Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Washington Health Sciences Library

Measurement Tools/Research Instruments

Tips on how to find information about research instruments such as questionnaires.

Sample Scenario

You are a school counselor who has been told to lead a support group for students at-risk for school dropout. You need to do an initial self-assessment of each child and have been told to use the Rosenberg self-esteem scale. You are unfamiliar with the test and its administration.

Where can you find a copy of this test?

Preliminary Questions

  • Do you have the correct name or title of a test?
  • What is the test supposed to measure?
  • Is this test appropriate for your subjects?
  • Do you need a full copy of the test?
  • Do you know how to administer the test?

Verify Test Information

  • To obtain or view a test, be sure to have correct test information such as the full title and author.
  • There are a number of sources available for you to verify test information. These consist of both commercial and non-commercial sources.
  • Click here to view the entire resource table.
  • These sources contain records describing thousands of test instruments.
  • These sources do not generally include the full-text of tests.

ETS Test Collection

Detailed Description | Search Tips
A database of descriptive information for over 25,000 tests from varying fields with an emphasis on education; includes Tests in Microfiche.

REDCap Shared Library

Detailed Description  
A repository for REDCap data collection instruments and forms that can be downloaded and used by researchers at REDCap partner institutions.

Tests in Print (TIP)

Detailed Description | Search Tips | Sample Pages [pdf]
A multi-volume publication consisting of descriptive listings and references to commercially published tests that are in print and available for purchase and use.

Check Other Test Sources

  • Other sources of verification include specialty directories and journal databases.

  • Tests listed in these sources are referred to as unpublished tests and measures.

Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures

Detailed Description | Search Tips | Sample Pages [pdf]
Directory of noncommercial experimental test instruments.

JOURNAL DATABASES: CINAHL , ERIC , PsycINFO , Sociological Abstracts , etc.  

Locate the Full Text of a Named Test

  • To obtain or view a test, be sure to have correct test information such as the full title and author.
  • There are a number of sources available for you to verify test information. These consist of both commercial and non-commercial sources.
  • Click here to view the entire resource table.
  • These sources contain records describing thousands of test instruments.
  • These sources do not generally include the full-text of tests.

ETS Test Collection

Detailed Description | Search Tips
A database of descriptive information for over 25,000 tests from varying fields with an emphasis on education; includes Tests in Microfiche.

REDCap Shared Library

Detailed Description  
A repository for REDCap data collection instruments and forms that can be downloaded and used by researchers at REDCap partner institutions.

Tests in Print (TIP)

Detailed Description | Search Tips | Sample Pages [pdf]
A multi-volume publication consisting of descriptive listings and references to commercially published tests that are in print and available for purchase and use.

Check Other Test Sources

  • Other sources of verification include specialty directories and journal databases.

  • Tests listed in these sources are referred to as unpublished tests and measures.

Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures

Detailed Description | Search Tips | Sample Pages [pdf]
Directory of noncommercial experimental test instruments.

JOURNAL DATABASES: CINAHL , ERIC , PsycINFO , Sociological Abstracts , etc.  

Locate Test Publisher or Author

  • Commercially available tests are usually purchased through test publishers.
  • Publishers hold copyright to tests they distribute and they maintain copies of tests, test manuals, and scoring keys.
  • Contact publishers directly for policies, forms, and purchase information.
  • If you plan on using commercial tests, allow time for order and delivery.
  • For tests that may be out of print commercially or may belong to the original author, contact the original author who developed the instrument and/or subsequent authors who used the instrument to learn more information on how to obtain the instrument.

ETS Test Collection

Detailed Description | Search Tips
A database of descriptive information for over 25,000 tests from varying fields with an emphasis on education; includes Tests in Microfiche.

Google

Detailed Description | Search Tips
A popular Internet search engine.

Health Sciences Library | 1959 NE Pacific Street, T334 Health Sciences Building, Box 357155, Seattle, WA 98195-7155 USA, 206-543-3390 | Privacy | Terms
CC BY-NC 4.0 Text on this page created by UW Libraries is licensed under a CC BY-NC 4.0 license. Images and video are not included. See details.