Hans Christian Andersen: Sources for Andersen Research

H. C. Andersen

Hans Christian Andersen was a 19th-century Danish author, best known for his timeless children's stories and fairy tales. His stories have been translated into numerous languages and have inspired countless adaptations in various artistic media.

Explore these resources to find primary and secondary sources. Search for Hans Christian Andersen by name, or the titles of individual works (in English, Danish, or other languages), or combine subject terms and keywords to find relevant materials.

Societies, Associations, Research Centers

Scholarly societies and associations, research centers, and other institutions may be dedicated to an author, their work, and their legacy. These institutions may provide publications or other relevant resources.

H. C. Andersen Center
The University of Southern Denmark's H.C. Andersen Center is a leading research center for Andersen, working on literary, cultural, and communication approaches to his works, life, and cultural significance.
International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY)
International non-profit children's literature organization. Presents the prestigious Hans Christian Andersen Award to authors and illustrators whose work has made a lasting contribution to children's literature.

Museums & Other Collections

Andersen's manuscripts, art, and other relics are housed in various libraries, museums, archives, and other cultural institutions. Some of these offer digital collections online to supplement their physical collections, offering online access to unique materials. Explore these institutions' online Andersen collections and find access to a range of primary and secondary sources.

Museum Odense
Find digital collections, articles, and more from the Danish state museum responsible for covering Hans Christian Andersen and his works and overseeing H. C. Andersens Hus.
Royal Danish Library | Digital Collections
A range of culturally significant digital collections from the Royal Danish Library, including Andersen manuscripts, paper cuts (papirklip), and more.

Encyclopedias & Reference

Search author names in comprehensive general reference collections online to find biographical sketches, bibliographies, and more from a diverse range of disciplinary approaches.

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text encyclopedias in all subject areas
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text dictionaries, encyclopedias, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.

Journals

Scholarly journals may cover a discipline or subject area broadly, or may have a more focused topic, such as a single writer and their body of work.

Anderseniana (1947- )
Annual journal of the museum H. C. Andersens Hus, focusing on Andersen's life and work from diverse perspectives

Databases | Literature

These databases provide access to a wide range of primary and secondary sources in literary studies, including journal articles and book contents. Search an author's name to find references and full text for literary works, critical essays, literary criticism, scholarship, and more.

Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of poetry, drama and prose, literature journals, author biographies, topic overviews, and critical essays.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive source for scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.

Databases | Other Disciplines

Disciplinary databases provide references for articles, book reviews, book chapters, and other publications within a particular subject area. Many databases also link to full text when available.

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Portal to 19th century British and American sources including those in the Wellesley Index, American Periodicals, British Periodicals, House of Commons Parliamentary Papers & more.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles from humanities and social sciences, 1907-1984.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publications on music from around the world, 1967 to present. Use the RILM Classifications to perform a broad topical search.

Dissertations & Theses

Explore theses and dissertations to discover in-depth research, extensive literature reviews, and novel approaches. Find graduate-level research on Andersen and other literary topics in these search tools.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to doctoral dissertations and selected masters theses from 1861 to the present; includes 2 million+ full text dissertations published since 1997.

Royal Danish Library | Student Projects
Find Dissertations from the University of Copenhagen and other Danish institutions.

Digital Libraries

These digital library collections provide access to full-text books and journals spanning various disciplines. Unlike bibliographic databases that offer references to literature from various sources, digital libraries solely offer references to content available within their own holdings. Search for an author to find full-text content from a range of interdisciplinary sources.

Arkiv for Dansk Litteratur (ADL)
The Royal Danish Library offers older Danish literature online, from the Middle Ages to the mid-20th century. Access digitized texts as well as detailed author overviews for Andersen and other Danish writers.
Tidsskrift.dk
Denmark's open access policies provide for scholarly publications in all disciplines to be made available online.

Hathi Trust This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital library of books and journals scanned by a partnership of major research institutions and libraries. See our HathiTrust Guide
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in all disciplines.

Nordic Studies & Linguistics Librarian

Dan Mandeville

he/him

Email Me

Contact:

Dan Mandeville, Nordic Studies and Linguistics Librarian

Suzzallo Library / SUZ 139
Box 352900

206-685-1446