THIST 490 - Medieval Technology - Kucher: Primary Sources
General Sites
-
Internet Medieval SourcebookVaried collection of texts, excerpts and links to primary sources dealing with medieval history.
-
The Avalon ProjectDocuments on Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government, 400-1399 (as well as for other historical periods).
Illustration of the spherical earth
in a medieval manuscript.
Image available through Wikimedia Commons
Medieval online sources
- Medieval Technology and American HistoryMedieval Technology and American History is a project focusing on the use of medieval technologies in early American settlements. Includes introductory and in-depth articles, timelines, photos & videos and a number of other resources.
- Decameron WebThe website includes over 300 documents, dozens of images, and information on the following topics: Brigata, the Plague, Literature, History, Society, Religion, the Arts, Maps, and bibliographies.
- Aquae Urbis Romae: the Waters of the City of RomeThis website offers an interactive cartographic history of the relationships between hydrological and hydraulic systems and their impact on the urban development of Rome, Italy.
- Feminae Medieval Women and Gender IndexIndexes journal articles, book reviews, and essays about women, sexuality and gender in Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, from 450 C.E. to
- Medieval CookeryThis website includes recipes, menus, and a list of recommended (secondary source) books on medieval cooking.
- The Medieval and Renaissance Food: Sources, Recipes & ArticlesThis website, created by the Society for Creative Anachronism (SCA), includes links to bibliographies and primary source material from 1300-1600.
Manuscripts collections online
- Bodleian Library Medieval ManuscriptsElectronic catalogue of Medieval and Renaissance Western manuscripts in the Bodleian Library with descriptions and some images.
- British Library Manuscript CollectionsMedieval and Earlier Manuscripts. Circa 300 BC to 1603.
- Catalogue of Digitized Medieval ManuscriptsMajor clearing house: centralized database to discover medieval manuscripts available on the web.
- Digital ScriptoriumClearing house of digitized medieval and renaissance manuscripts.
- Early Manuscripts at Oxford UniversityDigitized collection of manuscripts dating from the 9th to the 16th centuries. High-quality images on some manuscripts held at the Bodleian Library and other libraries in Oxford.
- FLP Medieval ManuscriptDigitized collection of the Free Library of Philadelphia.
- MacKinney Collection of Medieval Medical IllustrationsMore than 1000 medieval illustrations dealing with medicine and disease.
- Manuscripta MediaevaliaContains digital images of over 75,000 medieval manuscripts from collections around the world.
- Medieval Illuminated ManuscriptsMore than 11,000 illustrations.
- Virtual Manuscript Library of Switzerland894 medieval and early modern manuscripts housed at 37 libraries in Switzerland.