Asian & Pacific Islander History: Primary Sources: East Asia

A collection of over seventy National Intelligence Estimates, covering the the Chinese civil war to the Cultural Revolution (1948-1976).

A collection of photographs and documents covering the Chinese Cultural Revolution period.

Mass education materials published in Hong Kong and in Mainland China, particularly Shanghai, in the years 1947-1954.

Historical photographs of the Sino-Japanese Conflict (1937-1945), Buddhist practices and temples, and other images of daily life.

Over 5,000 photos of China, taken by Hedda Morrison and hosted by Harvard-Yenching Library.

Digitized issues of a women's magazine, published in Shanghai from 1931 to 1937.

Approximately 5000 photographs, primarily of China, 1917-1932.

A research and resource platform on the history of Shanghai from the mid-nineteenth century to present, incorporating essays, documents, photographs, and maps

Opinions of American citizens recorded in the days and months following the bombing of Pearl Harbor.

A collection of documents focusing on The Decision to Drop the Atomic Bomb, covering the years 1945-1964.

A collection of photographs of Japan in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

Manuscript materials and photographs relating to the Japanese War Crimes Trial following WWII.

Japan's national archive that collects important cultural and governmental documents. Interface in both Japanese and English.

Digital archive of full-text Japanese newspapers from 1912 to 1926. Interface in both Japanese and English.

One of the oldest English-language newspapers in South Korea.

National Library of Korea's digital collections. Interface in both Korean and English.

Korean language newspaper archive by the Korea National Library. Available in Korean.

Declassified documents regarding U.S. policy with North and South Korea from 1969 to 2000.