THIST 470 The Material World: Art and Artifacts - Nicoletta: Find Articles
Sample journals & articles
Prochner, Larry. 'Their Little Wooden Bricks': a History of the Material Culture of Kindergarten in the United StatesPaedagogica Historica. Jun2011, Vol. 47 Issue 3, p355-375
This article explores the material culture of kindergarten in the United States in relation to the production and consumption of materials and kindergarten theory and pedagogy.
Each of the articles below was located using the database America: History and Life. See Key Databases to the right.
Sheumaker, Helen. Women and Things, 1750-1950: Gendered Material Strategies
Winterthur Portfolio. Spring2012, Vol. 46 Issue 1, 93-97.
A review of three books: "Women and Things, 1750-1950: Gendered Material Strategies," "Women and the Material Culture of Needlework and Textiles, 1750-1950," and "Material Women, 1750-1950: Consuming Desires and Collecting Practices."
Smith, Maureen Margaret. Mapping America's Sporting Landscape: A Case Study of Three StatuesInternational Journal of the History of Sport. May/Jun2011, Vol. 28 Issue 8/9, 1252-1268.
This article examines three sport statues in the United States: Pat Tillman, National Football League player and American soldier; Tommie Smith and John Carlos, 1968 Olympians; and Wilma Rudolph, the first American woman to win three gold medals in track and field at the 1960 Olympic Games.
Stopp, Marianne. The Coast Salish Knitters and the Cowichan Sweater: An Event of National Historic SignificanceMaterial Culture Review. Fall 2013, Issue 76, 9-29.
Long before the arrival of Europeans, the Coast Salish First Nations of southwestern Vancouver Island turned mountain goat wool, dog hair and plant fibres into woven textiles of great value among the peoples of the Pacific Northwest.
Key Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and General interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology. - America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this database to locate scholarly articles, book reviews, dissertations, etc. published in history journals. - Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles about art published in scholarly journals, art dissertations, magazines, and art reproductions. 1929 to 1984.
- Art Full TextSearch for articles in fine, decorative and commercial art and related fields plus full text coverage of over 300 journals going back to 1995. Also indexing for over 600 journals dating back to 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-image issues of hundreds of scholarly journals, some of which date back to the 1800s. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Science, social sciences, and arts and humanities citation indexes.
What does peer reviewed mean?
 |
|