Research Guides
American Indian Studies: Encyclopedias
Starting point for research in American Indian Studies
ency
Encyclopedias help you figure out the who, what & where of a topic. Knowing the who, what & where of a topic is the first step in researching a topic and discovering the "how" and "why". Encyclopedias and dictionaries can provide background information and can be used to identify key people, events and dates which can then be used as search terms for finding additional information. Many also provide a jumpstart on your research by listing related readings.
Two online encyclopedia collections: Gale Ebooks & Oxford Reference Online.
Quick Info: Encyclopedias
- 50 Events That Shaped American Indian History
This link opens in a new window
- American Indian Culture
- This link opens in a new window
- American Indian Experience
- This link opens in a new window
- American Indian Wars: The Essential Reference Guide
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of American Indian History
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of American Indian Issues Today
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Native American Flags
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Native American History
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of the American Indian Movement
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of Native American Movements
- This link opens in a new window
- Indian Treaties in the United States: An Encyclopedia and Documents Collection
- This link opens in a new window
- Indigenous Peoples: An Encyclopedia of Culture, History, and Threats to Survival
- This link opens in a new window
- Native America: A State-by-State Historical Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
- Notable Writers of the American West & the Native American Experience
- This link opens in a new window
Profiles of Tribes
- Columbia guide to American Indians of the Great Plains
- This link opens in a new window
- Columbia guide to American Indians of the Northeast
- This link opens in a new window
- Columbia guide to American Indians of the Southeast
- This link opens in a new window
- Columbia Guide to American Indians of the Southwest
- This link opens in a new window
In-Depth Info: Handbooks & Companions
These books provide a survey of the state of research about a topic or region, historiography or concise overviews.
- Companion to American Indian History
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Custer and the Little Bighorn Campaign
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of American Indian History
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Indigenous American Literature
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of North American Archaeology
- This link opens in a new window
- Routledge Handbook of North American Languages
- This link opens in a new window
- Routledge Handbook on Native American Justice Issues
- This link opens in a new window