Skip to Main Content
Select Libraries are open. Online resources and support are available 24/7! Please see our COVID-Update page for reopening dates and hours starting in September. UW Libraries COVID-19 Updates
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education
Sage, 2008: The Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education is embedded in several disciplines, including applied linguistics, politics, civil rights, historical events, and of course, classroom instruction. This work is a compendium of information on bilingual education and related topics in the United States with select international contributors providing global insight onto the field.
Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics
Wiley, 2013: A comprehensive resource covering the diverse field of applied linguistics. It brings together historic and emerging areas of research within applied linguistics. Provides detailed overviews of key developments and ideas on topics including Language teaching and learning, Bilingual education, Language policy and planning, Assessment and evaluation, Corpus linguistics, Discourse and conversation analysis, the Neurobiology of language, Literacy, and technology and language.
Handbook of undergraduate second language education
Lawrence Erlbaum, 2000: A description of second language programs currently available to undergraduate students in the United States and abroad. It brings together detailed descriptions of programs in foreign language, English as a second language (ESL), dual language (bilingual), American Sign Language, Native American, and heritage languages. Addressing both theory and practice, the volume presents the historical development, current practices, and future directions of each type of program, along with detailed case studies.
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics
Oxford UP, 2003: The Encyclopedia encompasses the full range of topics in linguistics, including such areas as historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics.
International Handbook of English Language Teaching
Springer, 2007: Provides a comprehensive examination of policy, practice, research and theory related to English Language Teaching in international contexts. More than 70 chapters highlight the research foundation for best practices, frameworks for policy decisions, and areas of consensus and controversy in second language acquisition and pedagogy.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning
Offers "a comprehensive range of articles on contemporary language teaching and its history." Designed specifically for language teaching professionals and as a reference work for academic studies at postgraduate level. Coverage reflects new technological, global and academic developments, with particular attention to areas such as online and distance learning, teacher and learner cognition, testing, assessment and evaluation, global English and teacher education.
English Studies Librarian