Research Guides
Criminal court case processing stages and time frames; differences by case type, court system and other factors; critical points of delay and decision-making.
1) Criminal court case processing stages and time frames:
American Bar Association: A diagram of how a case moves through the court system including legal procedures and steps in a trial: http://www.americanbar.org/groups/public_education/resources/law_related_education_network/how_courts_work/casediagram.html
Bureau of Justice: An alternate, more elaborate diagram:
http://www.bjs.gov/content/largechart.cfm
Bureau of Justice: A diagram with times indicated:
http://www.myfloridalaw.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/steps-in-criminal-case-florida.jpg
California Courts: Clearly explains each stage in a criminal case:
http://www.courts.ca.gov/1069.htm
2) Differences by Case Type, Court System and Other Factors
State Level Criminal Court Case Types:
http://www.sdcourt.ca.gov/portal/page?_pageid=55,1643422&_dad=portal&_schema=PORTAL
Definition of Felony Classes:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Classes_of_offenses_under_United_States_federal_law
Explanation of Capital Crimes (punishable by death penalty in some states):
http://www.deathpenaltyinfo.org/crimes-punishable-death-penalty#BJS
Note that Juvenile Criminal Cases are handled differently:
http://www.ojjdp.gov/ojstatbb/offenders/faqs.asp
Juvenile Criminal Case Processing varies by state. For example, here is the California system:
http://www.lao.ca.gov/1995/050195_juv_crime/kkpart5.aspx
Juvenile Court Statistics: Data on Juvenile court such as appeals granted based on race and gender, case processing overview and resolved cases. http://www.ojjdp.gov/pubs/239114.pdf
Note that there are several different state courts. For example, in Washington:
https://www.courts.wa.gov/newsinfo/resources/?fa=newsinfo_jury.display&altMenu=Citi&folderID=jury_guide&fileID=superior
See also: Structure of State Court Organizations: http://www.bjs.gov/index.cfm?ty=dcdetail&iid=284
Overview of Federal-Level Crimes
How Federal Courts are organized:
3) Data on Criminal Case Processing Lengths
See compendium from the US Bureau of Justice: http://www.bjs.gov/index.cfm?ty=dctp&tid=2
http://www.bjs.gov/index.cfm?ty=pbdc&dcid=282&iid=1
Details of the Median lengths from Filing to Deposition of Criminal Trials:
2013: http://www.uscourts.gov/uscourts/Statistics/JudicialFactsAndFigures/2013/Table603.pdf
Archive back to 2005—change years in url, i.e.:
http://www.uscourts.gov/uscourts/Statistics/JudicialFactsAndFigures/2005/Table603.pdf
Table 603 is a summary table taken from D-6, which has district details: available from 1997-2013—change years
http://www.uscourts.gov/uscourts/Statistics/JudicialBusiness/1997/appendices/d06sep97.pdf
http://www.uscourts.gov/uscourts/Statistics/JudicialBusiness/2013/appendices/d06sep13.pdf
Similarly, Table 605 gives you the case lengths in days, but only from 2005-2012:
http://www.uscourts.gov/uscourts/Statistics/JudicialFactsAndFigures/2012/Table605.pdf
http://www.uscourts.gov/uscourts/Statistics/JudicialFactsAndFigures/2005/Table605.pdf
Table 605 is a summary of C-8 Table that has more detailed trial lengths by District (change years for 1997-2010)
http://www.uscourts.gov/uscourts/Statistics/JudicialBusiness/1997/appendices/c08sep97.pdf
http://www.uscourts.gov/uscourts/Statistics/JudicialBusiness/2010/appendices/c08sep10.pdf
Reporting seems to change in 2011—it switches to the “T2” table, which is available from 2003-2006, with an updated url from 2007-2013
http://www.uscourts.gov/uscourts/Statistics/JudicialBusiness/2003/appendices/t2.pdf
http://www.uscourts.gov/uscourts/Statistics/JudicialBusiness/2006/appendices/t2.pdf
http://www.uscourts.gov/uscourts/Statistics/JudicialBusiness/2007/appendices/T02sep07.pdf
http://www.uscourts.gov/uscourts/Statistics/JudicialBusiness/2013/appendices/T02sep13.pdf
You can get the Excel versions of the 603 and 605 tables here:
http://www.uscourts.gov/Statistics/JudicialFactsAndFigures/JudicialFactsAndFigures_Archive.aspx
Unfortunately, the Judicial Business reports do not seem to be available in Excel:
http://www.uscourts.gov/Statistics/JudicialBusiness/archive.aspx
The Sourcebook of Justice Statistics is a more convenient source of this data, due to their indexing and Excel downloads. Chapter 5 is on judicial processing: http://www.albany.edu/sourcebook/toc_5.html
Access through this UW link for past years: http://uwashington.worldcat.org.offcampus.lib.washington.edu/oclc/2441090
Felons: Pre-Trial Release: http://www.albany.edu/sourcebook/tost_5.html#5_h
Felons: Time between Arrest and Sentencing: http://www.albany.edu/sourcebook/tost_5.html#5_q
Length of Trials, and Time to Disposition of Cases: http://www.albany.edu/sourcebook/tost_5.html#5_ac
More Pre-Trial Release Data:
http://www.bjs.gov/content/pub/pdf/prmfdc0810.pdf
http://www.bjs.gov/content/pub/pdf/prfdsc.pdf
http://www.bjs.gov/content/pub/pdf/fdluc09.pdf
http://www.bjs.gov/content/pub/pdf/pdmfdc9510.pdf
http://www.arnoldfoundation.org/sites/default/files/pdf/LJAF-Pretrial-CJ-Research-brief_FNL.pdf
http://www.arnoldfoundation.org/sites/default/files/pdf/LJAF_Report_hidden-costs_FNL.pdf
Number of Criminal Cases (Caseload):
2014: http://www.uscourts.gov/Statistics/StatisticalTablesForTheFederalJudiciary/june-2014.aspx
Archive back to 2001: http://www.uscourts.gov/Statistics/StatisticalTablesForTheFederalJudiciary/StatisticalTables_Archive.aspx
Court Statistics Project—Analysis and reports of caseloads:
http://www.courtstatistics.org/~/media/Microsites/Files/CSP/NCSC_EWSC_WEB_NOV_25_14.ashx
Criminal case details shown here: http://www.courtstatistics.org/Criminal.aspx
Bureau of Justice Statistics: Dynamic tool that presents tables and trends regarding law enforcement investigations, cases in prosecution / court and incarceration: http://www.bjs.gov/fjsrc/var.cfm?t=new
Time study in capital case appeals in 14 states:
https://www.ncjrs.gov/pdffiles1/nij/grants/217555.pdf
4) Reasons for Delays in Criminal Case Processing
Various reasons:
https://www.ncjrs.gov/pdffiles1/Digitization/141642NCJRS.pdf
https://www.ncjrs.gov/pdffiles1/Digitization/80390NCJRS.pdf
https://www.ncjrs.gov/pdffiles1/nij/grants/192517.pdf
https://www.ncjrs.gov/pdffiles1/Digitization/78838NCJRS.pdf
https://www.ncjrs.gov/pdffiles1/Digitization/75965NCJRS.pdf
http://ncsc.contentdm.oclc.org/cdm/ref/collection/ctadmin/id/2088
http://www.fjc.gov/public/pdf.nsf/lookup/csmgctmg.pdf/$file/csmgctmg.pdf
The National Center for State Courts—has library of criminal case studies:
http://cdm16501.contentdm.oclc.org/cdm/search/collection/criminal
For example, this report notes seasonality issues (felony clearing rates decline in Summer):
http://cdm16501.contentdm.oclc.org/cdm/ref/collection/ctadmin/id/665
This report advocates the use of “No Refusal Blood Warrants” to combat DWI court processing:
http://cdm16501.contentdm.oclc.org/cdm/singleitem/collection/criminal/id/191/rec/31
Causes in youth justice delays:
https://www.ncjrs.gov/pdffiles1/nij/grants/228493.pdf
http://yvj.sagepub.com.offcampus.lib.washington.edu/content/6/2/195
Causes of length during trials:
https://www.ncjrs.gov/pdffiles1/Digitization/115768NCJRS.pdf
https://www.ncjrs.gov/pdffiles1/Digitization/52162NCJRS.pdf
http://www.sciencedirect.com.offcampus.lib.washington.edu/science/article/pii/0047235286900231
Due to prosecutor’s advantage/desires:
Reduced judiciary funding:
http://www.ncsc.org/Information-and-Resources/Budget-Resource-Center/Budget_Funding.aspx
Note: possible cost-saving measures: http://www.ncsc.org/Information-and-Resources/Budget-Resource-Center/Calculators.aspx
Justice Expenditures and Employment, FY 1982-2007 - Statistical Tables: http://www.bjs.gov/content/pub/pdf/jee8207st.pdf
See also: http://www.bjs.gov/index.cfm?ty=tp&tid=16
US Department of Justice—State government indigent defense expenditures from 2008–2012; lack of lawyers may be one cause for delays: http://www.bjs.gov/content/pub/pdf/sgide0812.pdf
See also: http://www.bjs.gov/index.cfm?ty=dcdetail&iid=285
Census Section on Law Enforcement, Court, and Prisons—presents data on crimes committed, victims of crimes, arrests, and data related to criminal violations and the criminal justice system: https://www.census.gov/prod/2011pubs/12statab/law.pdf
The “State and Local Government Expenditures Per Capita by Criminal Justice Function and State” could be one way to analyze expenditures on the justice system over time.
Various state information on their specific budgetary work:
Florida State Court budget issues: http://www.flcourts.org/administration-funding/court-funding-budget/
California State Court budget issues: http://www.calbarjournal.com/November2014/TopHeadlines/TH1.aspx
See also California statewide caseload trends from 2001–2011:
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/2012-Court-Statistics-Report.pdf
California Court: three-year budget plan for a fully functioning judicial branch (also covers fund reductions).
http://www.courts.ca.gov/partners/documents/Blueprint_Final.pdf
NY Courts: 2007 annual report of the City of New York Criminal Court including summary of court operations, days worked, pending cases and duration of time from arrest to arraignment.
https://www.nycourts.gov/courts/nyc/criminal/NYCCC%20Annual%20Report%20Final%20072508.pdf
Ohio Courts Statistical Summary: Annual report of caseload statistics reflecting the work of Ohio courts.
https://www.supremecourt.ohio.gov/Publications/annrep/09OCS/summary/Trend.pdf
Ohio Criminal Justice Statistics: Snapshot of crime and justice trends from all components of the criminal justice system in Ohio (includes budget information). http://www.publicsafety.ohio.gov/links/ocjs_Statistics.pdf
Washington Supreme Court Data: Supreme Court Annual Caseload report covering appeals, decisions made, etc.
http://www.courts.wa.gov/caseload/content/archive/superior/Annual/2012.pdf#search=annual
Other:
Search in the UW Libraries for Subject: “Court congestion and delay United States”
2010 Congressional Hearing on Trial Delays:
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CHRG-111shrg61572/pdf/CHRG-111shrg61572.pdf
NY Times article on Bronx judicial system issues:
http://www.nytimes.com/2013/04/14/nyregion/justice-denied-bronx-court-system-mired-in-delays.html
New Yorker article on Bronx court delays:
http://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2014/10/06/law-3
Created Equal: Covers racial disparities in the US Criminal Justice System.
http://www.nccdglobal.org/sites/default/files/publication_pdf/created-equal.pdf
This section presents data on crimes committed, victims of crimes, arrests, and data related to criminal violations and the criminal justice system: http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/cats/law_enforcement_courts_prisons.html
