Citational Justice
Guide to citational justice and politics in the health sciences.
Need Help?
Feedback
This is a living document for a rapidly changing field. We welcome your feedback and recommendations!
Databases
This is not an exhaustive lists of databases that may support your work in citational justice but is a starting place.
UW Libraries Databases
- A-Z DatabasesList of databases provided by the UW Libraries. Includes most of the databases below.
Population-based Databases
- Africa Bibliography This link opens in a new windowThe Africa Bibliography is an authoritative guide to works in African studies published under the auspices of the International African Institute annually since 1984.
- African American Experience This link opens in a new windowReference content, primary documents, and media illustrating the history and culture of the African American community
- American Indian Experience This link opens in a new windowReference content, primary documents, and images illustrating the histories and cultures of North American Native peoples.
- American Indian Law Collection [HeinOnline] This link opens in a new windowTreaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes and constitutions.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new windowCovers all aspects of North America's aboriginal culture, history and life. Includes books, journals and government documents. Includes some links to full-text.
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century This link opens in a new windowCollections related to the civil rights movement including records of federal agencies, organizations, and individuals. (ProQuest History Vault)
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new windowScholarly and general interest sources and historical newspapers and other primary sources on the Black experience from ancient past to present day.
- Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new windowVideo collection includes documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage
- Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new windowNon-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Includes interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material.
- Disability in the Modern World This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary collection of primary documents, periodicals and video resources.
- Exploring Race in Society This link opens in a new windowContains essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources that explore the history of race and provides critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas, from 1970 to current.
- Immigration Law & Policy in the U.S. [HeinOnline] This link opens in a new windowIncludes BIA Precedent Decisions, legislative histories, law and policy titles, extradition titles, scholarly articles, an extensive bibliography, and other related works.
- Indigenous Peoples of North America, Part 1 & 2 This link opens in a new windowDigitized primary sources covering the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples from the 17th through the 20th centuries.
- Latino American Experience This link opens in a new windowHistory and culture of Latinos living in the United States.
- NAACP Papers This link opens in a new windowInternal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People. (ProQuest History Vault)
- Native Health Database This link opens in a new windowBibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
- North American Indian Thought & Culture This link opens in a new windowCompilation of biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories.
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowImages, primary sources, and other reference content.
- Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex to books and journal articles on all aspects of women's studies.
Health Sciences Databases
These databases are focused on health sciences and biomedical research literature; you will need to follow the Citational Justice Guide's Methods to find works by authors with marginalized identities.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCitation index for the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowLiterature in nursing and allied health disciplines, 1937 to present.
- EMBASE This link opens in a new windowBiomedical and pharmaceutical journals and conference proceedings
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowAcademic, research, and practice literature in psychology and related disciplines, 1872 to present.
- A-Z Health Sciences DatabasesAlphabetical list of databases relevant to the health sciences. Not exhaustive.
Policy and Map Databases
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowSocial and public policy literature from periodicals, government documents, books, and other sources.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowOnline mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the United States
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowMaps and reports based on U.S. Census and other data sources, 1790 to present.
Statistics Databases
- Current Index to Statistics This link opens in a new windowThe Current Index to Statistics (CIS) is a bibliographic index of publications in statistics, probability, and related fields. It includes data from approximately 160 core journals, 1,200 additional journals in related fields, and 11,000 books. The bulk of the content in CIS is from 1975-2017.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new windowIndex to governmental and private statistical data.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new windowSocial, political, and economic statistics of the United States.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new windowSocial, political, and economic statistics of the United States.
- Statistical Abstracts of the World This link opens in a new window
Global, regional, and country-level data of the world.
- Health StatisticsFind health statistics in Washington State, United States, and international resources.
News Sources
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
Regional, national, and international newspapers, 1980's-present.
- African Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new windowFull-text African newspapers, 1800 to 1922
- Chinese Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new windowNewspaper page images, 1832-1953. English language newspapers including North China Herald 1850-1941 & Chinese Recorder 1868-1941
- Diversity Collection This link opens in a new window
Ethnic, minority, and native presses, grassroots newspapers and magazines, and journals, news and newsletters focusing on gender and sexuality, from 1970-current. Encompasses Alt-PressWatch, Ethnic NewsWatch, and GenderWatch.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowJournal, magazine, and newspaper articles written primarily by Black, Indigenous, Latinx, Asian & Pacific Islander, and Jewish people, covering 1959-present.
- Guide to News SourcesIncludes a guide to Ethnic Press, a helpful way to incorporate more perspectives and help conduct anti-racist research.
Theses and Dissertations
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowIndex to doctoral dissertations and selected masters theses from 1861 to the present; includes 2 million+ full text dissertations published since 1997.
- Theses & DissertationsHow to find theses and dissertations from the UW and beyond.
Database Guides
UW Libraries Research Guides
- UW Libraries Research GuidesA-Z list of subjects, click on a subject to view the research guides pertaining to that subject.
Health Sciences Database Research Guides
Not every database has a guide, but many of the top health sciences databases do have a guide.
- Health Sciences Database Research GuidesA-Z list of the Health Sciences Library's database guides.