Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- Human Rights
- Background information
Human Rights: Background information
Resources for the study of human rights.
Encyclopedias and handbooks
Encyclopedias and handbooks are excellent tools when you're starting a project. They provide useful background information, key terms, concepts, and references for further reading.
Additional background tools
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Introductions to topics and critical surveys of the current state of scholarship in many fields. - Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text encyclopedias in all subject areas
- Encyclopedia of Human Rights
- This link opens in a new window
- Atrocities, Massacres, and War Crimes: An Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
- Yearbook of International Organizations This link opens in a new windowDetailed descriptions of non-governmental (NGO), inter-governmental, non-profit, and other international organizations.
- International Human Rights Law Research GuideFrom Globalex at the NYU Global Law School. Helpful pointers to key treaties, organizations, and more.
- Statistical Methods for Human Rights
- This link opens in a new window
- Research Handbook on International Human Rights Law
- This link opens in a new window
The UW Libraries arranges books by Library of Congress call numbers. Because human rights is covered in many academic disciplines (e.g., geography, history, medicine, political science, psychology, and sociology), you will find books related to human rights issues throughout the Libraries.