Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- Geography
- Books & Encyclopedias
Geography: Books & Encyclopedias
Welcome to the research guide for Geography, a starting point for finding journal articles, books, data and more!
UW Libraries Search: Search for Articles, Books and More!
Search for Books on Geography
Tips for using UW Libraries Search for Books on Geography:
- Try a keyword search and add these phrases: Geography, Human Geography, Critical Geography, etc.
- Use Refine My Results (along the left of your search results) to narrow the scope of your search. Try refining your search by Topic, Source Type and Publication Year.
- Getting too many results? Don't want to wait for interlibrary loan? Try limiting your search by Library for items close to you.
- Still can't find what you're looking for? Chat with a librarian 24/7 using the Ask Us feature.
Find Background Information: Scholarly Encyclopedias
- International Encyclopedia of GeographyAn encyclopedia of over 1000 entries providing definitive coverage of the field, encompassing human geography, physical geography, geographic information science and systems, earth studies, and environmental science.
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryFind scholarly e-books and subject encyclopedias that provide short, background articles
- Encyclopedia of GISEntries explain the key software, data sets, and processes used by geographers and computational scientists
- Encyclopedia of Human GeographyGet an overview of your topic as it has been discussed by geographers along with references to key literature.
- International Encyclopedia of Housing and HomeArticles are international in scope, engaging with trends on housing and home in every world region.
