Health Systems & Population Health Toolkit

Key Resources

DynaMedex
Clinical medical reference tool for diseases, disorders, symptoms, treatments, and Micromedex's evidence-based drug information.
PubMed
Major index to articles covering all aspects of medicine.
Web of Science
Citation index for the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

PubMed
National Library of Medicine's citation database of biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

PubMed Health Services Research (HSR) Queries
PubMed searches on healthcare quality and costs.
Business Subject Guide
Databases available at UW (Foster Business Library), and guides to researching companies, industries and markets.
BCC Research
Specialized market research reports covering high-tech, energy, and healthcare sectors.
Law Subject Guide
Gallagher Law Library research guides
Database of promoting health effectiveness reviews (DoPHER)
Coverage of systematic and non-systematic reviews of effectiveness in health promotion and public health worldwide.
HCUP: Healthcare Cost and Utilization Databases
State, regional and national level discharge data, available for purchase. Includes State Inpatient Databases (SID), State Ambulatory Surgery Databases (SASD), State Emergency Department Databases (SEDD), Nationwide Inpatient Sample (NIS), and Kids' Inpatient Database (KID). Free tools include AHRQ Quality Indicators (QIs), Clinical Classifications Software (CCS), Comorbidity Software, and HCUPnet, a web interface to free HCUP data.
MEPS - Medical Expenditure Panel Survey
A set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States providing data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.

UW Libraries Search
Search UW Libraries resources for ebooks, ejournals, databases, videos, and more.
WorldCat
(Formerly OCLC FirstSearch) Catalog of holdings from thousands of libraries worldwide

Statistics Sources: Health Sciences
UW HSL guide to sources for local, state, national and international statistics and data in the field of health sciences.
Government Publications Subject Guide
Provides access to publications and data produced by governmental and inter-governmental agencies at the international, national, state and local levels.
Federal data: alternative access
UW Libraries guide with alternative access points for federal data that has been removed from official sources.
Stedman's Medical Dictionary
Health Care Reform Guide
Government Publications Quick Links by Subject
Center for Studying Health System Change
Nonpartisan policy research organization which conducts studies of U.S. health care system.
Commonwealth Fund
Private foundation supporting independent research on health care issues and making grants to improve health care practice and policy. Publications include issue briefs, newsletters & health system scorecards.
Kaiser Family Foundation
Archived Kaiser.EDU tutorials regarding health policy issues, research methodology and government.
Maternal and Child Health Knowledge Base
Resources for selected MCH topics, compiled at the MCH Library at Georgetown U.
National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR)
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

ECRI Guidelines Trust
A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) Evidence Reports
Clinical, health care services, and methodology reports from Evidence-based Practice Centers.
Health Services/Technology Assessment Texts (HSTAT)
Includes evidence-based reviews from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

Cochrane Library
Systematic reviews (CDSR), DARE, controlled trials register, technology assessments, economic evaluations.

Grant Resources
Starting points for funding databases, grant sources, and grant writing.
UW School of Public Health Job Listings
Public Health Jobs and Fellowships approved by a moderator.
APHA CareerMart
Career guidance and job postings by the American Public Health Association (APHA).
PublicHealth Career Guide
List of public health fields and careers.
CDC Health Department Directories
Directory of U.S. health departments.
Washington State Local Health Departments and Districts
Find your local department of health in Washington State.

Policy Commons: Global Think Tanks
Research from the worlds leading policy experts, think tanks, IGOs and NGOs.
Policy Commons: North American City Reports
Over five million pages of in-depth surveys, reports, and research from more than six hundred North American cities and urban agencies.

Open Think Tank Directory
Global collection of think tanks and related organizations.
Union of International Associations IGO Search
Search all intergovernmental websites, comprising over 3000 bodies including the United Nations, the European Commission, the World Bank, etc.
Intergovernmental Organization search engine
Custom Google search engine that searches across hundreds of IGO websites.
NGO search engine
Custom Google search engine designed to search across hundreds of NGO websites.
Yearbook of International Organizations
Detailed descriptions of non-governmental (NGO), inter-governmental, non-profit, and other international organizations.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Index to dissertations and theses from all fields of study, 1861-present, with full text available 1997-present.
Dissertations and Theses at UW
Find scholarly work closely reviewed by a committee for a doctoral degree (for dissertations) or masters degree (for theses).

U.S. & Global E-Newspapers
UW guide to accessing subscription news through UW subscriptions.
Washington Healthcare News
Register for free e-mail delivery.

CQ Health
Provides key health policy developments on Capitol Hill, and in agencies including CMS, NIH, CDC and AHRQ.

Health Reform Source
Roundup of studies and developments related to health reform.

School of Public Health Orientation
Guide to getting started at the UW School of Public Health.

Public Health and Research Services Librarian