Research Guides
History : Asia: Articles
A research guide to primary and secondary sources for Asian history.
Find Articles on Asian History
Historical Abstracts is the best database to use when looking for academic journal articles in the field of modern world history including Asian history for the period 1450 to the present.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Best database to articles in modern (1450 onwards) world history including African history - Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database to English language articles & books covering all aspects of Asian studies
- Oxford Bibliographies: Chinese Studies
- This link opens in a new window
Scholar recommended articles & books on all topics Chinese.
Other Useful Databases
- Academic Conferences in China (in Humanities and Social Sciences) 中国学术会议文献数据库 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- China Academic Journals 中国学术期刊数据库 (CNKI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Complete Database for Japanese Magazines and Periodicals from the Meiji Era to the Present (Koseisha) 雑誌記事索引修正データベース This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Computerized Index to Philippine Periodical Articles (CIPPA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Duxiu / 读秀
- This link opens in a new window
- Hua yi xian shang tu shu guan = Airiti Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- KISS Hanguk ui haeksim chisik chongbo chawon This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Superstar Journals Database - Chao xing qi kan 超星期刊 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Using Databases to Find Articles
- How to search: Link your search terms using the AND connector. For example: japan AND "cold war" AND "united states". You can also use separate search boxes for each term.
- Narrow your search results: Use the All filters option to filter your results by Publication date, Subject, Language & more
- Find full-text of article: Some articles have a direct link to the full text. These have buttons labeled Access now (PDF) or Access now (Online full text). Some articles do not have a direct link to the full text, these articles have a button labeled Access options. Click on the Access Options button and then click Check for full-text availability beyond Ebscohost. This will take you into UW Libraries search to see if we have the full text available through another source. If we do not have the full text, you will have an option to request an article scan.
Additional Help:
- How do I search in Academic Search Complete? This database is also provided by Ebscohost so searching information is similar.
- How do I find full-text articles in Academic Search Complete?
- What does the “Request Article” button mean? This shows you how to request an article scan when we do not have the full text on an article.