Research Guides
Christianity: Primary Sources
Suggested resources for Christian studies
Early Christianity
- Coptic Gnostic Library Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
"Coptic Gnostic Library Online contains all the texts of the Nag Hammadi codices, both in the original Coptic and in translation." - Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Greek and Latin writings in English translation, including works of Church fathers and Classical and early medieval historians writing about the Christian movement. - Patrologia Latina This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216."
- Corpus Christianorum. Series Latinae.Print volumes that update Migne's Patrologia Latina with new critical texts.
- Corpus Christianorum. Continuatio Medievalis.Print editions of medieval Christian texts in Latin.
Historic Collections
- American Methodism Digital CollectionRoughly 4,000 digital versions of interdisciplinary and historical published materials that were selected to promote better understanding of Methodism.
- ATLA Digital Library27,000+ images, texts, videos, and sounds illustrating the history of religion from 85 institutions.
- Berman ArchiveDigitized collection that documents American Jewish Communities
- Catholic News ArchiveCatholic newspapers from various American cities, earliest coverage dates back to the 1830s
- Center for Jewish History CollectionsDigitized collections from the American Jewish Historical Society, the American Sephardi Federation, the Leo Baeck Institute & more
- JDC ArchivesAmerican Jewish Joint Distribution Committee digital collection includes photographs, texts & more covering 90 countries.
- Kautz Family YMCA ArchivesSearch for items in the Digital Collections. Includes documents, photographs & other material illustrating the work of the YMCA in the US and abroad.
- Methodist CollectionA rich collection of documents for "the study of the early Evangelical Revival and its Methodist and Holiness offshoots."
- Non-Conformist CollectionMaterials dealing with the Baptist, Moravian, Quaker, Congregational, and Unitarian traditions in Great Britain.
- Pearl Digital CollectionsPresbyterian Historical Society's collections include documents & images illustrating American Presbyterian missonary, educational & social activism work.
- Pentecostal and Charismatic Research ArchiveArchive of correspondence, records, sermons, photographs & more illustrating Pentecostal & Charismatic Christian movements.
- Theological CommonsOver 150,000 resources on theology and religion. Highlights include missionary papers, theological journals, recordings & other material.
- Yale Divinity Library Digital CollectionsHighlights include an extensive collection of missionary papers, photographs & publications focused primarily on China and East Asia.
Missionary Collections
- Alaskan Mission Collection of the Oregon Province Archives of the Society of Jesus
- This link opens in a new window
- Moravian Mission Among the Indians of North America
- This link opens in a new window
- Pacific Northwest Tribes Missions Collection of the Oregon Province Archives of the Society of Jesus, 1853–1960
- This link opens in a new window