Skip to Main Content
Research Guides

Location of Materials

  • Suzzallo and Allen Libraries are the major locations for the education collection in print including some encyclopedias, dictionaries, and bibliographies shelved in the Reference Section in Suzzallo Library.
  • Electronic resources including specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, and bibliographies may be found on the Education Research Guide and by using the UW Libraries Search.
  • Microform collections including ERIC microfiche are in the Microforms-Newspapers Section.
  • There are some duplicate and related titles in the Odegaard Undergraduate Library, Bothell and Tacoma libraries. Various libraries collect selectively in their discipline/language focus.
  • Rare books, manuscripts and historic photographs may be found in Special Collections.
  • Education videos are primarily in the Media Storage Collection (ask at Suzzallo Library, 1st floor circulation desk) or the Media Arcade (3rd floor Suzzallo).  Video streaming materials are available online.

Photo: Suzzallo Reading Room courtesy of Curtis Cronn

Scope

a. Chronological

The collection covers the field of education from its formalized beginnings to the present. The major emphasis is on contemporary education, but no aspect of the history or philosophy of the field is excluded.

b. Geographical

There are no geographic limitations though there is less emphasis on parts of the world that are not actively taught or researched by College of Education faculty and students.

c. Language

Primary emphasis is on English language publications. While no language is excluded, publications in languages other than English are acquired only after consideration of specific requests.


d. Format

Electronic and print monographs, serials, facsimiles, as well as microforms are included in the collection.  Audio/video formats and tests are acquired only after consideration of specific requests.

e. Exclusions

Realia, games, maps, ephemera, pictures, posters,  and anthologies of primary works already in the collection, are generally not collected.