Skip to Main Content
Research Guides

John Vallier: Education, Teaching

Stewarding audio/video/film collections @ the University of Washington Libraries in Seattle.

Teaching

Seattle Sounds: UW First Year Programs (GEN ST 197D, 1-credit), Spring 2021.

Ethnomusicology, Archives & Decolonization (MUSIC 445A, 3-credits), Winter 2021

Sound of Cinema: UW Cinema and Media Studies (CMS 397C, 5-credits), Winter 2019.

Seattle Sounds: UW First Year Programs (GEN ST 197F, 1-credit), Winter 2019.

Writing About Music: UW Honors (HONORS 345A, 5-credits), Fall 2019.

Seattle Sounds: UW First Year Programs (GEN ST 197I, 1-credit), Spring 2018.

Remix as Resistance and Discourse: UW Honors (Honors 211A, 5-credits), Winter 2018.

Sonic Spain: UW Ethnomusicology and Study Abroad (Music 445, 5-credits), Early Fall Start 2017.

Seattle Sounds: UW First Year Programs (GEN ST 197I, 1-credit), Winter 2017.

Collection Development: UW Information School (LIS 522A, 3-credit), Fall 2016.

Hip Hop Archiving in the PNW: UW Honors (HONORS 394A, 5-credits), Spring 2016. Co-taught w/Third Andresen.

Sound Archiving in Ethnomusicology: UW Ethnomusicology (MUSIC 445A, 5-credits), Winter 2016. Co-taught  w/Laurel Sercombe.

Seattle Sounds: UW First Year Programs (GEN ST 197O, 1-credit), Fall 2015.

Archival Mashup | Remixing Media Archives: UW Cinema and Media Studies (C-LIT 397B, 5-credits), Spring 2015.

Seattle Sounds: UW First Year Programs (GEN ST 197A, 1-credit), Fall 2014.

Puget Sounds: UW Honors Program (HONORS 394B, 5-credits), Fall 2014.

Intro to Digital Humanities: UW First Year Programs (GEN ST 197L, 1-credit), Winter 2014. Co-taught with Tyler Fox.

Visiting Lecturer in Ethnomusicology, University of Ljubljana: Ljubljana, Slovenia. Delivered four lectures in Professor Pettan╩╝s History of Ethnomusicology and Popular Music classes. April 2013.

Puget Sounds: UW Honors Program (HONORS 394B, 5-credits), Spring 2012.

Sound Archiving in Ethnomusicology: UW Ethnomusicology (MUSIC 445A, 5-credits), Winter 2010. Co-instructor with Laurel Sercombe.

Lights, Camera, Criticism: UW First Year Programs (GEN ST 197, 1-credit), Winter 2009.

Puget Sounds: UW First Year Programs (GEN ST 197B, 1-credit), Winter 2008.

AV Archiving in the 21st Century: UCLA Dept. of Ethnomusicology (Ethno 188/292A, 5-credits), Spring 2006. Co-taught with Tony Seeger.

AV Archiving in the 21st Century: UCLA Dept. of Ethnomusicology (Ethno 188/292A, 5-credits), Winter 2004. Co-taught with Tony Seeger.

As TA @ UCLA

Robert Winter's Exploring Arts Literacy in the 21st Century, UCLA School of Arts and Architecture, Winter 2002.

Airto Moreira’s Music of Brazil, Jesus Guzman’s Music of Mexico, and Francisco Aguabella’s Afro-Cuban Music, Fall 2000.

Other

2002 - 2006. Archivist. UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive: Los Angeles, CA. 

2002. Video game music composer. Activision: Santa Monica, CA. 

2001. Junior Fellow: American Folklife Center, Library of Congress: DC. 

1999 - 2002. Music Reviewer: CDNow, Music.Com, All Music Guide, and New Times LA. Published over 100 recording reviews and biographies in a variety of print and electronic formats.

1997. Drummer. Swell (musical group), Played drums on one U.S. tour, two European tours, and on several live recordings and broadcasts.

1994 - 1996. Glass worker. Chihuly Studios: Seattle, WA. Assisted with the production of art glass and installed/de-installed museum exhibits.

1991. Anthropology Research Assistant and Reader for Professor Pandey and his "Native Peoples of North America" (ANTH 130N). 

Education

UCLA - Master of Library and Information Science. 

UCLA - PhD coursework in Ethnomusicology. 

UCLA - Masters of Arts in Systematic Musicology. 

UCSC - Bachelor of Arts in Philosophy. 

Selected Presentations

April 22, 2021. "Of Ethnomusicology and its Archives." Prof. Seaman's UT Austin Ethnomusicology Seminar, "Analytical Methods" (MUS 381J-4).

April 2, 2021. "Ethnomusicology Archives, Two Decades On." Prof. Vancour's UCLA Information Studies Seminar, "Audio Archiving" (Inf Std 289). 

May 22, 2020. "Community-Based Audio Archiving at UCLA and UW." Association for Recorded Sound Collections. 2020 Virtual Conference. 

May 4, 2019. “Ethnomusicology 2.0.” TEDxUofW: Seattle, WA. 

January 27, 2019. “Ethnomusicology and its Stakeholders.” ALA Digital Collections Discussion Group: Seattle, WA. 

October 26, 2018. “Pup Up Music Memory Labs.” College Broadcasters, Inc., 2018 National Convention: Seattle, WA. 

May 12, 2018. "Lushootseed Collections @ UW and Beyond." Lushootseed Language Conference. Seattle University: Seattle, WA. 

February 1 and 3, 2018. “Seattle Sound Archiving and Preservation Project.” Music Library Association Annual Conference: Portland, OR.

November 18, 2015. “16mm Remix: Digitize, Improvise, Fetishize.” With Andrew Weaver at the Association of Moving Image Archives Annual Meeting: Portland, OR.

October 28, 2015. “Online-Only Media: 21st Century Collection Crisis?” Digital Library Federation: Vancouver BC.

March 5, 2015. “21st Century Academic Libraries: Ontology of Play, Discourse of Fear.” UW Libraries’ Scholars Studio: Seattle, WA.

December 8, 2014. “Online-Only Media.” Center for Networked Information (CNI): Washington D.C. Invited to present by Joan Lippincott and Clifford Lynch.

November 21, 2014. “Online-Only Music.” National Recording Preservation Board Annual Meeting. Library of Congress: Washington D.C. Invited by NRPB Chair Sam Brylawski.

May 20, 2014. “Touch of Light: Musicking Outside of the Academy.” Seattle International Film Festival Panel on Taiwanese Films: Seattle, WA.

September 27, 2013. "Audio Archiving Out West: Celebrations and Frustrations.” Cultural Heritage Archives Symposium, Library of Congress, American Folklife Center: Washington D.C.

June 21, 2013. “Go Grandriders? Gadamerian Play and Ecological Nihilism at Work in Taiwanese Documentary Film.” Seattle International Film Festival Panel on Taiwanese Films: Seattle, WA.

March 2, 2013. "Regional Music Collection: A West Coastian's Perspective.” Music Library Association Annual Meeting: San Jose, CA.

December 7, 2012. "What Legal Isn't Always Ethical.” Association of Moving Image Archives Annual Meeting: Seattle, WA.

December 5, 2012. "Bikinis, Marmots and Marimbas: UW 16mm Films, 1920s-70s” Association of Moving Image Archives Annual Meeting: Seattle, WA.

July 23, 2012. "Ether Today, Gone Tomorrow: Issues in Audio Archiving." Co-presented with Judy Tsou at the International Association of Music Libraries, Archives and Documentation Centres (IAML) Annual Conference: Montreal, Quebec.

February 10, 2011. “Fear & Control in a Rock n' Rollibrary.” Music Library Association Annual Meeting: Philadelphia, PA.

November 11, 2010. “Radio Afghanistan Archive Project: Building Capacity, Averting Repatriation.” With Lorraine Sakata and Laurel Sercombe at the Annual Meeting for the Society for Ethnomusicology: Los Angeles, CA.

April 21, 2010. “Rock n’ Rollibrary: Prison or Parish?” UW iEdge Conference: Seattle, WA.

November 10, 2011. “Sound Collaboration: Working Together to Create Unique Digital Music Collections.” Pacific Rim Digital Library Alliance Annual Meeting: Los Angeles, CA.

November 9, 2010. “50 Years of Ethnomusicology Archiving @ UCLA.” UCLA Worlds of Music at UCLA Symposium: Los Angeles, CA.

July 7, 2009. “Ethnomusicology Collection Close to Home: Why Community Partnerships Matter.” Joint meeting of the International Association of Music Libraries, Archives and Documentation Centres (IAML) and the International Musicological Society (IMS): Amsterdam, Netherlands.

September 14, 2005. “Balancing user Perspectives with Archival Realities.” International Association of Sound and Audiovisual Archives (IASA) Annual Meeting: Barcelona, Spain.

July 13, 2004. “Digital Preservation in an Analog World.” Central Asian Archiving Workshop: Dushanbe, Tajikistan.