For FAQs and current status of services and policies see UW Libraries Operations Updates
We partner with the Ethnic Heritage Council to host We Are History Keepers! – an ongoing series of workshops on archiving the cultural and historical records of ethnic communities and families in the Pacific Northwest. The free, day-long workshops are held online and in communities around the Puget Sound in collaboration with local ethnic and historical associations. Workshop sessions are led by archivists and information specialists from the University of Washington Libraries and other organizations who teach best practices and help build skills related to preserving historical records.
This guide to the Pacific Northwest Collection is for new and seasoned researchers. Find links and tips to navigate our collection databases and catalog. Discover exhibits and research ideas.
The Special Collections reading room is open to the public in Allen Library South lower level.
Ask Us! (email) a reference question or call the reading room during open hours.
Special Collections is the UW Libraries' major resource for rare and archival materials covering a broad range of topics, formats, and periods. The Special Collections reading room, located on the lower level of Allen Library South, is open to the public on weekdays.
Major collecting areas are overseen by curators/archivists.
Pacific Northwest Collections
University of Washington Archives
Labor Archives of Washington
Book Arts & Rare Books
Historical Visual Materials
History of Science and Medicine