LING/ANTH 433, LING 533: Sociolinguistics II: Research Methods

The study of how language varies in social context, and how it can be analyzed and accounted for, are the key goals of sociolinguistics. Until now, however, the actual tools and methods have been largely passed on through 'word of mouth', rather than being formally documented. This is the first comprehensive 'how to' guide to the formal analysis of sociolinguistic variation. It shows step-by-step how the analysis is carried out, leading the reader through every stage of a research project from start to finish. Topics covered include fieldwork, data organization and management, analysis and interpretation, presenting research results, and writing up a paper. Practical and informal, the book contains all the information needed to conduct a fully-fledged sociolinguistic investigation, and includes exercises, checklists, references and insider tips. It is set to become an essential resource for students, researchers and fieldworkers embarking on research projects in sociolinguistics.

Provides succinct, relevant, and informative discussion about methods of data collection in sociolinguistic research, covering the main areas of research design, conducting research, and sharing data findings.

Guide to the variety of experimental methods used in sociolinguistics, walking students through the "how-to" of experimental methods used to investigate variation in both speech production and perception. Takes the reader from defining a research question, to choosing an appropriate framework, to completing a research project.

Designed for researchers of language and society. Provides a brief, accessible introduction to general theoretical and practical questions about research and also covers the principal means of selecting, collecting, and analyzing data for interpretive sociolinguistic work.

Engages with new sociolinguistics of multilingualism, taking account of this new communicative order and the particular cultural and social conditions of our times.

This single-volume guide equips students of sociolinguistics with a full set of methodological tools including data collection and analysis techniques, explained in clear and accessible terms by leading experts. It features project suggestions, troubleshooting tips, and data assessment across diverse languages. Explores an array of anthropological and scientific methods that cover the full spectrum of contemporary sociolinguistics, from the study of style and discourse analysis to the study of phonetics Details the types of data available, and explains collection methods ranging from sociolinguistic interviews to linguistic landscapes Provides comprehensive coverage of data analysis, subdivided into segments on linguistic and socio-cultural techniques, and linked to numerous languages Includes useful summaries, seasoned advice and troubleshooting tips, ideas for research projects, and a full directory of supplementary reading

Looking for an easy-to-use, practical guide to conducting fieldwork in sociolinguistics? This invaluable textbook will give you the skills and knowledge required for carrying out research projects in 'the field', including: * How to select and enter a community * How to design a research sample * What recording equipment to choose and how to operate it * How to collect, store and manage data * How to interact effectively with participants and communities * What ethical issues you should be aware of. Carefully designed to be of maximum practical use to students and researchers in sociolinguistics, linguistic anthropology and related fields, the book is packed with useful features, including: * Helpful checklists for recording techniques and equipment specifications * Practical examples taken from classic sociolinguistic studies * Vivid passages in which students recount their own experiences of doing fieldwork in many different parts of the world

Overview of international research projects, showcasing outcomes and offering insights and critiques into the meaning of impact in contemporary research. The book includes: original findings from cutting-edge research from scholars, coverage of organizational and other contexts, applications, etc.

Illustrates how sociolinguistic approaches and linguistic distributions from corpora can be effectively combined to produce meaningful studies of language use and language variation.