Skip to main content
Research Guides

Due to a pre-COVID shortfall in the 2019-2021 biennial budget we are initiating a review of database subscriptions during the 2020-2021 fiscal year.

 

Annual price increases for databases, journals, and other subscriptions are unsustainable. The Libraries received a modest increase in the 2019-2021 biennial budget that covered a part but not all of this subscription price inflation. The resulting shortfall in funding for subscriptions requires that we take a critical eye to all of our subscriptions.

 

We are starting this review of subscriptions with databases this fiscal year and will be considering factors such as price, overlap with other resources in content and use, and usage of the resource. A list of planned cancellations will be posted here.

 

Please send any comments on any of the planned cancellations to: cmslib@uw.edu

Upcoming Proposed Cancellations

Database Subscription
Expires

RefWorks

(Suggested alternative: see Citation Tools guide)

6/30/2021
Anthropology plus. 6/30/2021
CAB Abstracts 8//31/2021
Grant forward 8//31/2021
All the Worlds Primates 12/31/2021
Directory of music faculties. 12/31/2021
DRAM 12/31/2021
Encyclopedia of Canada's peoples 12/31/2021
Encyclopedia of life support systems (EOLSS). 12/31/2021
Foundations and Trends in Technology 12/31/2021

Iter Italicum

12/31/2021

Musical America Worldwide.

12/31/2021
OECD ilibrary (formerly Source OECD) 12/31/2021
SAGE IMechE Proceedings Archive 12/31/2021

Musical Theater Songs

1/4/2022

 

Canceled Subscriptions

Database Subscription
Expired
Wilson Core Collections 3/1/2021

Bibliography of Linguistic Literature

(Suggested alternative: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts)

1/1/2021

Religious and Theological Abstracts

(Suggested alternative: ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials PLUS)

1/1/2021

AP Newsroom (formerly AP Images)

(Suggested alternative: see News: Broadcasts, Transcripts, & Photos guide)

1/1/2021

Scopus*

(Suggested alternative: Web of Science)

1/1/2021

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals.

(Suggested alternative: Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text)

11/1/2020

Global Road Warrior

(Suggested alternative: AtoZ World Trade)

10/1/2020

IT Pro | Skillsoft Books | Books24x7

(Suggested alternative: O'Reilly)

9/1/2020

Uniworld

(Suggested alternative: D&B Hoovers)

8/25/2020

Scopus

What is Scopus?

Scopus is an indexing and citation database for articles and book across most disciplinary areas with strength in STEM and social sciences.

Reasons for cancellation

Scopus is largely duplicative in scope and use of the Web of Science. The two have similar coverage of articles and citations from the last 50 years. Web of Science has deeper coverage of articles and citations pre-1970 because we purchased the archives of the Science Citation Index portion going back to 1900.

Since we started subscribing to Scopus in 2015, Scopus has shown consistently lower usage. Usage is measured and reported according to the COUNTER Code of Practice, and by every measure of database usage Scopus lags behind Web of Science by a significant margin.

Scopus is one of our more expensive database subscriptions and has seen consistent price increases. Since we started the subscription in 2015 the price has increased 40%.