Research Guides
FISH 290: Scientific Communication: News Sources
E-Newspapers
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Regional, national, and international newspapers, 1980's-present.
- Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.
- Bellingham Herald1999 to current
May 1957 to current available on microfilm A5107 held in the microforms & newspapers collection. - Chronicling America: Washington1836-1922
Collection of early late 19th and 20th century Washington State newspapers including Cayton's Weekly (1917-1921) and the Tacoma Times (1903-1918) - Documenting White Supremacy It brings together for the first time local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers from across the U.S. It also includes key anti-Klan voices from newspapers published by American Black, Catholic, and Jewish communities.
- Early American Newspapers Series II1736-1900 (emphasis on 1820-1860)
Included within the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles written primarily by Black, Indigenous, Latinx, Asian & Pacific Islander, and Jewish people, covering 1959-present. - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Local, regional and international newspapers, trade publications, press releases, media transcripts, and news websites. Husky OnNet is required for off-campus access. - Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
US alternative press publications dating mostly from the 1960s-1990s; includes ethnic, feminist, underground, antiwar, etc.
- News Tribune (Tacoma)1918 to current
Also available on microfilm A3953 held in the microforms & newspapers collection.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text, 1990s-present. Newspapers, television and radio broadcast transcripts.
- Nikkei Newspaper Digital ArchiveIncludes North American Times (1902-1942) and North American Post (1946-1950), published primarily in Japanese with occasional, and then regularly appearing, pages published in English.
- Pacific Northwest Regional Newspaper & Periodical Index This link opens in a new windowCitations from newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets, etc. dealing with all aspects of life in Seattle, Washington state & the Pacific Northwest.
- Seattle Post-IntelligencerNewspaper page images for Dec 1901-2007 and text only for 2008-present.
April 1882-1900 included in Chronicling America.
For 1876 to 1882 use microfilm A329 held in the microforms & newspapers collection. - Seattle TimesNewspaper page images for Dec 1895-1984 and 2018 to current. Text only for 1985-2017. For 1886 to 1894 use microfilm A419 held in the microforms & newspapers collection.
- Tri-City Herald2006 to current
1949 to current available on microfilm A5106 held in the microforms & newspapers collection.
- US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Washington State, national & regional newspapers, 1980 - present
- Washington Digital Newspapers at the Washington State LibraryGrowing collection of Washington State newspapers, emphasis before 1923
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, national, and international newspapers, 1980's-present.
- African American Newspapers1827-1902
19th century newspapers, inluding photos and illustrations.
- Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.
- Atlanta Constitution 1868-1984For 1995 to current, use Access World News or Factiva or US Newsstream.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options... - Baltimore Afro American1893-1988
- Black Life in America Series III This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The experience and impact of African Americans, as recorded by the news media from 1976 to today.
- Chicago Defender 1905-1975For 1975 to 1996, use Microfilm A4066. For 1999 to present, use Ethnic NewsWatch or for February 2008 to current, use Access World News.
- Chronicling America This link opens in a new windowNewspaper page images, 1836-1922. Also includes a searchable directory of publication information for U.S. newspapers.
- Documenting White Supremacy It brings together for the first time local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers from across the U.S. It also includes key anti-Klan voices from newspapers published by American Black, Catholic, and Jewish communities.
- E&E News Publications This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Suite of news sources: Climatewire, Energywire, Greenwire, E&E Daily, and E&E News PM. - Early American Newspapers Series II This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of 50+ newspapers dating from 1736-1900 with most covering the period 1820-1860 - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles written primarily by Black, Indigenous, Latinx, Asian & Pacific Islander, and Jewish people, covering 1959-present. - Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
US alternative press publications dating mostly from the 1960s-1990s; includes ethnic, feminist, underground, antiwar, etc.
- Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of 25 Japanese relocation camp newspapers, 1942 - 1945. (Gale Archives Unbound) - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Local, regional and international newspapers, trade publications, press releases, media transcripts, and news websites. Husky OnNet is required for off-campus access. - Hispanic Life in America Series III This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The experience and impact of Hispanic Americans, as recorded by the news media from 2010 to today.
- Los Angeles Times 1881-2009For 2010 to current, use Factiva or US Newsstream.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options... - New York Amsterdam News 1922-1993For 1994 to current, use Ethnic NewsWatch or US Newsstream
See UW Libraries Search for additional options... - New York Times 1851-2017For 2014 to current, use Factiva or ProQuest Recent Newspapers: New York Times or US Newsstream.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options...
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text, 1990s-present. Newspapers, television and radio broadcast transcripts.
- NYTimes.com (New York Times website)Requires registration.
- OregonianFeb 1861 to current
- Pittsburgh Courier 1911-2002From 2003 to current, use Access World News or Ethnic Newswatch.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options...
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital historical newspaper coverage from 1880s to 2000s. Includes Atlanta Constitution, Baltimore Afro-American, Boston Globe, Chicago Defender, Chinese Newspapers Collection, Globe & Mail, The Guardian and The Observer, Hindustan Times, Korea Times, LA Sentinel, LA Times, Le Monde, New York Amsterdam News, New York Times, Pittsburgh Courier, South China Morning Post, Spokesman Review, Times of India, Vancouver Sun, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. - US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Washington State, national & regional newspapers, 1980 - present
- WSJ.com (Wall Street Journal website)Two year trial access available. Requires registration.
- 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text 17th and 18th century British newspapers - Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, national, and international newspapers, 1980's-present.
- Africa Confidential1996 to current
A newsletter based in London focusing on politics and economics in Africa.
Only one user at a time. View license terms.
- African Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text African newspapers, 1800 to 1922
- Chinese Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper page images, 1832-1953. English language newspapers including North China Herald 1850-1941 & Chinese Recorder 1868-1941 - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Local, regional and international newspapers, trade publications, press releases, media transcripts, and news websites. Husky OnNet is required for off-campus access. - Foreign Broadcast Information Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
English-language summaries of local reports from news outlets worldwide. - Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current international, national & regional newspapers, 1980 - present.
- Global Press Archive1782 to 2021. Coverage varies by title.
Growing collection of digitized newspapers. - Globe & Mail 1844-2018 (Toronto)For 2019 to current, use Factiva or Global Newsstream.
- Guardian 1821-2003 (Manchester, England) & Observer 1791-2003 (London, England)For 2004 to current, use Access World News or Factiva or ProQuest Global Newsstream.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options... - Imperial Russian Newspapers (Global Press Archive)1782 to 1917. Coverage varies by title.
Coverage will grow as more is digitized. - Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers (Global Press Archive)1810 to 1930. Coverage varies by title.
Coverage will grow as more is digitized. - Japan Times Archives 1897-2021English-language newspaper.
For current year, use Access World News
- KPM:Chosŏn ŏllon chŏngbo kiji This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The KPM database provides access to online newspapers and journals from North Korea. The website is updated daily. You can find the following newspapers in this database: 로동신문, 민주조선, 조선신보, 통일신보, 문학신문, and Pyongyang Times. The site includes photos and video materials.
- Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers (Global Press Archive)1911 to 1949. Coverage varies by title.
Coverage will grow as more is digitized.
- Latin American Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
19th and 20th century Latin American newspapers. Series 1: Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere. - Latin American Newspapers: Series 2 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
19th and 20th century Latin American newspapers. Series 2: Belize, Brazil, Columbia, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Paraguay.
- Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers (Global Press Archive)1870 to 2021. Coverage varies by title.
Coverage will grow as more is digitized.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text, 1990s-present. Newspapers, television and radio broadcast transcripts. - NK Pro This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NK Pro provides English news articles, periodicals, research tools, experts' analysis postings, pod casting and more on North Korea. The database also provides the articles and resources by KCNA, the Korean Central News Agency, the state media of North Korea. - ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital historical newspaper coverage from 1880s to 2000s. Includes Atlanta Constitution, Baltimore Afro-American, Boston Globe, Chicago Defender, Chinese Newspapers Collection, Globe & Mail, The Guardian and The Observer, Hindustan Times, Korea Times, LA Sentinel, LA Times, Le Monde, New York Amsterdam News, New York Times, Pittsburgh Courier, South China Morning Post, Spokesman Review, Times of India, Vancouver Sun, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. - South Asian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of South Asian Newspapers, featuring India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Languages include English, Bengali, Gujarati, and more. 1864 - 1922.
- Southeast Asia GlobeCurrent "views on regional affairs, business, and culture."
- Southeast Asian Newspapers (Global Press Archive)1860 to 1966. Coverage varies by title.
Coverage will grow as more is digitized. - Times (of London) 1785-2014For 2013 to current, use Access World News or Factiva or Global Newsstream.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options... - Times of India 1838-2008English language newspaper
For 2009 to current, use Access World News.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options...
- World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of historical newspapers from around the world.
E-Newspapers
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, national, and international newspapers, 1980's-present.
- Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.
- Bellingham Herald1999 to current
May 1957 to current available on microfilm A5107 held in the microforms & newspapers collection. - Chronicling America: Washington1836-1922
Collection of early late 19th and 20th century Washington State newspapers including Cayton's Weekly (1917-1921) and the Tacoma Times (1903-1918) - Documenting White Supremacy It brings together for the first time local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers from across the U.S. It also includes key anti-Klan voices from newspapers published by American Black, Catholic, and Jewish communities.
- Early American Newspapers Series II1736-1900 (emphasis on 1820-1860)
Included within the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles written primarily by Black, Indigenous, Latinx, Asian & Pacific Islander, and Jewish people, covering 1959-present. - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Local, regional and international newspapers, trade publications, press releases, media transcripts, and news websites. Husky OnNet is required for off-campus access. - Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
US alternative press publications dating mostly from the 1960s-1990s; includes ethnic, feminist, underground, antiwar, etc.
- News Tribune (Tacoma)1918 to current
Also available on microfilm A3953 held in the microforms & newspapers collection.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text, 1990s-present. Newspapers, television and radio broadcast transcripts.
- Nikkei Newspaper Digital ArchiveIncludes North American Times (1902-1942) and North American Post (1946-1950), published primarily in Japanese with occasional, and then regularly appearing, pages published in English.
- Pacific Northwest Regional Newspaper & Periodical Index This link opens in a new windowCitations from newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets, etc. dealing with all aspects of life in Seattle, Washington state & the Pacific Northwest.
- Seattle Post-IntelligencerNewspaper page images for Dec 1901-2007 and text only for 2008-present.
April 1882-1900 included in Chronicling America.
For 1876 to 1882 use microfilm A329 held in the microforms & newspapers collection. - Seattle TimesNewspaper page images for Dec 1895-1984 and 2018 to current. Text only for 1985-2017. For 1886 to 1894 use microfilm A419 held in the microforms & newspapers collection.
- Tri-City Herald2006 to current
1949 to current available on microfilm A5106 held in the microforms & newspapers collection.
- US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Washington State, national & regional newspapers, 1980 - present
- Washington Digital Newspapers at the Washington State LibraryGrowing collection of Washington State newspapers, emphasis before 1923
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, national, and international newspapers, 1980's-present.
- African American Newspapers1827-1902
19th century newspapers, inluding photos and illustrations.
- Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.
- Atlanta Constitution 1868-1984For 1995 to current, use Access World News or Factiva or US Newsstream.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options... - Baltimore Afro American1893-1988
- Black Life in America Series III This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The experience and impact of African Americans, as recorded by the news media from 1976 to today.
- Chicago Defender 1905-1975For 1975 to 1996, use Microfilm A4066. For 1999 to present, use Ethnic NewsWatch or for February 2008 to current, use Access World News.
- Chronicling America This link opens in a new windowNewspaper page images, 1836-1922. Also includes a searchable directory of publication information for U.S. newspapers.
- Documenting White Supremacy It brings together for the first time local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers from across the U.S. It also includes key anti-Klan voices from newspapers published by American Black, Catholic, and Jewish communities.
- E&E News Publications This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Suite of news sources: Climatewire, Energywire, Greenwire, E&E Daily, and E&E News PM. - Early American Newspapers Series II This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of 50+ newspapers dating from 1736-1900 with most covering the period 1820-1860 - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles written primarily by Black, Indigenous, Latinx, Asian & Pacific Islander, and Jewish people, covering 1959-present. - Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
US alternative press publications dating mostly from the 1960s-1990s; includes ethnic, feminist, underground, antiwar, etc.
- Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of 25 Japanese relocation camp newspapers, 1942 - 1945. (Gale Archives Unbound) - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Local, regional and international newspapers, trade publications, press releases, media transcripts, and news websites. Husky OnNet is required for off-campus access. - Hispanic Life in America Series III This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The experience and impact of Hispanic Americans, as recorded by the news media from 2010 to today.
- Los Angeles Times 1881-2009For 2010 to current, use Factiva or US Newsstream.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options... - New York Amsterdam News 1922-1993For 1994 to current, use Ethnic NewsWatch or US Newsstream
See UW Libraries Search for additional options... - New York Times 1851-2017For 2014 to current, use Factiva or ProQuest Recent Newspapers: New York Times or US Newsstream.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options...
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text, 1990s-present. Newspapers, television and radio broadcast transcripts.
- NYTimes.com (New York Times website)Requires registration.
- OregonianFeb 1861 to current
- Pittsburgh Courier 1911-2002From 2003 to current, use Access World News or Ethnic Newswatch.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options...
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital historical newspaper coverage from 1880s to 2000s. Includes Atlanta Constitution, Baltimore Afro-American, Boston Globe, Chicago Defender, Chinese Newspapers Collection, Globe & Mail, The Guardian and The Observer, Hindustan Times, Korea Times, LA Sentinel, LA Times, Le Monde, New York Amsterdam News, New York Times, Pittsburgh Courier, South China Morning Post, Spokesman Review, Times of India, Vancouver Sun, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. - US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Washington State, national & regional newspapers, 1980 - present
- WSJ.com (Wall Street Journal website)Two year trial access available. Requires registration.
- 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text 17th and 18th century British newspapers - Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, national, and international newspapers, 1980's-present.
- Africa Confidential1996 to current
A newsletter based in London focusing on politics and economics in Africa.
Only one user at a time. View license terms.
- African Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text African newspapers, 1800 to 1922
- Chinese Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper page images, 1832-1953. English language newspapers including North China Herald 1850-1941 & Chinese Recorder 1868-1941 - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Local, regional and international newspapers, trade publications, press releases, media transcripts, and news websites. Husky OnNet is required for off-campus access. - Foreign Broadcast Information Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
English-language summaries of local reports from news outlets worldwide. - Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current international, national & regional newspapers, 1980 - present.
- Global Press Archive1782 to 2021. Coverage varies by title.
Growing collection of digitized newspapers. - Globe & Mail 1844-2018 (Toronto)For 2019 to current, use Factiva or Global Newsstream.
- Guardian 1821-2003 (Manchester, England) & Observer 1791-2003 (London, England)For 2004 to current, use Access World News or Factiva or ProQuest Global Newsstream.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options... - Imperial Russian Newspapers (Global Press Archive)1782 to 1917. Coverage varies by title.
Coverage will grow as more is digitized. - Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers (Global Press Archive)1810 to 1930. Coverage varies by title.
Coverage will grow as more is digitized. - Japan Times Archives 1897-2021English-language newspaper.
For current year, use Access World News
- KPM:Chosŏn ŏllon chŏngbo kiji This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The KPM database provides access to online newspapers and journals from North Korea. The website is updated daily. You can find the following newspapers in this database: 로동신문, 민주조선, 조선신보, 통일신보, 문학신문, and Pyongyang Times. The site includes photos and video materials.
- Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers (Global Press Archive)1911 to 1949. Coverage varies by title.
Coverage will grow as more is digitized.
- Latin American Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
19th and 20th century Latin American newspapers. Series 1: Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere. - Latin American Newspapers: Series 2 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
19th and 20th century Latin American newspapers. Series 2: Belize, Brazil, Columbia, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Paraguay.
- Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers (Global Press Archive)1870 to 2021. Coverage varies by title.
Coverage will grow as more is digitized.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text, 1990s-present. Newspapers, television and radio broadcast transcripts. - NK Pro This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NK Pro provides English news articles, periodicals, research tools, experts' analysis postings, pod casting and more on North Korea. The database also provides the articles and resources by KCNA, the Korean Central News Agency, the state media of North Korea. - ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital historical newspaper coverage from 1880s to 2000s. Includes Atlanta Constitution, Baltimore Afro-American, Boston Globe, Chicago Defender, Chinese Newspapers Collection, Globe & Mail, The Guardian and The Observer, Hindustan Times, Korea Times, LA Sentinel, LA Times, Le Monde, New York Amsterdam News, New York Times, Pittsburgh Courier, South China Morning Post, Spokesman Review, Times of India, Vancouver Sun, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. - South Asian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of South Asian Newspapers, featuring India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Languages include English, Bengali, Gujarati, and more. 1864 - 1922.
- Southeast Asia GlobeCurrent "views on regional affairs, business, and culture."
- Southeast Asian Newspapers (Global Press Archive)1860 to 1966. Coverage varies by title.
Coverage will grow as more is digitized. - Times (of London) 1785-2014For 2013 to current, use Access World News or Factiva or Global Newsstream.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options... - Times of India 1838-2008English language newspaper
For 2009 to current, use Access World News.
See UW Libraries Search for additional options...
- World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of historical newspapers from around the world.
Online News Sources for Environmental Information
- EcoWatchEcoWatch informs its audience with essential science-based news on a wide range of topics including climate change, energy, oceans, animals, food, politics and health.
- ENN (Environmental News Network)ENN's mission is to inform, educate, enable and create a platform for global environmental action. It is rapidly becoming a collection of resources, teachers, experts and tools that provide objective information and knowledge about the increasingly complex field of environmental science.
- Environmental Health NewsEnvironmental Health News is a publication of Environmental Health Sciences, a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization dedicated to driving science into public discussion and policy on environmental health issues, including climate change.
- GristGrist covers both emerging issues and solutions regarding energy and green living, as well as several other areas. It aims to “elevate solutions, expose inequity, and give our readers the context, knowledge, and tools to make a difference.”
- The Guardian: EnvironmentEnvironmental news from the US edition of The Guardian, covering climate change, wildlife protection, energy issues, and polllution
- High Country NewsHigh Country News is an independent, reader-supported media organization that covers the important issues and stories that define the Western United States. Its mission is to inform and inspire people to act on behalf of the West's diverse natural and human communities. It covers a range of environmental issues affecting the West.
- Inside Climate NewsInside Climate News is a Pulitzer Prize-winning, nonprofit, nonpartisan news organization that provides reporting and analysis on climate change, energy and the environment, for the public and for decision makers. It serves as a watchdog of government, industry and advocacy groups and holds them accountable for their policies and actions.