Asian & Pacific Islander History: Get Started
Recommended Reference Collections
If you're looking for some alternatives to Wikipedia, try searching for information in these collections of reference books. You'll be able to check facts and learn context for any number of topics.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text dictionaries, encyclopedias, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press. - Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text encyclopedias in all subject areas
Western Wars in Asia
The Oxford Companion to the Second World WarCall Number: UW Tacoma Library Stacks D740 .O94 1995bCovers battles, concepts, themes, technologies, as well as leaders that proved pivotal to the war's beginnings, onset, course, and aftermath.
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War : a political, social, and military history Available online
An encyclopedia covering people, places, and events that played a significant role in the war's onset, course, and aftermath.
Encyclopedia of the Korean War Available online
Coverage of strategies, weapon systems, and clashes that marked the course of events on the battlefield during the Korean War.
China
China today : an encyclopedia of life in the People's RepublicAvailable online
Contains entries covering numerous topics and themes on various aspects of life, politics, business, religion, and culture in communist China.
Encyclopedia of ChinaCall Number: UW Tacoma Library Reference DS705 .P47 2000Provides an introduction to major cultural elements in China, including religion, a well as key historical events.
Modern China: an encyclopedia of history, culture, and nationalismAvailable online
Offers a quick overview of topics in Chinese history from the mid-19th century to the modern age, covering such topics as the arts, business, literature, education, journalism, politics, and economic life.
India
Encyclopedia of IndiaAvailable online
A four-volume survey of the history, cultures, geography and religions of India from ancient times to the present day.
Japan
Modern Japan: an encyclopedia of history, culture, and nationalismCall Number: UW Tacoma Library Reference DS805 .M63 1998Contains alphabetically-arranged entries about the people, events, and theories that have affected the history of Japan since the 1850s.
