Skip to main content
Individual study space @ Research Commons now available by reservation. All other Libraries spaces are closed. Online resources and support are available 24/7! UW Libraries COVID-19 Updates
Human rights documents
Human Rights Studies Online
Multimedia database of primary and secondary sources on genocide, international human rights laws, nonprofit human rights organizations, and more.
Gathering a Body of Global Agreements: Human RIghts
Collection of key United Nation documents, including the agreements from most of the major global conferences organized by the United Nations, and many important conventions and treaties.
Human Rights Documents Online
Publications from hundreds of human rights organizations, 1980 - present.
Search tool for UN Human Rights Council resolutions, amendments, votes, reports, and related documents.
Amnesty International Research Archives Collection
Microfiche collection of country dossiers, annual reports, and other documents dating back to 1962. Located in Microforms & Newspapers, Suzzallo ground floor, call number M-1884.
Columbia University Center for Human Rights Documentation & Research
Premier collection of human rights organization records, archives and papers. Includes papers from Amnesty International USA, Human Rights First, Human Rights Watch, and The Committee of Concerned Scientists.
Human Rights Documentation Initiative
Archived documents and web resources from a variety of human rights organizations worldwide.
UN Human rights treaties: Travaux Preparatoires
Drafting histories from the major post-World War II human rights treaties.
Corpus of Laws
Compendium of Muslim religious and cultural laws and interpretations, by country and by legal instrument.
Other primary sources
Digital National Security Archive
Collection of declassified US government documents. Includes primary documents, glossaries, chronologies, bibliographies, overviews, and photographs.
CREST - CIA Records Search Tool
Formerly the CIA Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Electronic Reading Room. Declassified documents and selected FOIA requested documents.
Index to Congressional publications, 1789 to present; including full-text hearings from, 1824-1979 and full-text bills & laws, 1789 to the present
United Nations documents and publications.
African Human Rights Case Law Analyser
Full text collection of decisions from the African Human Rights System.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Data on crime and justice in the U.S. Includes data analysis tools on all aspects of criminal behavior, victim information, trends, etc.
Guantanamo Lawyers Digital Archive
Collection of narratives contributed by attorneys who represented detainees at Guantanamo Bay Detention Center.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
Data on capital punishment, inmate statistics for state and federal facilities, terrorism, violence against women, and more.
Voices from the Rwanda Tribunal
Video interviews of United Nations International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda staff, judges, prosecutors, defense counsel, and others associated with the court. (A project of the UW Information School)
Information on Federal criminal, civil and administrative enforcement, as well as information on Federal employment and distribution of funds.
Articles from major newspapers and legal publications.
Selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.
Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles written primarily by Black, Indigenous, Latinx, Asian & Pacific Islander, and Jewish people, covering 1959-present.