Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- Geography
- Geography E-Journals
Geography: Geography E-Journals
Welcome to the research guide for Geography, a starting point for finding journal articles, books, data and more!
Geography E-Journals
Comprehensive list of journals from Geography and related fields.
Jump To: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #
A
Acme: An International E-Journal for Critical Geographies
Provides a forum for critical work about space in the social sciences, including anarchist, anti-racist, environmentalist, feminist, Marxist, non-representational, postcolonial, poststructuralist, queer, situationist and socialist perspectives
African Geographical Review
Covers African regional geography and current African scholarship
Agriculture & Human Values
Discusses the values that shape and the structures that underlie current and alternative visions of food and agricultural systems
American Geographical Society's Focus on Geography
Covers a variety of topics in language suitable for diverse readership
Annals of the Association of American Geographers
Interdisciplinary journal covering four major areas — Environmental Sciences; Methods, Models, and Geographic Information Science; Nature and Society; and People, Place, and Region
The Annals of Regional Science
Explores the interdisciplinary field of regional and urban studies
Antipode
Recommended e-journal for radical Geography research & international topics
ARC News
Freely accessible publication for those interested in mapping and GIS technology
Area
Recommended e-journal for current Geography research & international topics
Journal of the Geographical Society of New South Wales
The journal from the Canadian Association of Geographers publishes research that touches on social, scientific and technical issues, with a particular focus on Canada
Covers all aspects of cartography, the science of presenting, communicating and analyzing spatial relationships by means of maps and other geographical representations of the Earth's surface
Scholarly journal of the North American Cartographic Information Society. Features unique cover art, featured research & techniques articles, software & book reviews, a map gallery, & more
Scholarly journal on cartographic theory, history, and societal implications
The official publication of the Cartography and Geographic Information Society (CaGIS)
Children's Geographies
Focused on issues that impact upon the geographical worlds of children and young people under the age of 25 and of their families
Citizenship Studies
Focused on contemporary issues in citizenship, human rights and democratic processes from an interdisciplinary perspective covering the fields of politics, sociology, history, anthropology, and cultural studies
Analysis of Urban Trends, Culture, Theory, Policy, Action
Covers the field of development studies and social change
E
Peer-reviewed articles on all aspects of food and nutrition--ecological, biological, and cultural.
An interdisciplinary journal of urban and regional research
Environment & Planning B: Urban Analytics and City Science
Covers the built environment and the spatial structure of cities and regions
Covers the spatialization of politics and the politicization of spatial relations
Environment & Planning D: Society and Space
Recommended interdisciplinary journal examining the relation between the social and the spatial
Covers the fields of human settlements and environment among researchers, activists and non-governmental organizations (NGOs) in low- and middle-income nations
Environmental History
Interdisciplinary journal addressing issues relating to human interactions with the natural world over time
Covers all aspects of environmental ethics, environmental philosophy, and the normative dimensions of environmental policy
Focused on geographic and economic issues in China, Russia, India, European Union, and other regions within the Eurasian realm
Covers migration law and policy with specific emphasis on the European Union, the Council of Europe and migration activities within the Organisation for Security and Cooperation in Europe.
Open Access international peer-review journal dedicated to all fields of geography.
Explores the complex relationships among food, culture, and society from numerous disciplines, as well as in the world of food beyond the academy
Covers food as an important source of knowledge about different cultures and societies, and discusses the history, literature, representation, and cultural impact of food
Covers feminist Geography, development studies, gender studies and human Geography
Geoforum
Focuses on the organization of economic, political, social and environmental systems through space and over time
A multilingual journal of geography publishing articles on current and theoretical developments from any aspect of human, physical and methodical geography and related disciplines
Publishes geographical theory, model building, and quantitative methods to geographers and scholars in a wide spectrum of related fields
Journal of the Geographical Association furthering the study, learning and teaching of Geography
An online-only journal publishing original, peer-reviewed surveys of current research from across the entire discipline
Focused on teaching strategies for K-12 geography, AP Human Geography, and introductory college geography
An International Journal on Advances of Computer Science for Geographic Information Systems
Explores the theoretical implications of contemporary geopolitics and geopolitical change with particular reference to territorial problems and issues of state sovereignty
Focused on global networks, transnational affairs and practices, and their relation to wider theories of globalization
Main focus is on urbanisation in its broadest sense in the developing world
An interdisciplinary journal dedicated to the study of all aspects of health and health care in which place or location matters
An annual journal of research, commentary, and reviews concerning geographic perspectives on the past
International journal and major forum for theoretical and analytical developments in the housing field
Covers topics ranging from geopolitics, through cultural and economic issues, to political ecology
I
Provides a forum for the exchange of original ideas, approaches, methods and experiences in the rapidly growing field of geographical information science (GIScience)
An open access, peer-reviewed, online journal fully dedicated to publishing quality manuscripts on all aspects of geospatial information systems and science applications in health and healthcare
Covers wide variety of research topics related to population, space and place
Focused on development, implementation and use of Spatial Data Infrastructures (SDIs)
Focused on tourism and hospitality research developments
Covers urban and regional research from a range of critical, comparative and geographic perspectives
International forum for economists, geographers, planners, and other social scientists; focuses on issues of theory, method, and public policy where the spatial or regional dimension is central
Covers policy relevance in international migration and provides coverage of all regions of the world and to comparative policy
Publishes research studies within the context of geographical and environmental education
Covers agrarian political economy and investigates the social relations and dynamics of production, property and power in agrarian formations and their processes of change, both historical and contemporary
Covers the concepts, information, and progress of the remote sensing community
Papers dealing with all aspects of spatial, ecological and historical biogeography
Scholarly journal devoted to the spatial aspects of human groups, their activities, associated landscapes, and other cultural phenomena
Interdisciplinary journal covering all areas of development studies
Focused on the geographic nature of economic systems and global economic change
Covers all aspects of epidemiology and public health and is concerned with the study and improvement of communities worldwide
Covers migration and its consequences, as well as articles on ethnic conflict, discrimination, racism, nationalism, citizenship and policies of integration
Covers physical process and spatial patterns at the earth's surface, physio-geographical elements and their interaction, global change and its regional response, and more
Covers theoretical & practical issues in regional science, geography, the environmental sciences & planning
Focused on geography learning and teaching in all institutions of higher education throughout the world
Publishes articles on all aspects of historical geography and cognate fields, including environmental history
Covers rural issues like society, demography, housing, employment, transport, services, land-use, recreation, agriculture and conservation
The journal covers all modes of transport and a wide variety of economic themes
Focused on urban research and policy analysis
Focused on landscape evolution and history
M
Focused on implications of migration on boarderless migration, refugees, labor laws, and policy changes
Examines the large-scale movements of people, objects, capital, and information across the world, and processes of daily transportation, movement through public and private spaces, and the travel of material things in everyday life
Avenue for scholarly research on the physical and human aspects of the Polar Regions
Covers critical, feminist, and popular geopolitics, Electoral geography and policy analysis, Identity, landscapes, and representation, and Peace and conflict studies
Focused on geographical population studies
Journal of the Association of American Geographers, emphasizing empirical studies and methodologies, as well as book reviews
Covers all areas of human geography research - philosophical, theoretical, thematic, methodological or empirical
Covers Physical Geography and interrelated fields across the Earth, Biological and Ecological System Sciences
Q
Quaestiones Geographicae
Journal focuses on research in the fields of physical geography, economic and human geography, spatial management and planning, sustainable development and GIS
R
Regional Studies
Covers economic, environmental, political, and social change aspects of regional (subnational) development and policy-making
Journal focused on the science and technology of remote sensing as well as its applications
Articles, expedition reports, cultural geography, and news and views on research, expeditions and events on all aspects of geography published by the Royal Geographical Society, London.
S
Focused on the physical and human environments of the tropics and development issues from geographical as well as interrelated disciplinary viewpoints
Focused on on the spatialities of society and culture
Focuses on the interrelation of society, practice and space and its implications for every day-life, social and environmental policy or economic practice
Covers research relevant to any aspect of health from a wide range of disciplines focused on physical and mental health, health care, clinical practice, and health policy and organization
Publishes research papers on all geographical topics
Focuses on the changing relationships between the state, and regional and local forms of governance, including decentralization, regionalism and nationalism
Focused on reporting research conducted to advance geodetic surveying, land surveying, and geographic information systems (GIS)
Focused on all aspects of sustainability research
T
Tourismos : An International Multidisciplinary Journal of Tourism
Focused on all fields of tourism, including travel, hospitality and leisure
Provides a platform for the development of critical perspectives on the nature of tourism as a social phenomenon
Focused on on the latest advances and best practices in the spatial sciences
Interdisciplinary, international journal covers human and physical geography
U
Urban Affairs Review
Scholarly journal on urban issues and themes
Urban Geography
Covers urban policy; race, poverty, and ethnicity in the city; international differences in urban form and function; historical preservation; the urban housing market; and provision of services and urban economic activity.
Urban Studies
Interdisciplinary journal covering critical urban research and issues
W
Western Geography
Focus on geographical themes or topics that emphasize western Canada and adjacent areas, or that are written by geographers from this region
World Development
Journal covers research that examines potential solutions to problems such as: poverty, unemployment, malnutrition, disease, lack of shelter, environmental degradation, international debt, gender and ethnic discrimination, and more
Annals of the Association of American Geographers
Area
Habitat International
Journal of Biogeography
Polar Geography
Progress in Human Geography
Remote Sensing Letters
Surveys and Perspectives Integrating Environment and Society
Urban Geography
Urban Studies
