Bioen 541: Design Skills I: Clinical Needs Evaluation: Home

OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS TO LIBRARY RESOURCES

• When off-campus, use library links to databases (including PubMed) and journals.  You'll be prompted to log in with your UW NetID to gain access to UW subscriptions.  Learn more here.
• Consider setting up Husky OnNet for off-campus access.

GETTING TO FULL TEXT ARTICLES          

• In article databases, look for the "Check for Full Text" icon. You will be led either to the online version of the article or to a document request form. The library's document delivery service will send you a copy free of charge if it's not available online. 
• Consider downloading the LibKey Nomad extension for full-text articles with fewer clicks.
• While using UW Libraries Search, if the UW Libraries does not have direct access to the article you are looking for, you can get it by clicking on the “Request Article” button.
• Customize PubMed to show UW full-text links by modifying settings in your My NCBI account.
• Customize Google Scholar to show UW full-text links by modifying settings in your Google account.

WRITING SUPPORT

• The Odegaard Writing & Research Center offers individual online writing consultations to all interested students. 

RESEARCH COMMONS and OPEN SCHOLARSHIP COMMONS

• The Research Commons in the Allen Library offers help with writing, designing posters & presentations, and using citation managers.
• The Open Scholarship Commons in the Suzzallo Library helps develop skills in open scholarship and publishing, including copyright, open science and data, research impact support, and data management.

BIOENGINEERING RESEARCH GUIDE

• Recommended research resources in Bioengineering
• Article databases, technical reports, reference books, standards, & research tips

MATCHING YOUR RESEARCH QUESTION TO A DATABASE

• Biomedical research and clinical studies?  Try PubMed or Embase (good for devices).
• Clinical standard of care?  Try DynaMed, UpToDate, or Clinical Key textbooks.
• Engineering articles, conference papers, and technical reports?  Try IEEE or Engineering Village (Compendex & INSPEC).
• Engineering standards?  Try ASTM Compass. [The Firefox browser with Husky OnNet is required for off-campus access.]
• Patents? Try Google Patents.
• Chemistry and biotechnology articles and patents; chemical and material properties?  Try SciFinder.
• Citation chasing across the scientific literature (who cited this paper?): Try Web of Science or Google Scholar.
• Market reports?  Try BCC Research.  [Husky OnNet is required for off-campus access.] or MarketResearch.com.
• Looking for ebooks on engineering, technology, health, or medicine? Try the E-Book Collections Research Guide.

Christina Byrne - Assistant Head, Engineering Library

Diana Louden - Life Sciences Librarian, Suzzallo-Allen Libraries.

Email both of us with questions!