Criminal Justice: Law and Policy

Excellent overviews of domestic social and public policy issues.

State-funded public policy think tank and recommendations body.

A resource for facts and reports relating to many different aspects of incarceration issues.

NCSL tracks a wide range of issues of particular interest to legislators and legislative staff including Corrections and Sentencing, DNA, Crime Records & Information, Juvenile Justice, Violence and Victimization, and Federal Issues. Includes Articles/Briefs/ Newsletters, Bill Summaries, Letters/Testimony, Meetings and Reports.

Access case documents including docket, arguments, opinions, and merit briefs.

Access federal and state laws and cases.

Includes cases notable for their historical significance or current importance.

Free case briefs written by lawyers and professors.

Before presenting their oral arguments, counsel for both sides will submit a legal brief summarizing the facts of the case as well as the legal reasoning behind their arguments. Cases set for hearing during the current Supreme Court term, for which FindLaw has online versions of briefs, are included.

Free case law, codes, regulations and legal information

Multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work. It aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955.

Search Bill Text and Bill Summaries. The full text of legislation can also be searched across multiple Congresses.

The Revised Code of Washington is a compilation and codification of all the permanent laws currently in force in the state of Washington. It is comprised of 91 titles arranged by topic. The online version of the RCW is updated twice a year (once in the early fall following the legislative session and again at the end of the year if any ballot measures that change the law is passed at the general election).

Regulations of executive branch agencies are issued by authority of statutes. Like legislation and the Constitution, regulations are a source of primary law in Washington State. The WAC codifies the regulations and arranges them by subject or agency. The online version of the WAC is updated twice a month.

Includes Washington State supreme and appellate court decisions and city and county municipal codes.

The Code Reviser codifies, revises, corrects and publishes the state laws and regulations. From here you can link to the statutes, the Revised Code of Washington (RCW); and regulations, the Washington Administrative Code, (WAC).

Includes court rules, links to state cases, and court forms.

Provides an introduction to the Washington state court system.

Pierce County Law Library's guide to find laws and codes, judicial, and administrative opinions.

Access bills, digests, history, and reports. To view prior years back to 2003, click on the tab that contains the year for the bill. For Historical bill information from 1991 to 2002, click on the link for Detailed Legislative Reports. To browse current bills, click on Bills by Topic to browse. From the Bills by Topic page, click on the circle next to By Subject. Browse the list, click on desired subject and Continue.

News, opinions on questions of law, and legal information on topics including consumer protection, community safety, and government accountability.