Skip to main content
Starting Points for Finding Articles about Canada's indigenous peoples
The following resources are good places to begin your search for articles relating to Canada's Indigenous Peoples. Resources may include references to other materials, such as books, dissertations or government publications.
Bibliography of Native North Americans
Covers all aspects of North America's aboriginal culture, history and life. Includes books, journals and government documents. Includes some links to full-text.
Alaska & Polar Periodical Index
Citations for articles about Alaska, northern Canada, northern Scandinavia, the Russian Far East, and Antarctica. No full text.
First Nations Child & Family Indigenous Knowledge Portal
An index of literature reviews, reports, guides, films, booklets, studies, journal articles and presentations all related to Aboriginal children and families in Canada and similar countries.
First Nations Periodical Index
Contains citations and some full text-articles to journals of mainly Canadian aboriginal content.
Hubert Wenger Eskimo Database
Indexes literature written by explorers, missionaries, ethnographers, and others who were among the first Euroamericans to travel among and write about Inuit/Eskimo peoples.
Indigenous Studies Portal
Contains more than 21,000 citations to books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, maps. Also includes full-text primary sources, such as photos, anthropological field notes, diaries, correspondence and other textual documents.
NHD: Native Health Database
Contains citations to and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
A multidisciplinary collection of references to northern and native subjects. Strong in the history of northern exploration and current topics such as native landclaims, native health and educational issues, mining, and the environmental impacts of development in the north. Citations only. Coverage: 1996 - June 2004