Skip to Main Content
All Libraries are open with limited hours. Masks required, no eating allowed. Online resources and support are available 24/7 UW Libraries Operations Updates
Selected Digital Collections @ UW Libraries
Baker residence exterior, Seattle, 1955. Dearborn Massar Photograph Collection. PH Coll 251. University of Washington Libraries, Special Collections Division.
James Patrick Lee Photographs ca.1904-1940
James Patrick Lee worked for the Seattle Engineering Department from 1913 until 1957. He worked for their blue-print and photographic division which documented the progress of major city construction jobs. His work recorded the development that marked the ever changing landscape of Seattle from the years 1904-1940. This collection contains images selected from a collection of 727 photographs that illustrate the architectural and engineering history of Seattle.
Architecture of the Pacific Northwest Database
This database contains selected architectural drawings from the Pacific Northwest Architecture Collection representing regionally significant architects and designers spanning the period from the 1880s into the 1980s. This collection showcases design and working drawings of important examples of both historic and more contemporary residential, commercial, and public buildings in the Puget Sound region.
The Seattle Photograph Collection is an ongoing collection documenting the neighborhoods of Seattle. It features images from many neighborhoods such as Fremont, Ballard, West Seattle and the Capitol Hill District. Included are images of recreation and entertainment, the Century 21 Exhibition, businesses, stores and restaurants, residential street scenes, and transportation.
Finding Tools for UW Holdings
Select photograph and architectural drawing collections are described in these online guides. Finding aids provide detailed descriptions of a collection, including background information about a collection and its context, identification of and description about the content of photographs or groups of photographs, and restriction information. Please be sure to limit results to the University of Washington Libraries.
Architectural Drawings Database
Information about a large portion of the architectural drawings found in Special Collections.
City Directories Database
Database arranged alphabetically by city provides date ranges and call numbers for directories in Special Collections. Some directories include a useful reverse lookup by address.
Phone Book Database
Searchable database of phone books in Special Collections.
UW Digital Collections
Includes numerous photographs from UW Libraries collections as well as collaborators such as the Museum of History and Industry (MOHAI).
Seattle Neighborhood History Project
Browsable digital collection site including photographs, maps, and other related archival materials from the Seattle Public Library's collections. Resources are organized by neighborhood.
Seattle Municipal Archives Photograph Database
Searchable database of the Municipal Archive's digitized selection of city photographs.
Dearborn-Massar Photographs 1943-1963
The Phyllis and Robert Massar Photograph Collection of Pacific Northwest Architecture is a photographic archive created when they were professional architectural photographers in the Pacific Northwest during the period 1943-1963. During the time when they were active in photographing the contemporary architecture of the PNW, Robert Massar and Phyllis Dearborn Massar were professionally known as Dearborn-Massar.