Bioen 541: Design Skills I: Clinical Needs Evaluation: Engineering Information Resources

Databases and resources for bioengineering researchers developing solutions for clinical practice

Patents

Espacenet (EPO)
Covers millions of patent documents from more than 90+ countries including the United States. Database of the European Patent Office (EPO).
Google Patents
Indexes full-text patent documents from the US, European Patent Office, Canada, China, Germany, and WIPO.
Patent Lens
Open public patent database indexing patent documents from national and regional patent offices. Full-text documents from the US, WIPO, and EPO are available.
USPTO Patent Databases
United States Patent and Trademark Office. US issued patents and patent applications.

SciFinder This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Chemical information database covering journals, patents, conference proceedings & technical papers.

Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Information sources in applied science and engineering
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and general interest sources in all fields.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Association of Computing Machinery journals, magazines, and conference proceedings.

ASME Digital Collection
Journals and conference proceedings from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME).
* Includes biomechanical engineering and biomedical engineering.

ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering standards, technical reports, journal articles, and books. The Firefox browser and installation of Husky OnNet is required for off-campus access.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE publications and standards in engineering, computer science, and related fields.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Chemical information database covering journals, patents, conference proceedings & technical papers.
Walk-in users must contact the Chemistry Librarian for access.
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and proceedings from the International Society for Optics and Photonics, 1962 to present.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citation index for the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering standards. ASTM standards and test methods. Now including EN/European and EN adopted ISO standards. The Firefox browser and installation of Husky OnNet is required for off-campus access.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE publications and standards in engineering, computer science, and related fields.

ISO Standards Catalogue
* Use the ISO catalog to identify standards or browse to preview content.
UW Libraries Research Guide for Standards
* Learn more about standards and how to find them.
* Discover what is available online and in print.
* Includes link to the UW Engineering Library Standards Database
UW Engineering Library Standards Database
Use this simple database to find the standards that the UW Engineering Library has in print.

Knovel This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering and science books including ASM Handbooks.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers Science, Technology, Engineering, and Medicine.
ASM Handbooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ASM handbooks on metals and materials engineering and science.
SpringerMaterials This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Curated data and advanced functionalities to support research in materials science, physics, chemistry, engineering, and other related fields. A comprehensive database covering multiple material classes, property types, and applications.Includes data visualization options and search functions optimized to quickly find material property data.
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference and teaching platform featuring interdisciplinary engineering content integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools.Includes engineering handbooks.