Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- History of Science and Medicine
- Related Archival Collections
History of Science and Medicine: Related Archival Collections
Starting points and usage tips for finding materials related to the history of science and medicine in Special Collections.
Special Collections' Holdings
University of Washington Special Collections holds personal papers, departmental records, digitized collections, and papers of medical and scientific records related to the history of science and medicine. Browse a selection of the holdings below, or use ArchivesWest to search finding aids for our collections.
Archives West: Search for Archival / Manuscript Materials
Personal Papers
 |
| Mabel Seagrave, ca. 1930s. Ella McBride Soroptimist photograph albums, PH Coll 1037. University of Washington Libraries, Special Collections. |
- Charles Milton Buchanan PapersPapers of physician for the Tulalip Reservation, ca. 1897-1914
- Charles W. Bodemer PapersPapers of UW faculty member and founder of the Department of Biomedical History, 1824-1984
- Ezra Stotland PapersPapers of Seattle physician and UW professor, primarily relating to the Pinel Hospital, ca. 1948-1958
- Herbert M. Parker PapersPapers of radiation physicist who helped invent the Paterson-Parker Radium Therapy System and worked at the Hanford labs, 1938-1984
- James P. Thomas PapersPapers on various studies and actions related to the Hanford Nuclear Reservation, 1943-2003
- Julian S. Ansell PapersPapers of doctor and professor of urology, 1805-1991 (bulk 1963-1988)
- Lauren R. Donaldson PapersPapers of radiobiologist and UW professor of fisheries, 1906-1994
- Mabel Seagrave PapersPapers of early Seattle woman physician, 1882-1935
- Thomas L. Hankins PapersPapers of history professor and specialist in history of science, 1964-2000
- Vance Tartar PapersPapers of biologist and Zoology professor, 1920-1990
- W. P. Baker PapersPapers of Seattle physician, 1908-1921
UW Departmental Records
- UW Biomedical History Department RecordsRecords of UW department, which began as a medical museum and archives, 1964-1987
- UW Department of Bioengineering RecordsHistorical features, administrative and grant files of the UW department, 1949-2003
- UW Department of Chemistry RecordsAdministrative files of the UW department, 1920-1998
- UW Department of Earth and Space Science RecordsLarge collection of records from the UW department including a number of seismograms and helistation logs, 1897-2006
- UW Department of Electrical Engineering RecordsHistories, instruction manuals, product catalogs, grant files, curriculum and administrative files, 1905-2003
- UW Department of Materials Science and Engineering RecordsEarly departmental files from the College of Mines, which later became the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, 1910-1997
- UW Department of Microbiology RecordsGrant, curriculum, and administrative files, 1933-1990
- UW Department of Nuclear Engineering RecordsRecords of UW department, including files on UW nuclear reactor and an artificial kidney dialysis project, 1954-1994
- UW Department of Physics RecordsReports, grant files, and correspondence from the UW department, 1924-1999
- UW Department of Radiology RecordsReports, grant files, administrative records, and materials related to imaging technology, 1947-1990
- UW Department of Surgery RecordsDepartment records, including files on early heart transplant surgeries at University Hospital, 1947-1999
- UW Department of Zoology RecordsGrant files, historical features, early curriculum files, and other records of UW department, 1911-2000
UW Libraries Digital Collections
 |
|
Crowd standing by sign advertising free chest x-ray screening on Crown Hill, Seattle, ca. 1955. American Lung Association of Washington Photograph Collection. PH Coll 670. University of Washington Libraries, Special Collections. |
- American Lung Association of Washington Photograph CollectionSelections from the Association's photo collection
- Donaldson (Lauren R.) Collection of South Pacific Radiological Surveys (1946-1964)Personal logs, photo albums, ephemera, and papers from the radiological surveys undertaken after atmospheric nuclear weapons testing conducted by the United States in the Northern Pacific Ocean.
- Mount St. Helen's Post-Eruption Chemistry DatabaseSlides taken by Professor William Zoller over a period of three years on research trips to Mount St. Helen's after its explosion in 1980.
- Qui Si Sana Sanatorium Photograph AlbumSelections from photo album of naturopathic/hydrotherapy sanatorium
- Thomas W. Prosch, "The Insane in Washington Territory," 1914Article from the medical journal "Northwest Medicine"
Medical and Scientific Organizations
- American Lung Association of Washington RecordsRecords of Washington chapter of organization to promote awareness of respiratory diseases, particularly tuberculosis, 1906-2003
- Children's Orthopedic and Medical Center RecordsRecords of Seattle children's hospital, ca. 1907-1997
- Children's Orthopedic Hospital and Medical Center Photograph and Moving Image CollectionPhotos and films from the hospital's history, 1911-1990
- College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific RecordsRecords of California medical school, 1976-1980
- Harborview Medical Center, Board of Trustees RecordsAdministrative records of Seattle hospital, 1946-2007
- Seattle Gay Clinic RecordsRecords of Seattle non-profit, 1979-1988
- Washington Citizens for Abortion Reform RecordsRecords of citizen organization, 1963-1970
Related Archives and Collections
- King County ArchivesPublic health records and documents related to historic county healthcare facilities, ca. 1877-1995
- Providence ArchivesRecords of the Sisters of Providence and their health services, ca. 1856-current. Providence has a robust digital collection.