Global Health Toolkit

Key Resources

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Major index to articles covering all aspects of medicine.
Global Health (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Global public health research and practice, including abstracts of journals, reports, books and conferences.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation index for the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

WHO: Global Health Observatory Data Repository
Guide to health and health-related epidemiological and statistical information available from World Health Organization.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's citation database of biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Global Health (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Global public health research and practice, including abstracts of journals, reports, books and conferences.
Global Index Medicus This link opens in a new window
WHO regional and global databases including AIM (AFRO), LILACS (AMRO/PAHO), IMEMR (EMRO), IMSEAR (SEARO), WPRIM (WPRO), WHOLIS (KMS), and SciELO.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
Biomedical international database with strong focus on drugs and pharmacology, medical devices, clinical medicine.

SciELO
Scholarly literature from open access journals in Latin American, Portugal, Spain and South Africa.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database covering journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, with searchable cited references.

Global Think Tanks
Research from the world’s leading policy experts, think tanks, IGOs and NGOs.
Think Tank Search
Grey literature search engine from Harvard Kennedy School Library and Knowledge Services.
Open Think Tank Directory
Global collection of think tanks and related organizations.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Index to dissertations and theses 1861-present, with full text available 1997-present.
Dissertations and Theses at UW
Access dissertations and theses from the UW and around the world.
Women and Social Movements: Development and the Global South, 1919-2019
Primary sources chronicling feminist activism in developing countries.
Women and Social Movements, International, 1840-Present
Primary materials of women activists including personal letters, diaries, and conference proceedings of important international social movements.

Statistics Sources: Health Sciences
UW HSL guide to sources for local, state, national and international statistics and data in the field of health sciences.
Federal data: alternative access
UW Libraries guide with alternative access points for federal data that has been removed from official sources.
Statistical Abstracts of the World
Global, regional, and country-level data of the world.
Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx)
IHME catalog of world's health and demographic datasets. Locate data providers, and search and download publicly available datasets.
WHO: Global Health Observatory Data Repository
Guide to health and health-related epidemiological and statistical information available from World Health Organization.
Global Financial Data
Economic and financial data covering 150 countries and 6,500 different data series.

Malaria Atlas Project
Funded principally by the Wellcome Trust.
HealthMap
Global disease alert interactive map. Children's Hospital Informatics Program. Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences & Technology.

Global Newsstream
Current international, national & regional newspapers, 1980 - present. Includes Canadian Newsstream, Global Breaking Newswires, International Newsstream, US Newsstream. Formerly called ProQuest Newsstand.

Citation Management Tools Research Guide
Guides to citation tools, including scheduling consultations.
Systematic reviews and other evidence synthesis projects
Tools and advice for conducting systematic reviews.

Grant Resources
Starting points for funding databases, grant sources, and grant writing.
UW School of Public Health Job Listings
Public Health Jobs and Fellowships approved by a moderator.
APHA CareerMart
Career guidance and job postings by the American Public Health Association (APHA).
PublicHealth Career Guide
List of public health fields and careers.
CDC Health Department Directories
Directory of U.S. health departments.
Washington State Local Health Departments and Districts
Find your local department of health in Washington State.

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Schedule a Zoom meeting with me

Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Collection of classic and contemporary cultural documentaries, online in streaming videos. Includes transcripts, field notes and video-clip making tools