Skip to Main Content

bullhorn iconFor the most current information on the status of Libraries operations, services and policies visit UW Libraries Operations Updates. Online resources and support are available 24/7

Research Guides

John Vallier: Home

Stewarding audio/video/film collections @ the University of Washington Libraries in Seattle.

About

Hi. Welcome to my guide. Please see below for an overview of what I do at UW. Send me an email if you think I can help you with your research or related projects: 

  • I'm curator and sole staff member at UW Libraries' Ethnomusicology ArchivesThe Archives, which has been col­lecting unique ethnographic music recordings since the early 1960s, is one of the largest academic archives of its kind. Its holdings of over 50,000 recordings and films document international, national, and regional music traditions. The Archives is also home to the Seattle Sounds Archives Project (SSAP), a sub-archive of local music that includes the Kearney Barton, Crocodile Cafe, and 206 Hip Hop collections. 
  • I'm also head of media for UW Libraries. In this role I manage our Reformatting And Digitization (RAD) Lab and curate access to historic radio and 16mm film collections. 
  • Finally, as affiliate faculty in the Ethnomusicology and Honors Program, I facilitate the critical exploration of music,  sounds, cinema, and archives across disciplinary boundaries. You can learn more about the courses I offer here

 

Library Guides

Connect

Profile Photo
John Vallier
Contact:
University of Washington
Suzzallo Box 352900
Seattle, WA 98195-2900
(206) 616-1210
Subjects: Music & Audio

More Help