Criminal Justice: New Books
A selection of recently acquired social work books. Updated spring 2024.
Recently added titles
A Science of Otherness? Rereading the history of western and US criminological thought by
This book presents a critical history of Western criminological thought from the Enlightenment to the development of modern criminological theories, mainly in the United States, over the last hundred years. It explores a variety of approaches including the classical school, the various currents of positivist criminology, and the managerial movement.Mehozay contends that Western criminological thought can be seen as an ideological project based on 'otherness', justifying social hierarchies and sustaining the control of some people over others. He demonstrates how ideologies of otherness, such as the non-rational other, the pathological other and more, validate projects of control, exclusion, modernization, and care.
ISBN: 1529209129Publication Date: 2023-12-05
Transgender People and Criminal Justice by
This cutting-edge book examines the unique issues that transgender identities face globally in the criminal processing system through empirical and theoretical contributions. The contributing authors range from established transgender scholars, transgender equality rights activists, transgender policy influencers, researchers from non-profit groups, and former criminal justice practitioners. The book covers many under-developed issues for transgender identities like criminalization, victimization, court experiences, law enforcement and the policing of gender, the school to prison pipeline, and incarceration. It provides a significant advancement in queer criminology and trans studies globally.
ISBN: 9783031298929Publication Date: 2023-06-03
Observing Justice : digital transparency, openness and accountability in criminal courts by
This book examines how major but often under-scrutinised legal, social, and technological developments have affected the transparency and accountability of the criminal justice process.Drawing on empirical and evaluative studies, as well as their own research experiences, the authors explore key legal policy issues such as equality of access, remote and virtual courts, justice system data management, and the roles of public and media observers.Highlighting the implications of recent changes for access to justice, offender rehabilitation, and public access to information, the book proposes a framework for open justice which prioritises public legal education and justice system accountability.
ISBN: 9781529228670Publication Date: 2024-01-09
Gendered Perspectives of Restorative Justice, Violence and Resilience by
Research on Restorative Justice to date tends to be gender blind. Gendered Perspectives of Restorative Justice, Violence and Resilience: An International Framework addresses this lack of gender awareness by sharing the personal journeys and experiences of women from across the Global South. Combining narratives of gendered Restorative Justice, gender-based violence, women's resilience, activism and healing along with empirical and theoretical analyses, contributors raise awareness and educate readers about the benefits of framing Restorative Justice as an intervention for understanding the resilience of women facing violence, political challenges and sexual assault. Within a truly international framework, chapters highlight significant scholarship from researchers with diverse backgrounds, opening a sociological dialogue onto this critical issue. From discussion of criminal cases of sexual violence in India, to victims of Intimate Partner Violence in Singapore, to the experiences of sex workers in South Africa, Gendered Perspectives of Restorative Justice, Violence and Resilience: An International Framework shines crucial visibility on a diverse, gendered lens of intervention, empowerment and understanding of violence and resilience. Providing an in-depth, international perspective of women's resilience, and focusing on women as active participants in the process of Restorative Justice, Gendered Perspectives of Restorative Justice, Violence and Resilience: An International Framework is must-have reading for academics, practitioners and policymakers, as well as anyone seeking to augment their allyship.
ISBN: 9781803823843Publication Date: 2023-08-22
Proud to Punish : The global landscapes of rough justice by
A magisterial comparative study, Proud to Punish recenters our understanding of modern punishment through a sweeping analysis of the global phenomenon of "rough justice": the use of force to settle accounts and enforce legal and moral norms outside the formal framework of the law. While taking many forms, including vigilantism, lynch mobs, people's courts, and death squads, all seekers of rough justice thrive on the deliberate blurring of lines between law enforcers and troublemakers. Digital networks have provided a profitable arena for vigilantes, who use social media to build a following and publicize their work, as they debase the bodies of the accused for purposes of edification and entertainment. It is this unabashed pride to punish, and the new punitive celebrations that actualize, publicize, and commercialize it, that this book brings into focus. Recounted in lively prose, Proud to Punish is both a global map of rough justice today and an insight into the deeper nature of punishment as a social and political phenomenon.
ISBN: 9781503636569Publication Date: 2024-01-09
The Future of Evidence-Based Policing by
Evidence-based policing (EBP) has become a key perspective for practitioners and researchers concerned with the future of policing. This volume provides both a review of where evidence-based policing stands today and a consideration of emerging trends and ideas likely to be important in the future. It includes comparative and international contributions, as well as researcher and practitioner perspectives. While emphasizing traditional evidence-based methods and approaches, the book also identifies barriers to the advancement of evidence-based policing and expands the vision of evidence-based policing by critically examining ethical and moral concerns and questions. The book's main focus is not on what has to happen in police agencies to advance EBP, but rather on an issue that has received far less attention - the science that is necessary to produce for EBP to be successfully integrated into policing.
ISBN: 9781108794558Publication Date: 2023-06-15
Challenging Confinement : Mass incarceration and the fight for equality in women's prisons by
Examines how the feminist movements in the late twentieth century ignited prison protests, activism, and reform in women's prisons While the late twentieth century brought about greater rights for women, it also saw a rapid increase in the number of female prisoners. Before their confinement, many incarcerated women had gained access to work and higher education. But once behind bars, they found the only programs available for them perpetuated misogynistic norms. Challenging Confinement is about how incarcerated women incorporated strategies from feminist movements into their activism behind bars. Facing long sentences, overcrowded prisons, and a lack of rehabilitation programs, incarcerated women protested, organized, and filed lawsuits to advocate for gender and racial equality in prison. Drawing on prison grievance reports, oral histories, state archives, and private collections, Bonnie L. Ernst tells the story of how women's movements, beginning in the 1920s and ending in the era of mass incarceration, infused prison activism in Michigan with new energy. Female prisoners and attorneys successfully persuaded the federal court to force state prisons to offer more programming and access to legal services. Mass incarceration swallowed up many of those efforts, but this history demonstrates how core principles of women's movements encouraged incarcerated women to form coalitions and challenge their jailers. By bringing together histories of race, gender, and punishment, Challenging Confinement reveals how incarcerated women worked together to resist, in an era of mass imprisonment.
ISBN: 9781479825561Publication Date: 2023-10-31
ROLE OF THE MEDIA IN CRIMINAL JUSTICE POLICY : prisons, populism and the press. by ISBN: 1032115254Publication Date: 2022
Comparative Criminal Justice by
As the world becomes increasingly globalized, a shared understanding and appreciation of the various aspects and approaches of criminal justice becomes imperative. Examining nineteen countries, purposefully selected to ensure not only broad geographic distribution but also cultural and religious diversity, political differentiation, and historical experiences, this book is a go to reference for comparative criminal justice studies, human rights studies, victimology, gender studies, anthropology, and political science. Divided into five parts, this book includes chapters on Sub-Saharan Africa, East Asia and the Pacific, Europe and Eurasia, the Middle East, and the western hemisphere. Although each chapter represents a different country, all chapters have similar thematic sections providing summaries of the wide array of policing practices, exploring the different types of criminal procedure used across the world, and recognizing the many methods that different societies use to sanction criminal behavior among their citizens.
ISBN: 9781538173145Publication Date: 2023-05-21
Comparing Black Deaths in Custody, Police Brutality, and Social Justice Solutions by
In today's modern era, it has never been more crucial to ensure the safety of vulnerable populations, in particular Black individuals, in custody. Further study is required to implement best practices and strategies that improve protection. Comparing Black Deaths in Custody, Police Brutality, and Social Justice Solutions describes the actions that lead to the death of Black people while they are in the process of being detained by a law enforcement agent or are already detained. This publication focuses on three core countries, America, Australia, and South Africa, where Black deaths in custody appear to occur at higher rates. Covering key topics such as racism, prejudice, and slavery, this reference work is ideal for industry professionals, law enforcement officers, government officials, policymakers, researchers, scholars, academicians, practitioners, instructors, and students.
ISBN: 1799893065Publication Date: 2023-05-16
Exploring the Criminal Decision Process : Rational choice, irrational behaviour? by
The book provides a thorough investigation and overview of the decision making process that individuals may (or may not) go through when proceeding to commit a crime. Drawing on interviews with real offenders and conducted in a novel way, this book includes quotes throughout which make their decision making and emotional processes relatable to the reader. It examines a range of offences from petty theft to murder and includes both male and female offenders. Based on various iterations of the rational choice theories of crime, this book examines the relevance of these theories in real offending situations and the influence of emotion and context on these decisions. Finally, it explores how understanding the decision making process of committing offences can inform criminal justice practice.
ISBN: 3031462300Publication Date: 2023-11-17
Exploring Contemporary Police Challenges by
* Offers a comprehensive discussion of how different agencies handle the challenges faced by police today. * Gives rare voice to the experiences, views, and perspectives of those tasked with doing policing across a variety of cultures. * Offers a global perspective not available in most works on policing.
ISBN: 9780367683344Publication Date: 2022-12-30
Prison Officers: International Perspectives on Prison Work by
This edited collection brings together academics, lawyers, civil servants, and researchers working in the human rights NGO sector, to explore the work and role of prison officers around the world. Each chapter offers a distinctive perspective on the work of prison officers within localised socio-economic and criminal justice contexts, to provide a unique overview and insight into the realities and complexities of the role through accessible scholarly interpretations of their work. The aim of the book is to advance knowledge and understanding of the crucial role that prison officers occupy within carceral systems. The collection has widespread applicability with relevance beyond academia into criminal justice practice and policy internationally. Chapter 3 is available open access under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License via link.springer.com.
ISBN: 9783031410604Publication Date: 2023-12-13
Gendering Green Criminology by
This first volume in green criminology devoted to gender investigates gendered patterns to offending, victimisation and environmental harms. It includes feminist and intersectional analysis, and original case studies from the Global North and Global South. The book also examines actions that have been taken in response to gendered crimes and harms, together with insights on the gendered nature of resistance.The collection advances debate on green crimes, environmental harm and climate change, and will inspire students and researchers to foreground gender in debates about reducing and transforming the challenges affecting our planet's future.
ISBN: 9781529229615Publication Date: 2023-11-07
Brain and Crime by
Brain and Crime, Volume 197 reviews the relation between brain function and aggressive and rule-breaking (criminal) behavior. The book's focus is on the violation of social rules and not on violation of regulations that are different in different counties. It discusses the development of this behavior from childhood into adulthood, along with the mechanisms associated with the risk for aggression and rule-breaking behavior. In addition, it explores from a behavioral level concepts like psychopathology, syndrome and concepts from law, such as crime, defendant and offender. Finally, sections explore brain function, including emotion, cognitive processes, and decision-making. From the perspective of brain structure, the book covers brain networks and brain disorders. In genetics, the book includes the influence of genes and the mechanisms of epigenetics. All chapters are intended to provide information for use in the diagnosis and treatment of disorders, and in assessment and prevention.
ISBN: 9780128213759Publication Date: 2023-09-27
Perception of Female Offenders by
This new edition is a nuanced exploration of female involvement in various crimes--from delinquency, domestic violence, sexual assault and homicide--that resonates with the pulse of contemporary society. In an age where many events are tweeted and debated online, this book delves into the intricate ways social media portrays female offenders and how this can distort public perceptions and effect legal outcomes. Volume two includes recent research and theory examining how female perpetration is intricately related to gender roles that persist within the criminal justice system and often lead to gender disparities in treatment, criminal justice response, and sentencing and calls into question long-held beliefs and systems that might not be as impartial as they appear. The compelling nature of this volume addresses the complex relationship between trauma and offending and examines crucial subjects like partner violence homicide and the unique challenges faced by trans-women within the criminal justice system, and examines the myths associated with female offending and how that bleeds into criminal justice response. It addresses theories that provide insight into female offending and sentencing and offers ways to generate gender inclusiveness. This volume invites researchers, practitioners, and advocates for justice to join a vital conversation and develop a more informed and equitable criminal justice response.
ISBN: 9783031456848Publication Date: 2023-11-28
Systematic Social Observation of the Police in 21st Century by
This book on systematic social observation (SSO) methodology provides detailed, step-by-step guidance for researchers on using the method. It identifies varieties of approaches and uses of SSO, the different steps used when performing SSO, and the benefits and challenges associated with using SSO. The chapters discuss different aspects related to SSO, such as: Access to the field or footage Ethics, including informed consent with data collection Use of body-worn camera footage for SSO It is ideal for criminology and police researchers looking for assistance outlining their research frame.
ISBN: 9783031314810Publication Date: 2023-05-26
Not Giving up on People: A feminist case for prison abolition by
Feminist philosophers Barrett Emerick and Audrey Yap bring theoretical arguments about personhood and moral repair into conversation with the work of activists and the experiences of incarcerated people to make the case that prisons ought to be abolished. They argue that contemporary carceral systems in the United States and Canada fail to treat people as genuine moral agents in ways that also fail victims and their larger communities. Such carceral systems are a form of what Emerick and Yap call "institutionalized moral abandonment". Instead, they argue that we should create communities of moral solidarity which open up space for wrongdoers to make up for their wrongs. As part of this argument, the book directly addresses one of the paradigm cases of wrongdoing often used to justify carceral systems: rape. Carceral systems that treat perpetrators of sexual violence as irredeemable monsters both obscure the reality of sexual violence and are harmful to everyone involved. As an alternative to carceral systems, Emerick and Yap argue for an orientation towards justice that is grounded in moral repair. This incorporates elements of restorative justice, mutual aid, and harm reduction. Instead of advocating for one specific and universal approach, the authors argue for multigenerational collective action that aims to build resilient communities that support the wellbeing of everyone.
ISBN: 9781538176498Publication Date: 2023-12-15
Narratives on Prison Governmentality: no longer the prison of the past by
Narratives on Prison Governmentality explores prison governmentality through the analysis of letters of prisoners. The collection of testimonies represents the opportunities and difficulties of resisting in a place of power, which, in recent years, has become more sophisticated and effective. In recent years there has been a progressive individualisation of the prison population and a continuous erosion of solidarity. The condition of prisoners is influenced by renewed governmental logic that has become more effective for management and even reproduced by the prisoners themselves. Italian prison governmentality has been presented in its softest and hardest discursive forms and material regimes as part of a whole differentiated repertoire. Through the narratives of prison letters, the book shows the sophistication of these carceral logics from the perspective of prisoners engaged in the struggle. Engaging theories of carceral geography and critical criminology, the book focuses on space and time as the dimensions from which to observe power relations and governmentality. Narratives on Prison Governmentality will be of great interest to students and scholars of Penology, Narrative Criminology, Carceral Geography, and Critical Criminology.
ISBN: 9781032484495Publication Date: 2023-09-01
Police deception and dishonesty : the logic of lying by Call Number: Online accessISBN: 9780197672181Publication Date: 2024
Bruce Arrigo by
This book examines various aspects of the work of Bruce Arrigo related to therapeutic jurisprudence, criminal justice ethics, and the place of critical theory in criminology and related fields. Arrigo's work spans over thirty years and during that time has been an important voice in the practical and theoretical application of post-modern and critical theoretical approaches to mental illness, the practice of forensic psychology, and a wide variety of critical reflection concerning incarceration, rehabilitation, and the ethical practice within the criminal justice system. Each individual contributor offers their own perspective on his work and its specific influence on the topic under discussion. This book speaks to academics focused on the application of critical criminological theory within a variety of disciplinary contexts. These include forensic psychology, psychological jurisprudence, criminal justice ethics, and philosophically based critiques of the law and mental health and criminal justice activism.
ISBN: 9783031282980Publication Date: 2023-09-21
The Journey from Prison to Community by
The Journey from Prison to Community: Developing Identity, Meaning and Belonging with Men in the UK provides a practical guide for practitioners working with men to successfully make the transition between prison and the community. This transition presents significant challenges, especially for those who have served many years in prison; for those who have experienced multiple cycles of release/recall; for those whose personality traits make it harder for them to build relationships and cope with strong emotions; and for those whose lives have been characterised by trauma, chaos, crime and institutionalisation. Drawing on the authors' clinical expertise and the lived experiences of real service-users, alongside the latest research in the field, the book identifies key issues in transition and explores the impact of these issues. Crucially, it provides guidance, tools and support to professionals working with men in the UK to build a crime-free, socially integrated and meaningful life after incarceration, featuring real-life stories of those who have made the transition. This is an essential read for professionals working in a range of settings across prison and community environments, while the wide variety of professional experience represented in the book broadens its appeal to forensic and clinical psychologists, occupational therapists, probation officers, prison staff and those working in the third sector. It is also valuable resource for qualified professionals, those in training, support roles, and managers involved in planning strategy and service delivery.
ISBN: 9781032311159Publication Date: 2023-08-31
New books for teaching and research
Fieldwork experiences in criminology and security studies : methods, ethics, and emotions by ISBN: 9783031415746Publication Date: 2023
Public criminology : reimagining public education and research practice by Call Number: Online accessISBN: 9783031421679Publication Date: 2023
Understanding Crime and Place : a methods handbook by
Place has become both a major field of criminological study as well as an important area for policy development. Capturing state of the art crime and place research methods and analysis, Understanding Crime and Place is a comprehensive Handbook focused on the specific skills researchers need. The editors and contributors are scholars who have been fundamental in introducing or developing a particular method for crime and place research. Understanding Crime and Place is organized around the scientific process, introducing major crime and place theories and concepts, discussions of data and data collection, core spatial data concepts, as well as statistical and computational techniques for analyzing spatial data and place-based evaluation. The lessons in the book are supplemented by additional instructions, examples, problems, and datasets available for download. Conducting place-based research is an emerging field that requires a wide range of cutting-edge methods and analysis techniques that are only beginning to be widely taught in criminology. Understanding Crime and Place bridges that gap, formalizes the discipline, and promotes an even greater use of place-based research. Contributors: Martin A. Andresen, Matthew P J Ashby, Eric Beauregard, Wim Bernasco, Daniel Birks, Hervé Borrion, Kate Bowers, Anthony A. Braga, Tom Brenneman, David Buil-Gil, Meagan Cahill, Stefano Caneppele, Julien Chopin, Jeffrey E. Clutter, Toby Davies, Hashem Dehghanniri, Jillian Shafer Desmond, Beidi Dong, John E. Eck, Miriam Esteve, Timothy C. Hart, Georgia Hassall, David N. Hatten, Julie Hibdon, James Hunter, Shane D. Johnson, Samuel Langton, YongJei Lee, Ned Levine, Brian Lockwood, Dominique Lord, Nick Malleson, Dennis Mares, David Mazeika, Lorraine Mazerolle, Asier Moneva, Andrew Newton, Bradley J. Oâe(tm)Guinn, Ajima Olaghere, Graham C. Ousey, Ken Pease, Eric L. Piza, Jerry Ratcliffe, Caterina G. Roman, Stijn Ruiter, Reka Solymosi, Evan T. Sorg, Wouter Steenbeek, Hannah Steinman, Ralph B. Taylor, Marie Skubak Tillyer, Lisa Tompson, Brandon Turchan, David Weisburd, Brandon C. Welsh, Clair White, Douglas J. Wiebe, Pamela Wilcox, David B. Wilson, Alese Wooditch, Kathryn Wuschke, Sue-Ming Yang, and the editors.
ISBN: 9781439920671Publication Date: 2023-03-24
New books for professional practice
Setting relations right in restorative practice : broadening mindsets and skill sets by ISBN: 9781032123271Publication Date: 2024
The shadow of childhood harm behind prison walls : theory, evidence, and treatment by Call Number: Online accessISBN: 9780197653166Publication Date: 2023
Careers in Criminal Justice and Criminology by
This book provides a thorough and directed focus on successfully identifying, obtaining, and succeeding in a career in criminal justice or criminology. With empirically based, research-focused information on how students can prepare for and ultimately join the criminal justice or criminology workforce, it covers the positions available in criminal justice and criminology, how to get a job in the field, and what can be expected upon obtaining employment. The book contextualizes career opportunities within criminal justice and criminology, providing information about the nature of the work and how various positions fit within the criminal justice system as a whole. Part 1 provides an overview of the book, an examination of the history of careers, and coverage of job opportunities and the nature of working in criminal justice and criminology. Part 2 addresses preparation for entering the field, including coverage of internships and overall professional development. Part 3 of the book addresses careers in the primary components of the criminal justice system, juvenile justice, and other areas. An epilogue addresses promotion issues, and a series of helpful appendices provide practical tools for working toward a career in criminal justice or criminology. This book is suitable for any reader considering employment in criminal justice or criminology, and ideal for instructors who supervise and guide students as they gain practical experience and move toward careers.
ISBN: 9781032412931Publication Date: 2023-04-07
Everyday Ethics for the Criminal Justice Professional by
Everyday Ethics for the Criminal Justice Professional focuses on getting students to think about ethics in the day-to-day context. By placing an emphasis on practical applications as opposed to theoretical ideologies the book is more user-friendly to the student of the 21st century. Unlike other texts, it includes forensics and private security in the list of criminal justice professions, their impact on the field and what it means to "do business" in criminal justice. The text also utilizes practical scenarios in the career fields of policing, institutional corrections, community corrections, prosecutors and judges, private security, criminal justice supervision and forensics to allow for students to apply theoretical concepts to real life criminal justice situations. The text prepares students to think and process through ethics in both the concrete and abstract. The third edition updates material throughout.
ISBN: 9781531021221Publication Date: 2023-06-01
Violence in Families: Integrating Research into Practice by
This book examines the nature, prevention, and treatment of violence within families. It reviews the definition of contemporary families, emphasizing various structures, including nuclear families, reconstituted families, gay and lesbian families, and recent immigrant families. In addition, the volume describes the nature of and risk factors for family violence from the perspectives of both victims (e.g., infants, children, seniors) and perpetrators (e.g., adolescent family members, women). It identifies the implications and explores strategies for prevention, treatment, and services. In addition, the volume directly addresses practice and evidence-based interventions for individual perpetrators, family interventions, interventions for victims and systemwide interventions (e.g., those involving the courts, police, and national policy). Chapters review the best available quality evidence from randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews, meta-analyses, research syntheses, and evidence-based recommendations from expert panels and government agencies. Case studies illustrate the application of evidence-based practice to violence within the family to demonstrate the effectiveness of the intervention. Topics featured in this book include: Definition and conceptualization of family. Definition and measurement of as well as risk factors for family violence. Family violence in various traditional and nontraditional families. Prevention strategies as well as Individual and family treatments for perpetrators and victims of family violence. Social policy and legal interventions for family violence. Violence in Families is a must-have resource for researchers, professors, and graduate students as well as clinicians, therapists, and other professionals in developmental psychology, family studies, forensic psychology, criminology/criminal justice, public health, psychotherapy/counseling, psychiatry, social work, educational policy and politics, health psychology, nursing, and behavioral therapy/rehabilitation.
ISBN: 9783031315480Publication Date: 2023-07-15
