Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Washington Health Sciences Library

Measurement Tools/Research Instruments

Tips on how to find information about research instruments such as questionnaires.

Scenario

As the ICU supervisor, you have been asked to do a study to measure burnout in your department’s hard-working nursing staff.

What tests are available to measure burnout in nursing staff?

Preliminary Questions

  • What is your purpose for testing?
  • What population are you testing?
  • Do you know what you want to measure?
  • Do you have any test selection criteria?
  • Does the test meet its intended purposes?

Identify Variable to Measure

Define what you want to measure:

  • What terms describe the variable?
  • Is it measurable?
  • Is it too broad or too narrow?
  • Consider all possible related terms
    Example: burnout, job satisfaction, occupational stress

Locate sources of measurement information

  • Measurement handbooks
  • Dictionaries and thesauri

Set Up Test Selection Criteria

Read some guidelines:

Setup your selection criteria:

  • Does it measure what you want it to measure?
  • How are you planning to use it?
  • Is it appropriate for your subjects?
  • Is it available? Is there a cost? Is it copyrighted?
  • How often has it been used or cited?
  • Has it been reviewed?
  • Have you seen a sample?
  • Other characteristics: purpose, age or grade level, format, length of time, language, statistical validity & reliability, administration, scoring services, etc.

Browse Test Sources

  • There are a number of online and print sources for locating tests.
  • Some are in standard test sources and others in the research literature.
  • Some are full-text while others are citation only.
  • When searching sources apply standard or alternative terms in the search box and use special search fields.
  • Use your test criteria above to make your selection.
  • Also look at standard test reviews to insure appropriate use and coverage.

CINAHL Plus

Detailed Description | Search Tips
Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature.

Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC)

Detailed Description | Search Tips
Database covering education journals, reports, proceedings, and curriculum materials.

ETS Test Collection  (Test Link)

Detailed Description | Search Tips
A database of descriptive information for over 25,000 tests from varying fields with an emphasis on education; includes Tests in Microfiche.

PsycINFO

Detailed Description | Search Tips
Database indexing the literature of psychology.

PsycTESTS

Detailed Description | Search Tips
Database focused on information regarding psychological tests.

PubMed

Detailed Description | Search Tips
Database of the biomedical literature.

Sociological Abstracts

Detailed Description | Search Tips
Database of sociological literature including social policy, planning, and development

UW Catalog

Detailed Description | Search Tips
Cumulative holdings of the University of Washington Libraries.

Health Sciences Library | 1959 NE Pacific Street, T334 Health Sciences Building, Box 357155, Seattle, WA 98195-7155 USA, 206-543-3390 | Privacy | Terms
CC BY-NC 4.0 Text on this page created by UW Libraries is licensed under a CC BY-NC 4.0 license. Images and video are not included. See details.