Skip to main content
The following resources are good places to begin your search for
articles relating to Canadian Studies. Resources may include references to
other materials, such as books or government publications.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database
Canadian Business & Current Affairs provides in-depth access to a wide variety of Canadian periodicals, from academic titles to special interest publications to general magazines. Includes some full-text.
Indigenous Studies Portal
Contains more than 21,000 citations to books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, maps. Also includes full-text primary sources, such as photos, anthropological field notes, diaries, correspondence and other textual documents.
Institute for Research on Public Policy
Indexes peer-reviewed articles, monographs, papers and presentations related to Canadian public policy. Includes some full-text.
The following resources may also be useful for beginning research in Canadian Studies.
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly and general interest periodicals in all disciplines. Includes some full-text.
America: History & Life with Full Text
Scholarly sources in American and Canadian history. Includes some full-text.
Searchable full-text of more than 300 journals from the UMI microfilm collections "English Literary Periodicals" and "British Periodicals in the Creative Arts". Topics covered include literature, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture. Coverage: Late 1700's to early 1900's.
Library & Archives Canada
Browse the collections and databases maintained by staff at Canada's national library and archives. Includes some full-text and some links to full-text.
First Nations Periodical Index
Contains citations and some full text-articles to journals of mainly Canadian aboriginal content. No longer being maintained, so not suitable for current affairs research.
Full-text back issues of hundreds of scholarly journals, some of which date back to the 1800's.
PAIS - Public Affairs Information Service (ProQuest)
Indexes journal articles, books, and selected government documents in the areas of public affairs, policy, and politics. Citations only, but with links to full-text where available.
Current issues of more than 100 scholarly journals primarily in the humanities & social sciences. Full-text.