Scholarly Literature
PubMed
National Library of Medicine's citation database of biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Global Health Database
(EBSCOhost) Global public health research and practice, including abstracts of journals, reports, books and conferences.
Global Index Medicus
WHO regional and global databases including AIM (AFRO), LILACS (AMRO/PAHO), IMEMR (EMRO), IMSEAR (SEARO), WPRIM (WPRO), WHOLIS (KMS), and SciELO.
Embase
(Elsevier) Biomedical international database with strong focus on drugs and pharmacology, medical devices, clinical medicine.
SciELO
Scholarly literature from open access journals in Latin American, Portugal, Spain and South Africa.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary database covering journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, with searchable cited references.
Grey Literature
Global Think Tanks New
Research from the world’s leading policy experts, think tanks, IGOs and NGOs.
Think Tank Search
Grey literature search engine from Harvard Kennedy School Library and Knowledge Services.
Open Think Tank Directory
Global collection of think tanks and related organizations.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Index to dissertations and theses 1861-present, with full text available 1997-present.
Dissertations and Theses at UW
Access dissertations and theses from the UW and around the world.
Women and Social Movements: Development and the Global South, 1919-2019
Primary sources chronicling feminist activism in developing countries.
Women and Social Movements, International, 1840-Present New
Primary materials of women activists including personal letters, diaries, and conference proceedings of important international social movements.
Data Sources
Statistics Sources: Health Sciences
UW HSL guide to sources for local, state, national and international statistics and data in the field of health sciences.
Statistical Abstracts of the World
Global, regional, and country-level data of the world.
Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx)
IHME catalog of world's health and demographic datasets. Locate data providers, and search and download publicly available datasets.
WHO: Global Health Observatory Data Repository
Guide to health and health-related epidemiological and statistical information available from World Health Organization.
Global Financial Data
Economic and financial data covering 150 countries and 6,500 different data series.
Maps & Tools
Malaria Atlas Project
Funded principally by the Wellcome Trust.
HealthMap
Global disease alert interactive map. Children's Hospital Informatics Program. Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences & Technology.
News
Global Newsstream
Current international, national & regional newspapers, 1980 - present. Includes Canadian Newsstream, Global Breaking Newswires, International Newsstream, US Newsstream. Formerly called ProQuest Newsstand.
UW Libraries
Citation Management Tools Research Guide
Guides to citation tools, including scheduling consultations.
Systematic reviews and other evidence synthesis projects
Tools and advice for conducting systematic reviews.
Teaching Resources
Ethnographic Video Online
(Alexander Street Anthropology) Collection of classic and contemporary cultural documentaries, online in streaming videos. Includes transcripts, field notes and video-clip making tools
Health Sciences Online
A comprehensive collection of free top-quality courses and full text materials in the health sciences. Produced at U BC.
Gorgas Courses in Clinical Tropical Medicine
Health Information Resources for Developing Countries
JAMA Global Health Collection
Kaiser Daily Global Health Policy
Supercourse: Epidemiology, the Internet and Global Health
Repository of free lectures. Project produced at WHO Collaborating Center University of Pittsburgh.
UW Departments
Department of Global Health
UW Office of Global Affairs
UW Global Operations Support
GlobalHealth.gov
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Global Health Affairs.
Orientation
School of Public Health Orientation
Guide to getting started at the UW School of Public Health.
Librarian
Leah DeSantis
UW Health Sciences Library's Public Health & Research Services Librarian
Class Resources
