Among topics they examine are: The emotional intelligence and qualities of the aging brain that science is uncovering, "senior moments" notwithstanding. The new worlds of genomics, medicine and technology that are revolutionizing health care and wellness. The aging population's massive impact on global markets, with enormous profit potential from an explosion in products and services geared toward mature consumers. New education paradigms to meet the needs and aspirations of older people, and to capitalize on their talents. The benefits that aging workers and entrepreneurs bring to companies, and the crucial role of older people in philanthropy and society. Tools and policies to facilitate financial security for longer and more purposeful lives. Infrastructure and housing changes to create livable cities for all ages, enabling "aging in place" and continuing civic contribution from millions of older adults.nbsp; The opportunities and potential for intergenerational engagement and collaboration. The Upside of Aging defines a future that differs profoundly from the retirement dreams of our parents and grandparents, one that holds promise and power and bears the stamp of a generation that has changed every stage of life through which it has moved.
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2014-04-03
E-Books about Aging and Demographic Differences
This is a brief list of e-books available through the UW Libraries. Use UW Libraries Search to find more books about your topic.
Ageing, Diversity and Equality by
Current understandings of ageing and diversity are impoverished in three main ways. Firstly, with regards to thinking about what inequalities operate in later life there has been an excessive preoccupation with economic resources. On the other hand, less attention has been paid to cultural norms and values, other resources, wider social processes, political participation and community engagement. Secondly, in terms of thinking about the ¿who¿ of inequality, this has so far been limited to a very narrow range of minority populations. Finally, when considering the ¿how¿ of inequality, social gerontology¿s theoretical analyses remain under-developed. The overall effect of these issues is that social gerontology remains deeply embedded in normative assumptions which serve to exclude a wide range of older people. Ageing, Diversity and Equality aims to challenge and provoke the above described normativity and offer an alternative approach which highlights the heterogeneity and diversity of ageing, associated inequalities and their intersections. The Open Access version of this book, available at https://www.taylorfrancis.com/books/9781351851329, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 licence.
Publication Date: 2018-11-23
Caring for a Living by
Today's world is aging at a great speed, and although people living longer represents one of the greatest achievements of the last century, the extension of life expectancy does not necessarily correspond to an extension of healthy lives. Aging populations, particularly those with a highpercentage of oldest old, are often burdened with chronic conditions that require extended long-term care. Deciding a) who provides said care, and b) in what forms are key problems that will soon affect a growing number of post-industrial and mid-income countries. Caring for a Living contributes tothis debate by exploring the organization of long-term care in Italy, a country already in the midst of an eldercare crisis. There, the answer to this problem has taken the shape of home eldercare assistance, an arrangement whereby long term care services are bought in the market in the form ofprivate and individualized assistance by families sometimes with economic support provided by the State. The providers of these services, commonly known as "badanti" (minders), are, for the most part, immigrant women coming from different areas of the world for whom the state has made specialprovisions in terms of immigration law.By analyzing the emergence and development of this arrangement and the role that the state, Italian families, and the workers themselves play in shaping and in defining it, this text provides timely insights on the nature of long-term care and its requirements, on the specific needs of familiesfacing this issue, on the changing role of the neoliberal State, and on the ways in which global political and economic processes influence and shape an apparently individually based solution to long-term care. In addition, by focusing on home eldercare assistance as an occupation, Caring for aLiving provides a deeper understanding of: the tasks involved; the discrepancies between what is deemed worthy of pay and what is not; who is doing the job and why; and the ways in which gender and racial relations are produced, negotiated, and challenged among the workers, the employers, and theelders themselves.
Publication Date: 2016-06-03
The Cultural Context of Aging by
From the laughing clubs of India and robotic granny minders of Japan to the "Flexsecurity" system of Denmark and the elderscapes of Florida, experts in this collection bring readers cutting-edge and future-focused approaches to our aging population worldwide. In this fourth edition of an award-winning text on the consequences of global aging, a team of expert anthropologists and other social scientists presents the issues and possible solutions as our population over age 60 rises to double that of 2000. Chapters describe how the consequences of global aging will influence life in the 21st century in relation to biological limits on the human life span, cultural construction of the life cycle, generational exchange and kinship, makeup of households and community, and attitudes toward disability and death. This completely revised edition includes 20 new chapters covering China, Japan, Denmark, India, West and East Africa, Indonesia, Mexico, Peru, indigenous Amazonia, rural Italy, and the ethnic landscape of the United States. A popular feature is an integrated set of web book chapters listed in the table of contents, discussed in chapter introductions, and available on the book's web site. In addition, readers have access to web support providing literature updates, educational activities, graphics, and supplemental videos. Takes a qualitative, case study approach, with most chapters informed by original, ongoing field research around the world Draws its reputation from use in courses from anthropology, sociology, and psychology to social work, nursing, and public health at 60 universities Discusses and points readers to related web book chapters, available on the book's website Provides access to valuable web support offering literature updates, educational activities, videos, and more
Publication Date: 2020-05-31
Culture, Bodies and the Sociology of Health by
Culture, Bodies and the Sociology of Health explores the boundaries between bodies and society with special reference to uncovering the cultural components of health and the ways in which bodies are categorized according to a form of culturally embedded 'health orthodoxy'. Illustrating the importance of contextualizing the body as a cultural entity, this book demonstrates that the spaces and boundaries between healthy bodies are becoming more diverse than ever before. The volumes international team of scholars engage with a range of issues surrounding the cultural construction of the body as a site of health and illness. As such, it will be of interest not only to sociologists, especially sociologists of health, but also to scholars of media and communication studies as well as cultural theorists.
Publication Date: 2010-06-28
Ethnicity and Old Age by
Part of the Ageing in a Global Context series, this book proposes a new research agenda for scholarship that focuses on ethnicity, race and old age. It argues that in a time of increased international migration, population ageing and ethno-cultural diversity, scholarly imagination must be expanded as current research frameworks are becoming obsolete. By bringing attention to the way that ethnicity and race have been addressed in research on ageing and old age, with a focus on health inequalities, health and social care, intergenerational relationships and caregiving, the book proposes how research can be developed in an ethnicity astute and diversity informed manner.
Publication Date: 2019-04-17
Future Directions for the Demography of Aging by
Almost 25 years have passed since the Demography of Aging (1994) was published by the National Research Council. Future Directions for the Demography of Aging is, in many ways, the successor to that original volume. The Division of Behavioral and Social Research at the National Institute on Aging (NIA) asked the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine to produce an authoritative guide to new directions in demography of aging. The papers published in this report were originally presented and discussed at a public workshop held in Washington, D.C., August 17-18, 2017. The workshop discussion made evident that major new advances had been made in the last two decades, but also that new trends and research directions have emerged that call for innovative conceptual, design, and measurement approaches. The report reviews these recent trends and also discusses future directions for research on a range of topics that are central to current research in the demography of aging. Looking back over the past two decades of demography of aging research shows remarkable advances in our understanding of the health and well-being of the older population. Equally exciting is that this report sets the stage for the next two decades of innovative researchâ€"a period of rapid growth in the older American population.
Publication Date: 2018-07-21
Handbook of Minority Aging by
"The array of topics covered is amazing, making this book a valuable, significant resource for many disciplines...This multidisciplinary review of the literature on minority aging presents the scholarship related to public health and 'social, behavioral, and biological concerns' of aged minorities like no other publication. Graduate students will certainly be well-served by this book, as would faculty teaching aging at both undergraduate and graduate levels...Highly recommended."--Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries ..".while practitioners of gerontology, family medicine, and any professional involved in the care of the elderly will find some practical guidance in the second part of the book, it will really earn a place on the bookshelf of anyone and everyone with an interest in US sociology and the development of public policy for the elderly. With the general aging of the population and the book's accentuation of current issues, this outstanding review will become an indispensable tool."Healthy Aging Research This text provides up-to-date, multidisciplinary, and comprehensive information about aging among diverse racial and ethnic populations in the United States. It is the only book to focus on paramount public health issues as they relate to older minority Americans, and addresses social, behavioral, and biological concerns for this population. The text distills the most important advances in the science of minority aging and incorporates the evidence of scholars in gerontology, anthropology, psychology, public health, sociology, social work, biology, medicine, and nursing. Additionally, the book incorporates the work of both established and emerging scholars to provide the broadest possible knowledge base on the needs of and concerns for this rapidly growing population. Chapters focus on subject areas that are recognized as being critical in understanding the well being of minority elders. These include sociology (Medicare, SES, work and retirement, social networks, context/neighborhood, ethnography, gender, demographics), psychology (cognition, stress, mental health, personality, sexuality, religion, neuroscience, discrimination), medicine/nursing/public health (mortality and morbidity, disability, health disparities, long-term care, genetics, dietary issues, health interventions, physical functioning), social work (caregiving, housing, social services, end-of-life care), and many other topics. The book focuses on the needs of four major ethnic groups: Asian/Pacific Islander, Hispanic/Latino, African American, and Native American. Key Features: Provides current, comprehensive information about minority aging through a multidisciplinary lens Integrates information from scholars in gerontology, anthropology, psychology, public health, sociology, social work, biology, medicine, and nursing Emphasizes the principal public health issues concerning minority elders Offers "one-stop shopping" regarding the development of a substantial knowledge base about minority aging Includes recent progressive research pertaining to the social, cultural, psychological and health needs of elderly minority adults in the US
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Intersections of Ageing, Gender, Sexualities by
With an increasingly diverse aging population, the need to understand how social divisions affect later life has never been greater. This edited collection examines aging, gender, and sexualities from geographically diverse perspectives and looks at how these factors combine with other social divisions to affect experiences of aging. The editors draw on both theory and empirical data to provide a cogent mix of conceptual knowledge and real world illustrations.
Publication Date: 2019-04-21
LGBT Health by
LGBT Health: Meeting the Needs of Gender and Sexual Minorities offers a first-of-its-kind, comprehensive view of mental, medical, and public health conditions within the LGBT community. This book examines the health outcomes and risk factors that gender and sexual minority groups face while simultaneously providing evidence-based clinical recommendations and resources for meeting their health needs. Drawing from leading scholars and practitioners of LGBT health, this holistic, centralized text synthesizes epidemiologic, medical, psychological, sociological, and public health research related to the origins of, current state of, and ways to improve LGBT health. The award-winning editors have assembled LGBT health experts who have conducted extensive research into diverse areas of LGBT health. Sections guide the reader through the entire spectrum of LGBT health, from the historical roots of LGBT health research all the way to modern, emerging lines of inquiry to improve health among diverse gender and sexual minority groups. Specific groundbreaking coverage includes such populations as LGBT veterans; reproductive health and parenting; sexual minority persons living with chronic illness and disability, and more. This encompassing volume serves as a go-to reference, a call to action, and a guide for anyone involved in researching and improving the health of LGBT populations. KEY FEATURESSynthesizes research from the psychological, sociological, medical, and public health fields into a comprehensive discussion of LGBT healthCovers the continuum of health from antecedents and sociocultural determinants through specific evidence-based approaches for improving outcomesIncludes specific focus on a wide range of health outcomes, including topics often neglected in the field such as reproductive health and parenting, intimate partner violence, cancer, and other chronic diseasesSpecifically investigates a variety of LGBT subgroups and their unique health needs including for LGBT veterans, transgender men and women, and racial and ethnic minorities who are LGBTPowerPoint slides with discussion questions available for qualified Instructors
Publication Date: 2017-10-28
Racial and Ethnic Identities in the Media by
This volume examines the role and representation of 'race' and ethnicity in the media with particular emphasis on the United States. It highlights contemporary work that focuses on changing meanings of racial and ethnic identity as they are represented in the media; television and film, digital and print media are under examination. Through fourteen innovative and interdisciplinary case studies written by a team of internationally based contributors, the volume identifies ways in which ethnic, racial, and national identities have been produced, reproduced, stereotyped, and contested. It showcases new emerging theoretical approaches in the field, and pays particular attention to the role of race, ethnicity, and national identity, along with communal and transnational allegiances, in the making of identities in the media. The topics of the chapters range from immigrant newspapers and gangster cinema to ethnic stand-up comedy and the use of 'race' in advertising.
Publication Date: 2016-07-30
Resources for Journalists
This is list of resources is for journalists reporting on topics related to aging. Visit the For Journalists page on the Journalism research guide for more resources.
- Aging healthjournalism.org/agingRecommendations for reporters on aging beat from the Association of Health Care Journalists. Don't miss the Tip Sheets and Resource Links.
- AgingResources from the National Press Foundation
- Highlighting Aging & Health, The Older Adult Reporting ProjectFrom The John A. Hartford Foundation
Ethical Reporting of Sensitive Topics by
Ethical Reporting of Sensitive Topicsexplores the underlying complexities that journalists may face when covering difficult news stories. Reporting on issues such as suicide, sexual abuse, or migration is a skill that is often glossed over in a journalist's education. By combining theory and practice, this collection will correct this oversight and give journalists the expertise and understanding to report on these subjects responsibly and ethically. Contributors to this volume are an international group of journalists-turned- academics, who share their first-hand experiences and unique professional insight into best ethical journalistic practice for reporting on sensitive topics. Drawing from a range of case studies, contributors discuss the most appropriate approach to, for example, describing a shooter who has killed a group of schoolchildren or interviewing someone who has lost everything in a natural disaster. Readers are invited to consider factors which have the potential to influence the reporting of these sorts of topics, including bias, sensationalism, conflict of interest, grief, vulnerability, and ignorance of one's own privilege. Ethical Reporting of Sensitive Topics aims to support all journalists, from students of journalism and individuals encountering a newsroom for the first time, to those veteran journalists or specialist journalists who seek to better their reporting skills. o consider factors which have the potential to influence the reporting of these sorts of topics, including bias, sensationalism, conflict of interest, grief, vulnerability, and ignorance of one's own privilege. Ethical Reporting of Sensitive Topics aims to support all journalists, from students of journalism and individuals encountering a newsroom for the first time, to those veteran journalists or specialist journalists who seek to better their reporting skills.
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2019-03-08
Associations, Government Agencies, & Organizations,
This list is organized from local to regional to national groups.
- Association of Health Care Journalists (AHCJ)Center for excellence in health care journalism
Data
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the United States
- Seniors from Census ReporterCensus tables pertinent to Seniors
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Create maps and tables of demographic, business, and marketing variables. (Formerly known as SimplyMap.)
News
- Aging & Improving Care Of Older AdultsKaiser Health News coverage related to aging and improving care of older adults.
- GBO NewsE-News of the Journalists Network on Generations
- WA State Office of the Attorney General News Releases: SeniorsSee the AG's Protecting Seniors page for more.
- Access World News [NewsBank]
- This link opens in a new window
Includes many WA State newspapers including the Everett Herald, Seattle Times, Olympian, Spokesman Review, and the Tacoma News Tribune. Includes: Newspapers, transcripts, wire services, broadcasts, 1980s - present. - US Newsstream [ProQuest]
- This link opens in a new window
Includes many major US newspapers, including the New York Times, but it does not include WA State newspapers.
Journals
This is a brief list of e-journals pertaining to aging and geriatrics available through the UW Libraries. For a complete list of e-journals available through the UW Libraries, see the E-Journals page.
Search within each individual journal or use an Articles & Research Database to search for articles in many journals at one time.
- Age and Ageing
- This link opens in a new window
- Ageing and Society
- This link opens in a new window
- Generations
- This link opens in a new window
- Health Aging Research
- This link opens in a new window
Use the ROAD: Directory of Open Access Scholarly Resources link. - Journal of Aging Research
- This link opens in a new window
- Journal of Aging Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- Journal of Gerontological Social Work
- This link opens in a new window
- Mechanisms of Ageing and Development
- This link opens in a new window
Article & Research Databases
These databases may have scholarly journal articles and some magazine articles related to your reporting. Try entering searches like these:
"older people" AND "united states
"financial exploitation" AND "older people"
immigration AND "older people" AND "united states"
elder abuse
aging AND "united states"
"senior citizen*" AND aging
Search tips:
- Use quotation marks ("") around multi-word search terms.
- Use the asterisk symbol (*) to search for plural forms of a word or alternate endings to a word.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citation index for the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. - CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literature in nursing and allied health disciplines, 1937 to present. - PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social and public policy literature from periodicals, government documents, books, and other sources. - Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles on social work, community development, and related topics. - Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in social work and social welfare. - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in the field of sociology, including international literature and other related disciplines.