Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Washington Health Sciences Library

Life After the U

Now that you are leaving the University of Washington, you may have questions on how to access some of the health sciences resources that you have used while here at the University of Washington.

Introduction

Now that you are leaving the University of Washington, you may have questions about how to access some of the health sciences resources that you have used while here at the University of Washington.

The e-resources on the UW Health Sciences Library webpage that are annotated with a lock icon are restricted by license agreements to current UW faculty, staff and students. This Life after the U libguide will suggest a variety of unrestricted websites to visit to find similar information. You may also want to consult the public libraries or the library at your place of employment for additional resources.

Preserve your own work

Before you graduate, take these steps to make sure you retain any information that you have stored on a UW Google account, UW Office OneDrive account, Canvas, or U Drive.

Services of UW Alumni

UW Alumni Association

UW alumni may continue to use many of the resources in the library after graduation. See the Services for UW Alumni website for information on Onsite Borrowing Privileges, Self-Service Photocopying, Quick Reference Assistance, and more.

In addition, UWAA members have online access to journals via the EBSCO Academic Search Alumni Edition database, which provides 3,000 academic journals in full text, plus indexing for 5,000 more, and includes the CINAHL database.

HEALWA for Washington State Practitioners

HEALWA is a collection of clinical information and educational resources for 25 eligible professions in Washington State (Veterinarians and Veterinary Technicians to be added in 2019). Paid for by a portion of the license fees from these professions, HEALWA was created by legislation and is administered through a contract with the Washington State Department of Health.

Evidence-based practice journals, databases, e-books and other tools are available to these professions:

  • Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioners
  • Chiropractors
  • Clinical Social Work Associates
  • Dietitians
  • East Asian Medicine Practitioners
  • Licensed Marriage & Family Therapists
  • Marriage & Family Therapy Associates
  • Licensed Practical Nurses
  • Massage Therapists
  • Mental Health Counselors
  • Midwives
  • Naturopathic Physicians
  • Nutritionists
  • Occupational Therapists
  • Occupational Therapy Assistants
  • Optometrists
  • Osteopathic Physicians
  • Osteopathic Physician Assistants
  • Physicians
  • Physician Assistants
  • Podiatric Physicians
  • Psychologists
  • Registered Nurses
  • Social Workers
  • Speech Language Pathologists.

Please visit the HEALWA site for more information.

Network of the National Library of Medicine


The Network of the National Library of Medicine (NNLM) provides outreach for the National Library of Medicine (NLM). The National Library of Medicine, the world's largest biomedical library, is one of the many institutes which make up the National Institutes of Health (NIH) based in Bethesda, MD. 

The goal of the NNLM is to advance the progress of medicine and improve public health by providing U.S. health professionals with equal access to biomedical information and improving individuals' access to information to enable them to make informed decisions about their health.

Seven Health Sciences Libraries function as the Regional Medical Library (RML) for their respective region. The RMLs coordinate the operation of a Network of Libraries and other organizations to carry out regional and national programs. The RMLs ensure a continuity of quality service for core programs of the NNLM, and cooperatively design, implement and evaluate innovative approaches to serve the health information needs of health professionals and a diverse public. 

The University of Washington Health Sciences Library serves as the Regional Medical Library (RML) for Region 5, which provides programs, services, and dedicated support for NNLM Members in Alaska, California, Hawaii, Nevada, Oregon, Washington, and U.S. Territories and Freely Associated States.

Additionally, there are three National Offices and three National Centers, which serve all members in all seven regions.

Learn more at the Network of the National Library of Medicine guide.

Health Sciences Library | 1959 NE Pacific Street, T334 Health Sciences Building, Box 357155, Seattle, WA 98195-7155 USA, 206-543-3390 | Privacy | Terms
CC BY-NC 4.0 Text on this page created by UW Libraries is licensed under a CC BY-NC 4.0 license. Images and video are not included. See details.