Research Guides
Japanese Pop Culture: Reference
Resources for researching Japanese pop culture, including anime, fashion, film, manga, and video games.
UW Libraries Search
Dictionaries
-
Nihongo Pera Pera
by
An entertaining but serious guide to the proper and subtle ways to use onomatopoeic Japanese expressions.
Call Number: East Asia Library General Stacks PL685 .M47 1993ISBN: 0804818908Publication Date: 1993-05-15 -
A Practical Guide to Japanese-English Onomatopoeia and Mimesis
by
Call Number: East Asia Library Asia Auxiliary PL679 .O56 1984ISBN: 4590007223Publication Date: 1984 -
アニメ作品事典 : 解說・原作データ付き Dictionary of Animation Works
by
Call Number: East Asia Library Reference NC1766.J3 A54 2010ISBN: 4816922687Publication Date: 2010 -
日本映画作品辞典. 戦前篇 Complete dictionary of Japanese movies from 1896 to 1945
Call Number: East Asia Library Asia Auxiliary PN1993.5.J3 N57 1996ISBN: 4760301534Publication Date: 1996 -
日本映画作品辞典. 戦後篇 Complete dictionary of Japanese movies from 1945 August to 1988 December
Call Number: East Asia Library Asia Auxiliary PN1993.5.J3 N58 1998ISBN: 4760301542Publication Date: 1998 -
日本語オノマトペ辞典 : 擬音語・擬態語4500 Nihongo onomatope jiten: giongo, gitaigo 4500
by
Call Number: East Asia Library Reference PL685 .N54 2007ISBN: 4095041749Publication Date: 2007
Online Resources
-
JAANUS: Japanese architectural and art net users systemOnline art history & architecture encyclopedia
-
Japan knowledge ジャパンナレッジ This link opens in a new windowFull-text collection of Japanese encyclopedias, dictionaries and other works.
You may search and multi-search the following major encyclopedias and dictionaries using Japan Knowledge.
- 日本大百科全書(ニッポニカ)
- デジタル大辞泉
- 数え方の辞典
- 情報・知識 imidas
- 現代用語の基礎知識
- 亀井肇の新語探検
- JK Who's Who
- 日本人名大辞典
- 会社四季報
- プログレッシブ英和中辞典
- ランダムハウス英和大辞典
- プログレッシブ和英中辞典
- Web版・最新英語情報辞典
- Encyclopedia of Japan
- COBUILD英英辞典
- CAMBRIDGE英英辞典
- 誰でも読める日本史年表
- 週刊エコノミスト
- 新編 日本古典文学全集
-
文化学園貴重書デジタルアーカイブA digital archive of Japanese language materials on fashion.
Encyclopedia
-
A Critical Handbook of Japanese Film Directors
by
This important work fills the need for a reasonably priced yet comprehensive volume on major directors in the history of Japanese film. With clear insight and without academic jargon, Jacoby examines the works of over 150 filmmakers to uncover what makes their films worth watching. Included are artistic profiles of everyone from Yutaka Abe to Isao Yukisada, including masters like Kinji Fukasaku, Juzo Itami, Akira Kurosawa, Takashi Miike, Kenji Mizoguchi, Yasujiro Ozu, and Yoji Yamada. Each entry includes a critical summary and filmography, making this book an essential reference and guide. UK-basedAlexander Jacoby is a writer and researcher on Japanese film.
Call Number: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries Stacks PN1998.2 .J29 2008ISBN: 1933330538Publication Date: 2008-10-01 -
The Anime Encyclopedia, 3rd Revised Edition
by
"Impressive, exhaustive, labyrinthine, and obsessive--The Anime Encyclopedia is an astonishing piece of work."--Neil Gaiman Over one thousand new entries . . . over four thousand updates . . . over one million words. . . This third edition of the landmark reference work has six additional years of information on Japanese animation, its practitioners and products, plus incisive thematic entries on anime history and culture. With credits, links, cross-references, and content advisories for parents and libraries. Jonathan Clements has been an editor of Manga Max and a contributing editor of Newtype USA. Helen McCarthy was founding editor of Anime UK and editor of Manga Mania.
Call Number: EBookISBN: 1611729092Publication Date: 2015-02-09 -
The Dorama Encyclopedia
by
Deeply connected to Japanese anime, manga, music, and film is . . . Japanese TV. This encyclopedic survey of the next cultural tsunami to hit America has over one thousand entries--including production data, synopses, and commentaries--on everything from rubber-monster shows to samurai drama, from crime to horror, unlocking an entire culture's pop history as never before. Over one hundred fifty of these shows have been broadcast on American TV, and more will follow, perhaps even such oddball fare as a Japanese "The Practice" and "Geisha Detective." Indexed, with resources for fans, couch potatoes, and researchers. Jonathan Clements is contributing editor toNewtype USA Magazineand coauthor ofThe Anime Encyclopedia. Motoko Tamamuro is an art historian and contributor toManga Max.
Call Number: UW Bothell/CC Library Reference - 1st Floor PN1992.3.J3 C58 2003ISBN: 1880656817Publication Date: 2003-11-01 -
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture
by
Offering extensive coverage, this Encyclopediais a new reference that reflects the vibrant, diverse and evolving culture of modern Japan, spanning from the end of the Japanese Imperialist period in 1945 to the present day. Entries cover areas such as literature, film, architecture, food, health, political economy, religion and technology and they range from shorter definitions, histories or biographies to longer overview essays giving an in-depth treatment of major issues. With over 700 alphabetically arranged entries, this Encyclopediawill be an invaluable reference tool for students of Japanese and Asian Studies, as well as providing a fascinating insight into Japanese culture for the general reader. Suggestions for further reading, a comprehensive system of cross-referencing, a thematic contents list and an extensive index all help navigate the reader around the Encyclopediaand on to further study.
Call Number: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries First Floor Reference DS822.5 .E516 2002ISBN: 0415143446Publication Date: 2001-12-14 -
The Encyclopedia of Japanese Horror Films
by
Although the horror genre has been embraced by filmmakers around the world, Japan has been one of the most prolific and successful purveyors of such films. From science fiction terrors of the 1950s like Godzilla to violent films like Suicide Circle and Ichi the Killer, Japanese horror film has a diverse history. While the quality of some of these films has varied, others have been major hits in Japan and beyond, frightening moviegoers around the globe. Many of these films--such as the Ringu movies--have influenced other horror productions in both Asia and the United States. The Encyclopedia of Japanese Horror Films covers virtually every horror film made in Japan from the past century to date. In addition to major and modest productions, this encyclopedia also features entries on notable directors, producers, and actors. Each film entry includes comprehensive details, situates the film in the context and history of Japanese horror cinema, and provides brief suggestions for further reading. Although emphasizing horror as a general theme, this encyclopedia also encompasses other genres that are associated with this theme, including Comedy Horror, Science Fiction Horror, Cyber-punk Horror, Ero Guru (Erotic Grotesque), and Anime Horror. The Encyclopedia of Japanese Horror Films is a comprehensive reference volume that will appeal to both cinema scholars as well as to the many fans of this popular genre.
Call Number: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries Stacks PN1995.9.H6 E53 2016ISBN: 1442261668Publication Date: 2016-07-29 -
The Encyclopedia of Japanese Pop Culture
by
In the West, Japanese culture comes in the form of Power Rangers, Godzilla movies, and Sanrio products, but of course the indigenous pop culture is much richer. Rather than focus on what the rest of the world has already encountered, Mark Schilling provides an encyclopedic compendium of books, movies, music, comedians, and cultural scandals that have had the greatest impact in Japan. Thus, for the outsider, The Encyclopedia of Japanese Pop Culture is an insider's guide to post-war Japan. Not content to simply catalog his entries, Schilling provides real depth and analysis in his articles, opening up Japan's rich pop heritage to the world at large.
Call Number: East Asia Library General Stacks DS822.5 .S3 1997ISBN: 0834803801Publication Date: 1997-05-01 -
Japan: an Illustrated encyclopedia
This work offers information on contemporary Japanese society, history, artnd culture and also contains data on the economy, government, and politicsf Japan. In addition to the main entries and over 4000 colour illustrations,here are nearly 100 feature articles and pictorial essays.
Call Number: East Asia Library Reference DS805 .J263 1993ISBN: 4062064898Publication Date: 1993 -
大衆文化事典 Encyclopedia of popular culture
by
Call Number: East Asia Library Asia Auxiliary DS821.T24 1991ISBN: 4335550464Publication Date: 1991 -
現代日本映画人名事典. 女優篇 Illustrated who's who of modern Japanese cinema
by
Call Number: East Asia Library Reference PN1998.2 .G463 2011ISBN: 4873763754Publication Date: 2011 -
現代日本映画人名事典. 男優篇 Illustrated who's who of modern Japanese cinema
by
Call Number: East Asia Library Reference PN1998.2 .G464 2012ISBN: 4873763878Publication Date: 2012
