THIST 490 - Medieval Technology - Kucher: Starting Points
General Encyclopedias
If you're looking for some alternatives to Wikipedia, try searching for information in these collections of reference books. You'll be able to check facts and learn context for any number of topics.
- Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A collection of primary documents, reference works, monographs, images, maps, illustrations, and time lines depicting essential activities of daily life across the globe and throughout history. - Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text encyclopedias on many subjects. - Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and subject reference works.
- The Oxford English Dictionary (OED)Online version of the 23 volume dictionary showing the first known usage of a word in English. Browse the dictionary, search by subject, usage, region or origin or look at timelines and historical Thesauri.
Specialized Encyclopedias
Medieval Science and TechnologyUW Tacoma Library Reference
Q124.97 .W45 2004
Medieval Science, Technology, and MedicineUW Tacoma Library Reference
Q124.97 .M43 2005
Medieval Italy: an EncyclopediaUW Tacoma Library Reference
DG443 .M43 2004 v. 1-2
Online Resources
- Medieval Technology and American HistoryMedieval Technology and American History is a project focusing on the use of medieval technologies in early American settlements. Includes introductory and in-depth articles, timelines, photos & videos and a number of other resources.
- Decameron WebThe website includes over 300 documents, dozens of images, and information on the following topics: Brigata, the Plague, Literature, History, Society, Religion, the Arts, Maps, and bibliographies.
- Aquae Urbis Romae: the Waters of the City of RomeThis website offers an interactive cartographic history of the relationships between hydrological and hydraulic systems and their impact on the urban development of Rome, Italy.
- Feminae Medieval Women and Gender IndexIndexes journal articles, book reviews, and essays about women, sexuality and gender in Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, from 450 C.E. to
- Medieval CookeryThis website includes recipes, menus, and a list of recommended (secondary source) books on medieval cooking.
- The Medieval and Renaissance Food: Sources, Recipes & ArticlesThis website, created by the Society for Creative Anachronism (SCA), includes links to bibliographies and primary source material from 1300-1600.
