Skip to main content

Research Guides

Research Guide

Welcome to the library webpage for COM 442, History of Media Technology & Regulation.  This webpage provides resources to help you find more information on the themes and topics of the course.

Additional resources can be found via the research guides for Cinema StudiesCommunication Studies and American History

Most of the databases on this page are restricted to UW students, staff and faculty. These are marked with a lock UW Restricted. To connect to these databases from home you will need to login with your UWnetid.

Have questions or need research help? Please contact these librarians:

  • Jessica Albano, the communication studies librarian, at jalbano@uw.edu
  • Theresa Mudrock, the history librarian, at mudrock@uw.edu

Research Time-Savers

  • Database alerts.  Library databases will email you when articles that match your search are added to the database. 

  • Cross-database searching.  If the UW Libraries subscribes to more than one database from a company, you can usually search those databases at the same time (ex. Search these EBSCO databases at one time: Academic Search Complete, American, History & Life, Business Source Copmlete, and Communication & Mass Media Complete)  Note that you may lose some search functionality specific to a databases (ex. limiting a search to time period in America, History & Life).

  • Connect to 24/7 real-time, online question service

Cinema, Communication, Media Studies & News Librarian

Jessica Albano's picture
Jessica Albano
Try my new scheduling calendar using the button below:
Contact:
jalbano@uw.edu
Government Publications, Maps, Microforms & Newspapers
Suzzallo Library, G070B
206.685.1637
Subjects:News

Library Research Award

library research award

Check the Awards page for more information and the application form.