Research Guides
News: Ethnic Press
Washington State - current news
Black Press
Asian American Press
- Northwest Asian Weekly archive1983-2023. Facsimiles of original print newspaper.
European-American Press
Latino/Spanish Press
Diversity & Women Press
Lesbian Gay Bisexual Transgender (LGBT) Press
Pacific Northwest - historical news online
- Tundra TimesNewspaper page images, 1965-1997. Alaska Native.
Click here for access to complete collection. - Digital Char-Koosta NewsNewspaper page images, 1956-61, 1971-1988. Native American. "Published by the Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes of the Flathead Indian Reservation."
- Jewish TranscriptNewspaper page images, 1924-1986. Also available through ArchiveInABox website.
United States - historical news online
- African American Experience in Ohio: 1850-1920Newspaper page images, 1843-1923. African American.
- African American Newspapers
This link opens in a new window
19th century newspaper page images, 1827 - 1902, including photos and illustrations. - The Afro-American LedgerNewspaper page images, 1906- 1917. African-American.
- Baltimore Afro American
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images, 1893-1988 - Baltimore Afro-AmericanNewspaper page images, 1933-2003. African American.
- Black Life in America Series III This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The experience and impact of African Americans, as recorded by the news media from 1976 to today.
- California EagleNewspaper page images, 1879- 1964. African American.
- The Cherokee PhoenixNewspaper page images, 1828-1834. American Indian.
- Chicago Defender
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images, 1905-1975. For 1975 to 1996, use Microfilm A4066. For 1999 to present, use Ethnic NewsWatch. - Chung Sai Yat PoNewspaper page images, 1900-1904. Chinese American.
- Chronicling America This link opens in a new windowNewspaper page images, 1860-1921. Includes mainstream and some ethnic newspapers.
- El Clamor Publico CollectionNewspaper page images, 1855-1859. Mexican American.
- The Colored TribuneNewspaper page images, 1875-1876. African American.
- DigitalNC NewspapersIncludes the Black Ink (Black Student Movement, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 1969-2001). African American.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles written primarily by Black, Indigenous, Latinx, Asian & Pacific Islander, and Jewish people, covering 1959-present.
- Evansville ArgusNewspaper page images, 1938- 1943. African American.
- Frederick Douglass' PaperTranscribed articles, 1852- 1855. African American.
Abolitionist. - Freedom's JournalNewspaper page images, 1827-1829. African American. The first African-American owned and operated newspaper published in the United States.
- The FreemanNewspaper page images, 1888-1915. African American.
- Hispanic Life in America Series III This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The experience and impact of Hispanic Americans, as recorded by the news media from 2010 to today.
- Historic Mexican & Mexican American PressNewspaper page images, mid 1800s-1970s. Mexican American.
- Indianapolis RecorderNewspaper page images, 1899-2005. Missing 1917-1925. African American.
- Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of 25 Japanese relocation camp newspapers, 1942 - 1945. (Gale Archives Unbound)
- Los Angeles Sentinel 1934-2010
- This link opens in a new window
For more current articles, use Ethnic NewsWatch or US Newsstream - Los Angeles Star CollectionNewspaper page images, 1851-1864. English-Spanish language.
- National EraNewspaper page images, 1847-1860. African American.
- New York AgeNewspaper page images, 1890- 1892, 1906- 1953. African American.
- New York Amsterdam News
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper page images, 1922-2010. African American. - Pacific CitizenNewspaper page images, 1929-1955. Asian American.
- Pittsburgh Courier
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of newspaper page images, 1911-2002 - Southern CourierNewspaper page images, 1965-1968. African American. Weekly newspaper founded to cover the Civil Rights Movement. Complete run.
- St. Louis ArgusNewspaper page images, 1915- 1945. African-American.
- The ReflectorTranscriptions of selected articles, 1933. African American.
- Washington Afro-AmericanNewspaper page images, 1916-1988. African American.
Canada - historical news online
- Multicultural CanadaPreserves and provides free access to the heritage of Canada's immigrant peoples. Includes newspaper page images for newspapers such as the Japanese newspaper Tairiku Jiho (The Continental Times).
Newspapers as Primary Sources
Ethnic, alternative, minority or marginalized communities have long turned to the published word as a means of building identity, promulgating viewpoints and establishing some control over the development and dissemination of their own media images. Ethnic and other non-mainstream newspapers are treasured primary sources reflecting the diversity, vigor and strife typical of any multicultural society.
Help: Analyzing Newspapers
*Dooley, P. (2009). History of journalism: 1930-1995. In C. H. Sterling (Ed.), Encyclopedia of journalism (Vol. 2, pp. 707-712).
Pacific Northwest Minority, Ethnic & Special Audience Newspapers Database
Pacific Northwest Minority, Ethnic, and Special Audience
Newspapers Database
This database identifies ethnic, minority, and special audience newspapers published in Washington, Oregon, Montana, Idaho, Alaska, British Columbia, and the Yukon.
Many ethnic groups are represented in the database, including African American, Alaska Native, Arab Canadian, Chinese American, Filipino American, Japanese American, Hispanic Canadian, Indian, Korean American, Native American tribes, Vietnamese American, and more.
Many of the newspapers listed in the database are held in the UW Libraries Microforms & Newspapers Collection on microfilm.
Indexes
- Antebellum Black NewspapersNew York Freedom's journal (1827-1829), The Rights of all (1829), The Weekly advocate (1837), and The Colored American (1837-1841)
- Chinese and Japanese in the Seattle Post-Intelligencer 1890-1899A chronology of articles from the period January 1, 1890 to December 31, 1899.
- Pacific Northwest Minority, Ethnic, and Special Audience Newspapers DatabaseThis database provides information about ethnic, minority, and special audience newspapers published in Washington, Oregon, Montana, Idaho, Alaska, British Columbia, and the Yukon.